Customer Reviews


199 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up to the original
What can I say. The original was hands down my favourite game for the 360, the 2nd installment builds on this and makes the follow up my new favourite 360 game.

The campaign is double the size of GOW1, taking me over 10 hours to complete on single player. The campaign takes you through numerous environments from fending off locust in the heart of Jacinto, to...
Published on 15 Feb 2009 by I. cruden

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad...or good
This game has great graphics and action. The story is manageable and the enemy pretty tough if you play it on hardcore (as are most games). I am not disappointed I played this to a point. But I have a few big beefs with the continuity. Unlike Halo (awesome in every way) GoW puts ' check points ' just before story updates and character interaction. This means that if you...
Published on 21 May 2012 by Mr. W. J. K. Cummings


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up to the original, 15 Feb 2009
By 
I. cruden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What can I say. The original was hands down my favourite game for the 360, the 2nd installment builds on this and makes the follow up my new favourite 360 game.

The campaign is double the size of GOW1, taking me over 10 hours to complete on single player. The campaign takes you through numerous environments from fending off locust in the heart of Jacinto, to taking the battle to their undergound lair on the back of a brumack! The array of weapons has greatly increased with additional arsenal. The mulcher is my personal favourite, ripping any enemies apart that you pont it at.

The creators have added some brand new enemies as well. You finally get to fight a brumack that was so missed out of GOW1. There are a number of different variations of the boomer now, ones with flamers, shields, mulchers etc.

I seem to remember the original's story line wasn't quite fluid - through most of it I didn't understand exactly why I was trying to get to where I was told, but the gameplay just absorbed me. ~This time the storyline is very flowing and kept me captivated.

Horded is another great new addition - play with 3 friends on a ,ultiplayer map fighting off 50 waves of increasingly hard locust. One word of warning though, if you seriously want to finish this mode, set asside an afternoon at least - I got to level 20 which took me 2 hours!

To conclude, this is an amazing step up from the original and I would not hesitate to recommend at all. Can't wait for number 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The COGs keep turning, 17 Sep 2014
This review is from: Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
S T O R Y
Marcus Fenix and his COG buddies are at it again. This time it is up to them to capture the Locust queen and bring her to justice. It's a mammoth task, and quite frankly, she is a little reluctant to being taken by a bunch of smelly marines. Humanity hangs in the balance, as the Locust horde look to take the last human stronghold of Jacinto and crush the resistance for good.

The story and script are miles ahead of its predecessor, putting character development in the driving seat. Marcus and his crew don't feel like meat heads this time, which reflects on the darker tones of the narrative, yet doesn't shy away from injecting a little humour.

G R A P H I C S & S O U N D
GOW 2 sets a new benchmark for video game production. The end result is simply mind blowing. Character models see a notable improvement, bodily proportions have been revised and look less bulky than that of the previous game. The world of Sera may look ugly with rusty browns and dull greys, but it's all visually striking. The dynamic lighting works it magic to bring environments to life, this is indicative of many gloomy settings still powerful enough to suck you in to the surroundings. The opportunity to visit the Locust's underground world showcases beautiful art direction and imaginative levels.

It's one set=piece after another for players. Bullets will fly everywhere, things drop from the sky, entire buildings collapse and big ass monsters pursue you at every turn. The scale is just ridiculous, attempting to pull your gaze into the distance at all times. The gore effects are even more disturbing this time, chunks of flesh scatter everywhere and bodies are left dismembered in the most gruesom of ways. The Brumaks are the new boys in town, giant freaks with large mounted weapons. Don't stare too long at one, or you'll become its dinner. The soundtrack excels yet again, complimenting the action with intense music.

The collision detection undermines the visual sparkle, leaving many objects to vanish into one another.

G A M E P L A Y
The fundamentals of the series remain the same, but the cover system has been tweaked to increase responsiveness and give the controls an added smoothness. New weapons are thrown into the mix to bring further destruction and Locust tearing carnage. The mortar is a real treat as it fires a number of explosives into the air and rains down mayhem upon any poor bastard underneath its attack range. The added variety of enemy types create diverse combat situations, and upgraded A.I. Will definitely keep players on their toes much more. The Locust are much more daring and unafraid and getting up close with their rusty chainsaws.

The feel of war is overwhelming throughout the game, supported by relentless action and inevitable death if you aren't mindful of the step ahead. Storming from cover to cover is still the meat of the experience, but the level designs present complex challenges and open up battle areas. Vehicular sections are excellent and make up some of the most satisfying moments of the game. Players can jump into a large tank and set off on a journey of destruction, annihilating enemies and any other obstacles standing before them. The biggest relief of all is that squad A.I. Is auto managed and not player controlled. This streamlines the experience and keeps your buddies toe-to-toe with every move you make. Since everything is bigger and better, why not throw in some boss battles too? Epic Games have responded and delivered! Giant creatures rampage at you, leaving you to fight to the death if you are to come out alive. In some cases you'll be getting better acquainted with them when your inside their bodies.

Enemies lack balance and can take a long time to be put down, which can be frustrating when some of them are a little too overpowered. Why were the Berserkers omitted from the enemy line-up?

O V E R A L L
Epic Games have delivered one hell of a sequel. Improving upon the first game in nearly every category. The story is deeper, the visuals are sublime and the gameplay is action packed. This is what all third-person sci fi shooters should aspire to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marcus Rules ok, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I remember seeing the TV adds for GOW2. They looked fantastic. The game didn't quite meet my expectations but none the less it is still a very good shooter.

If you have played the first GOW, you will feel at home with this one. It is set 5 years on. In fact, there is nothing radically different about the sequel. Pretty much more of what you got from the first one. Most of it is set underground but the combat, weapons and controls are all the same. I am not sure whether it is better than the first game. The controls seem a bit heavier and sluggish. However, if you like blasting the bejeezuz out of alien creatures then there are few games that can top this.

Horde mode is a good addition. You trawl around the map killing a set number of locusts. The number of which increase each level. Good simple fun.

Can't say the same for the multiplayer. It takes an absolute age to join in a game. Most modes are round based and don't feature instant respawns. You have to sit it out until the next round and that is downright boring. Then you find that the rather clever cover system gets in the way in the heat of the moment. One of the most frustrating MPs I have come across.

Get this primarily for the single player experience. Even better, play the first game first. Well worth it.

:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad...or good, 21 May 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game has great graphics and action. The story is manageable and the enemy pretty tough if you play it on hardcore (as are most games). I am not disappointed I played this to a point. But I have a few big beefs with the continuity. Unlike Halo (awesome in every way) GoW puts ' check points ' just before story updates and character interaction. This means that if you get killed you HAVE to listen to the same update and character interaction over and over again! At on point you are at least a two minute walk to the action and if you get killed you have to walk over and over again for two minutes before you can have another go!! What the hell was the point of that?

Next the placement of weapons and ammo. You arrive at a check point. You then have to walk all over the place to get weapons and ammo which is off the path. Then you have to find the path again to go to the action. If you get killed, guess what? You have to run all over the place to get the ammo etc before having to go through the chat bits and the walk before you get back into it. I mean, WHAT IS THE POINT?! I spent 1/3 of the game waiting to get back to where I started or wanted to be. Talk about dragging it out.

Lastly the characters don't seem to understand what you want them to do. You want them to crouch or hide behind something and they ' roll ' towards it instead! You want them to ' roll ' towards a point and they hide or crouch behind it instead! can't tell you how rubbish that is.

I gave this game a 3 star because it really drags out simple concepts. The graphics got the 3 star. They are very good. It's just a shame you have to watch and listen to the good graphics when really you have just been killed and want to get back to the action. Halo avoids this and puts a check point right near the action and after the chatty bit. Bless them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hype Runs Deep., 27 Aug 2009
By 
A. P "Persepolis" (Eastbourne, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Since the original release back in 2006, Gears of War set the standard high from both a gameplay and technical viewpoint. The cover based gameplay requires both patience and skill, waiting for the right moment to flank your enemy and reap the rewards of your carnage. This sequel barely improves on the formula of the original. Instead, it reuses it to great effect.
The campaign story is everything a hollywood video game should be. It has twists and turns, massive boss fights and surprisingly moving moments that shows even big muscly men have a tear to shed.
If you're lucky enough to own a HDTV over 26 inches, you're in for a treat. The game looks stunning in all environments and really showcases the potential of this generation of gaming. The story mode, with or without a friend via co-op can take you anything from 8-12 hours. It's by no means a long feat, but its enough to keep you satisfied right until the end, with varying levels of difficulty for you to conquer.

While the game is now nearing it's first birthday, online play has changed alot since the game was released back in November 2008. We've seen the removal of the old rank system and instead, a new level based one taking its place. This gives both hardcore players and casuals alike a chance to progress whilst playing against equal skilled players. Three map packs have been released (not including the bundled flashback pack) and can be all bought at once for 1600 Microsoft Points. Not all players have these, and you are under no obligation to fork out what is essentially £10 for a few extra levels. You'll easily find matches with players with or without them.
Gameplay online is usually fun, although host advantage rears its ugly head just like in the original. This gives the player hosting the match an unfair advantage over others, as he sees events unfold (movement, shot timing etc) instantly rather than having a slight delay. Horde, a mode that pits you up against 50 waves of locust, is a blast with friends but not so exciting if paired with strangers who never speak. You'll meet the occasional nice player, but the unfortunate Xbox Live crowd pretty much guarantees you'll almost always be grouped up with loud, nasty people who throw insults at you for no reason.

Gears of War 2 deserves all the praise it gets, though it is not without it's difficulties. The cover system is still somewhat unforgiving, and will cause new players to the series to throw their controller in despair as Marcus runs to the wrong side of the wall more often than is desired. Some multiplayer matches equip players with no weapons at all, making you a sitting duck whilst you await your fate. AI in the campaign is questionable; I was down but not out, lying next to Dom (who was covering) and he didn't even realise I was there until I was dead. Thanks, Dom!

If you're looking for a great looking, well designed game that is awesome fun with friends, you should definately purchase this. Bugs aside, it plays well for the most part and you'll enjoy every second of the story. Online play extends the enjoyment further, just make sure you play with people you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Just wish the multiplayer had stayed the same, 14 Aug 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I passed on the first Gears of War, I saw the ads everywhere, but they annoyed be so much I just said, "forget it." And only played the game for literally a few minutes at a friend's place. Looked good, the color palette could use more variety, but it seemed like a solid game.

Here's my impression of GoW2 based on a rental. The story is some sort of grunged up, alternate Halo 3 type story. Essentially, you're a "space marine" type and-wouldn't you know- aliens have the human race on the run. Its up to you and a scrappy platoon of colorful characters with frightening guns and course language to save the planet.

Gameplay itself is pretty quick to pick up. Many of the controls are similar to those seen in other FPS games. The one thing that consistently messed me up is the "A button" that allows you to dive/take cover. Its context sensitive, which is awesome because you can dart and move and hide with ease. But sometimes, when I would think I was going to smoothly roll around a corner, I would accidentally just dive right out into the open.

The weapons are a good, if rather standard array. Again, it seems like GoW2 is merely a slight variation on the shooter theme, rather than anything that is truly unique (aside from the graphics).

And boy aren't those pictures pretty! This is one of the better looking games on the XBox 360. The one complaint I have is that, despite all the high detail and excellent artwork, the color pallette hides a lot of what looks so amazing. The variety of enemies is impressive and their designs are so diabolical, but they are all just grey and brown. Even broad daylight in the GoW world is drab. I guess they had to stick to a "mood" or something.

As for multiplayer, I found it to be satisfactory so far. I haven't experienced any glitches so far, and matchmaking the multiplayer games i played (a few rounds of Horde) were suitable for a game following its launch. Its going to take a little longer just because there are so many people online. Once the game started, it ran like butter. There are the usual map varieties and objective games. The one unique gametype in multiplayer is called Horde, a game in which you simply must survive wave after wave of ever increasing aliens. As the levels go on teamwork becomes more of an assett. The enemy AI in these levels is pretty impressive. It is a great change of pace from capture the flag.

I give it four stars for two reasons: 1) this game just looks amazing. on top of that the action is well paced and the game flat out plays well. 2) a solidly executed multiplayer system. Maybe not as good as CoD or Halo, but better than many.

If I may place an emphatic warning to parents of younger gamers here: this is an extremely violent game. Buckets of blood, exploding heads, excecution moves, some of the most frighteningly realistic burning animations I've seen. And to top it off, the characters are dropping F-bombs in the cutscenes. For older gamers, this is all good fun but hopefully parents won't get suckered into thinking this is "just like Halo 3". Yes you can turn the "gore" off and the cursing, but I don't think that's really going to stop anyone from noticing when you stomp someone's head off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again., 9 Nov 2008
By 
Jacob G. North (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
On November 17 2006, Epic Games released the cornerstone of third person shooters on the Xbox 360; Gears of War. Gamers were blown away by the realistic graphics, involving gameplay and riveting story that it is considered a milestone in gaming history and will be remembered in the history books as such.

Now, on November 7 2008, a little under 2 years later, Epic Games reaches the shelves once again with the hotly anticipated sequel, Gears of War 2.

Graphically, Gears 2 looks eerily photorealistic. Character animations look fluent and believable in both cut scenes and actual gameplay. There is also a significant improvement to the amount of colours used this time around. Not poking holes in the first, but Gears 1 used a lot of green. This time around there is a lot more variation and it really shows. Whether you're underground in a Locust hive or on the surface you will likely take a few seconds to stop pulling the trigger and observe how beautiful this world looks. Gun fire looks spectacular. They have included a smokey trail after the bullets from every gun and, although it's not important, it does look good. The graphics aren't perfect however. Like the first game, after a cutscene character textures take a few seconds to catch up and, in some cases, the same goes for the environment. It breaks the action and pulls you back to reality for a brief moment, but it's a small price to pay for almost no loading screens. The only appearance of the word "Loading" or any variant is when the game initially starts, before a multiplayer map or if you are going slightly too fast for the level to render.

The story is far better than the first, adding a lot more emotion and giving you something you want to fight for. You will want these character to succeed, and you will find yourself giving the Locust everything you've got to drive them back into their holes, all for the characters. From the get-go, you'll be hooked and won't want to stop playing until you see the credits roll. There's betrayal, heartbreak, disappointment, loss, tragedy and love, all in a war game set on the fictional planet to Sera. What else could make such a good story?

Gameplay is what you would expect of Gears of War. Duck and cover tactics are now more intelligent; no longer will you take a random dive out into the open in the middle of a fire-fight, nor will you latch onto the wrong side of a pillar facing the enemy. Much more cover can now be destroyed, not only crates, sofas and fences, but concrete pillars, for example, thin out as they take damage, exposing a side of your body (which I found out the hard way), which adds a tactical feel to each battle; you'll find yourself looking for secure walls, not pillars. You will also not just fight. You will have to deal with environmental hazards again, but this time they seem somewhat deeper and involving.

Enemy AI is now tuned to a point where they seem to learn. If you shoot at an enemy for a while, they move behind better cover. They will flank you on both sides if they can and sometimes I have come across what looks to be rudimentary improvised formations - something that I have not seen in a game before. Boomers in front like tanks, Drones behind them and Grenadiers bringing up the rear. It's unbelievable how much thought went into this.

Audio is as strong as ever. The sound effects have been changed for quite a few guns, especially the infamous Lancer, and new sound files added for the large array of new guns. John Di Maggio as Marcus, Carlos Ferro as Dom, Lester Speight as Cole and last, but not least, Fred Tatasciore as Baird all return for their signature parts. It's a good feeling to hear them put a little bit more emotion into their characters this time around.

Multiplayer is what everyone expected and more. It has all the classic mode and a new one; my personal favourite, Horde. This puts you and other players up against 50 waves of increasingly difficult Locust. As long as 1 player survives, you make it to the next wave. This can take hours, but you'll be amazed at how fun this mode is, it's also a pleasant break from the deathmatch mode, or any of the others. Regardless of the mode, no two matches are the same.

To sum up, you will not be disappointed. This is not a game to rent, because it will not leave your machine for a good few months. While the game is not perfect, it does a damn good job getting there. Numerous game sites have given this game around 95%. I agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% AWSOME, 3 Feb 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
From the moment the game begins you know you are about to experience something special. Gears 2 is the closest a game has come to bridging the gap between games and movies; from the off the gamer is immersed in the story which is intelligently scripted bringing the humour of the first game but also adds more depth to the characters of Marcus and Dom. At one point I even nearly shed a tear - well maybe I did but just a little one! As with the first game you get your moneys' worth with five chapters of game play.

The only mild criticism I would make is the lack of challenge towards the end of the game; in this respect the first game was better with the final battle against Raam. In all other ways Gears 2 is far superior to the original which as my friend summed it up perfectly: "Gears of War was just to learn the controls in preparation for Gears 2!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tis' all true..., 8 Nov 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It is,its all true this game lives up to the hype,its cinematic in its scope and most importantly its really good fun.

Gears of war 1 for me was ok,but i prefer games with a solid story (halo/bioshock) and found tiny niggles with the cover system and thought that at times it felt slightly slow or unressponsive which kinda put me off the live side of things,the good news is that although the changes that have been made to the cover system are small they have improved the game hugely,playing on xbox live is now fantastic(still not a halo3 beater,what is?) and as others will have probably mentioned horde is brilliant fun,it starts easy but quickly builds up to intense violence-edge of your seat stuff!

And thus the campaign has been excellent and the story side of things seems to of actualy had considerable time spent on it.

Basicaly if you thought Gears one was ok or even great,this is 10 times better in every aspect,well worth a purchase,it still wont keep me away from double exp weekends on halo 3 though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gears of war 2, 23 Mar 2009
By 
A. Woodhouse "W00dy 73" (Lancashire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
WOW what an amaizing game i can't tell you how good this game is, the story is second to none, the graphics are the outstanding the game play makes you grit your teeth with the sheer enjoyment of this game. Me and gears will never part company i've been gaming for twenty years and i have never enjoyed a game as much as this ,this is an all time classic i can promise you , there is no way you will be disapointed its absolutley brilliant 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360)
Gears of War 2 (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
£6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews