Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality
I think this game is quality you must have a black and white Television to say its not very good. The graphics are on it are one of the best and to be honest whether 39.99 or 24.99 its worth every penny
Published on 8 April 2008 by Oliiiiiiiiiiiii

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A turd that isnt even polished
The first hour of Denied Ops is enough to demand a refund. The graphics are some of the worst on PS3. The cut scenes are absolutely terrible. But it does have some moments if you can stomach how ugly the thing is.
The ability to fail objectives and still complete missions does remove frustrating sections, especially ones requiring stealth or protection...
Published on 1 Jun 2008 by Stevie G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A turd that isnt even polished, 1 Jun 2008
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
The first hour of Denied Ops is enough to demand a refund. The graphics are some of the worst on PS3. The cut scenes are absolutely terrible. But it does have some moments if you can stomach how ugly the thing is.
The ability to fail objectives and still complete missions does remove frustrating sections, especially ones requiring stealth or protection.

Most of the earlier missions can also be played in random order. However, some missions follow on directly from another and it isn't always clear which one that is. This can make the plot seem an even more jumbled mess. Squad commands are also complex and sluggish. Characters do shout helpful tips in situations, and commands work eventually, despite watching Lang shoot a brick wall first. Glitches happen far too often.

Graves' primary weapon, the sniper rifle, is desperate for another level of magnification. Headshots rarely count either, taking 2-3 shots to put down. This makes playing him feel like the weaker option; having to crouch to even take steady aim. Lang on the other hand, fires a massive, inaccurate minigun. Both agents earn upgrades by completing missions, like rocket launchers and shotguns, which are screwed onto their weapons!
It's a strange idea, original at least. But it does seem odd when enemies weapons cant be picked up.

The battles themselves drag out much longer than necessary. They nearly always finish on clearing a landing zone so the escape chopper can land. A helicopter or fighter jet usually needs destroying first. It all gets very boring, and despite some excellent later levels (the diamond mine in particular) the majority are below average. The duo; Graves and Lang, are almost hatable, and the graphics absolutely horrifying. Larger areas suffer most, empty looking with jagged edges. The whaling station level a laughable example.
Think long and hard before buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CONFLICT SERIES LOSES THE PLOT - THIS IS JUNK, 19 July 2008
By 
R. G. Williams "raywilliams12" (Cheshire, England , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
Frustrated, frustrated - do the Executives of Pivotal Games behind the conflict series read these reviews? Bl**dy hope so. This game is poorly thought out, plays awful and is a massive waste of money. The majority of reviews reflect this. It's so disappointing. After the superb Conflcit DS and DS II why can't they just build on that with foley, connors etc and bring out newer versions by keeping the basics but building on them to enhance the game for 2008/9? No, what they do is churn this rubbish out, and they mess about with a winning formula. they need sacking and lets get DS III on the basics of DS II. DONT BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 19 Feb 2008
By 
Colin Main (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
Having only had a PS3 for a couple of weeks I have been forced to compare this game with its PC competitors.
The gameplay is poor and the graphics are lacking in clarity.
Worst of all, the controls are completely bizarre. They have three different layouts for the controller but they vary in only the minutest detail and none are intuitive. Approach a step and sometimes you get told to press X to climb but other times you need to shuffle left and right before it appears. Why not just have a Jump button?

At 40 quid a go, I will think long and hard before buying an "Eidos" game again. I recommend buying something else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy, 18 Feb 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
What a waste of 39.99, I was going to try and sell it on Amazon after buying it today in a shop. But I don't think I could even give it away. Bad graphics, Bad A.I. Just don't bother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NO!, 22 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Ar Tyack "Dr Tyack" (england, herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
kill me now... what a waste of money, dont spend a penny on this complete piece of trash. what were the developers thinking? you cant even compare this game to a ps2 generation game. save yourself some bother and buy one of the original 4 player conflict games, they have better graphics. i feel sorry for anyone conned into buying this. my poor wallet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 21 April 2008
By 
Joao Cardeira Jorge "A Bad Man" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
Not having played any of the previous Conflict titles, I started the game with a clean slate and no expectations, just hoping for a good time and good old fashioned, shooting fun. And I got just that.
There's no innovation here. The graphics are weak for a next-gen title and the story is almost non existent. You just blast your way through the level, destroying everything in sight and killing everybody, with Lang, armed with the heavy machinegun, telling jokes and Graves sniping bad guys while being the serious one. Both guys are cool in their own way. Lang is the shoot first; ask later, the classic American badass, the cowboy. Graves is the older one, calm and always grumpy. They don't get along, but a friendship develops along the game quite nicely. They're charismatic and I liked them. You can switch from one character to the other and give orders, to suppress fire, take out a target or to move to a position. Both characters get upgrades for their weapons, but the sniper riffle and the machinegun are the only weapons you can ever hold. You can't pick up weapons. You just have to analyse the situation and see which style is better suited. If you go into a room to clear it, you should use Lang. If you're pinned down outside, by guys on a building at the end of the street, you should use Graves to snipe them. There is also the option of going "loud" or being stealth which is a nice addition.
The controls are ok. The sniper controls could be more precise but they are hardly broken.
You can destroy everything in the environment, which is very cool. In every level you can shoot gas cans and watch everything blow up. Bad guys run around in flames, screaming. During the game you'll have to destroy choppers with Lang, using the rocket launcher, tanks and even hovercrafts. The locations go from a convent in Venezuela, to battles in the streets of Rwanda to Siberia.
The game is never dull. There's always something happening. Bad guys are everywhere and some fights are truly intense. The levels are huge and well designed.
The game can be difficult at some parts, playing on normal. Still, it never gets cheap or frustrating. The single player lasted about 7 hours and really should have had at least two more missions.
Conflict: Denied Ops wont win any awards or be remembered in ten years. It probably won't be remembered next year, even! It's just a simple game, with lots of shooting, explosions, snipping and a lot of testosterone and adrenaline.
And if you play with a friend, offline or online, its loads of fun. It's not CoD4 but it doesn't try to be. It's just a good time waster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!, 30 April 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
This is the most worthless piece of trash game ever!!!
for 40 you're better off getting any other game!!
the game graphics are completely atrocious and terrible!!! in-fact a PS2 game seems to have better graphics than this game, i would truly recommend not buying this game unless you want to waste 40 pounds for cheap graphic shoot'em ups. further more the controls of this game are, well, WEIRD! there is no jump button... to climb over a wall or climb up a ladder you gotta shuffle about for half an hour before a 'x' appears so you can climb over it or onto something, i mean, WTF?!??!!? no games haven't got a jump button! thats how cheap the game really is! the developers, game creators all of them are just second rated drop outs!
Worst Game EVER!
x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not up to scratch, 18 Feb 2008
By 
Papa "Papa" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
I won't advise anyone to buy this game. You can atleast rent it but don't buy it if you know the value of money. The game came out to compete with the likes of rainbow six, call of duty 4 etc but it did not even come close. Not by a mile. The game makers got this very wrong, its like they did not assess the market out there. New Games are supposed to do better than what is already out there.
Why did they make it a first person shooter when it was previously doing well as a third person shooter ?
The game play is crap, I played as the sniper and I shot some people but they didnt die, they didnt even act like they got hit (I hit them zoomed in on sniper mode).
What they needed to do was to make a game better than COD4 and GEARS OF WAR but they did not, this game is only fit for a 2003 game, not a high definition, PS3 powered 2008 game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst game for ps3, 28 Feb 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
The graphics and load times are unacceptable. It is rubbish compared to COD3+4 and unreal tournament 3. When it has 19ratings at 1star it does say something.
my advise is to not buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars do they think people will pay 40 quit for this, 25 Feb 2008
By 
D. Purdon (glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) (Video Game)
this game is the worst ive seen in a while, poor mans call of duty 4, no actualy its the poor mans call of duty 1, this would not have passed for acceptable on the ps2, you couldnt give it away with the big issue , i wish i spent my money on some magic beans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3)
Conflict: Denied Ops (PS3) by Eidos (PlayStation 3)
12.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews