Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
They work. They stay working. They are a doddle to use. What more do you need. Never using the old school patches ever again.
Published 14 months ago by Musto

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a shocker.
Well I've just spent over four hours of my life with these things and they did not do the job at all.

After reading all the good reviews I was honestly not expecting a problem, clicked buy without a second thought. Delivery was swift; kit is small, neat and the three lines of instructions couldn't be simpler. Great. Put them with my other essential repair bits...
Published on 20 Jun 2012 by Mjshaft


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a shocker., 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slime Repair Skabs (Sports)
Well I've just spent over four hours of my life with these things and they did not do the job at all.

After reading all the good reviews I was honestly not expecting a problem, clicked buy without a second thought. Delivery was swift; kit is small, neat and the three lines of instructions couldn't be simpler. Great. Put them with my other essential repair bits for cycling and away I went. Picked up a puncture yesterday about 3 miles from home, decided to walk back and leave it for another day rather than sit by the side of the road. The puncture was very small, about one millimetre at most.

So, long one short: Tube removed, scrubbed, wiped, patch applied and tire back on. Inflate to 1 bar and psssssssssst. The patch failed. Repeat previous steps, remove adhesive that was all over the place, leave to dry this time... and same result. I have used three out of the patches, I have no interest in trying again.

Popping over to Amazon.com it appears that the US site has a broader spectrum of reviews, leaving the product with an average of 2 and a bit stars out of five. They are labelled as a 'toy repair kit' there (http://www.amazon.com/Slime-20029-Skabs-Inflatable-Repair/dp/B0011YHCY6/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get you home only, 24 Sep 2013
By 
S. Dooley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slime Repair Skabs (Sports)
I bought 2 packs to keep in my essential spares bag as they take up next to no room. I had to use my first one on the very first ride and it seemed to work great, however the tyre was flat within two days. I have since used 3 more and none will seal effectively long term. I can only recommend them as a get you home remedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best Skabs I have ever picked!, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slime Repair Skabs (Sports)
Neat dispenser that stows away neatly. product discription doesn't mention the nifty little metal innertube rougher-upper that comes in the plastic box. This replaces the sandpaper that you would normally use as an innertube rougher-upper.
Have only used one of the skabs so far but it was easy to apply and has lasted 5 days so far. Out has gone the rubber solution, the french chalk, the sandpaper, the myriad of differing size rubber patches, the wax crayon and the big plastic container that I used to keep all that malarky in.
Great little product and heartily recommended. ignore any advise from yer mum that says 'don't pick yer scabs'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slime Repair Skabs (Sports)
They work. They stay working. They are a doddle to use. What more do you need. Never using the old school patches ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just right, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slime Repair Skabs (Sports)
Expected to be little bit better. Tried other brand and was more happy with other kit. wont buy again .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars slime repair skabs, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slime Repair Skabs (Sports)
This product is useless. It doesn't stick well and when it does initially seem to stick - it doesn't stay stuck. Waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and easy, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slime Repair Skabs (Sports)
These are a very handy quick fix for a puncture. Very easily applied. They last a good while too, but I tend to replace the tube within a week of getting a puncture, if I remember, as I find whatever you use it will eventually leak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and effective, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Slime Repair Skabs (Sports)
I've used these quick self-adhesive patches quite a few times and, while initially I was sceptical about their effectiveness, I have found them to work well. No leaks or peeling off whatsoever.

I see no reason why they shouldn't work as well as a traditional glue patch version providing they are applied carefully and firmly to a clean, dry, slightly roughened tube. They are, after all, the same principle as a traditional glue and patch repair.

Apply properly and they will work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars scabs, 2 Jun 2013
By 
S. Hopkins (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slime Repair Skabs (Sports)
It rains where i live,not where these were invented aparently if they get wet they will not peel{there on paper and when wet part of the paper is left behind} nor will they stick,so if your inner tube is wet after say immersing it in water to find a leak,or on rainy day in the middle of nowhere,they will not stick!!!!!!!!!!!.
In dry weather conditions they are a good idea,but be warned if you have put anti puncture formular in your tubes/tyres they wont stick.
nice idea pity they dont work in the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars So you fit one and it's fine until the first warm day and then the Skab ..., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slime Repair Skabs (Sports)
On the face of it, these save time but here's the deeper problem hiding behind the promise of quick an simple puncture repair - it doesn't work above a certain temperature.

So you fit one and it's fine until the first warm day and then the Skab peels off the inner tube inside the tyre, leaving you with a flat that needs to be fixed with a conventional puncture repair kit. This ends up saving you about 1 minute but costing you 10 minutes later on. Worse, a conventional repair kit is cheaper so you're paying a premium for this hassle.

Avoid unless you like the gimmick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slime Repair Skabs
2.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews