Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Country...? Another Winner!
Another Country doesn't actually refer to some kind of re-inventing of Country Music (or Americana in it's other guise) but to the fact that how, in a time of personal turmoil, Tift Merritt emigrated to France. The problems aren't quantified in any great detail, but its clear that the Tift Merritt of her third album is more disillusioned and introspective than the Tift...
Published on 9 Mar. 2008 by IWFIcon

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost in sorrow
This album is two parts, 'Broken' and the rest. Broken is a fine piece of music, catchy, beautifully made with a clever construction, driving rythmns and Merritt's gentle understated singing voice. Merritt is alt country, and alt country does catchy, but then so did Bach. Catchy + quality is a huge recommendation. It's posssibly the best single track she has to...
Published on 6 Sept. 2009 by Harry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Country...? Another Winner!, 9 Mar. 2008
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
Another Country doesn't actually refer to some kind of re-inventing of Country Music (or Americana in it's other guise) but to the fact that how, in a time of personal turmoil, Tift Merritt emigrated to France. The problems aren't quantified in any great detail, but its clear that the Tift Merritt of her third album is more disillusioned and introspective than the Tift Merritt of her earlier albums.

And whilst one wouldn't wish to inflict such emotional pain onto anyone, it is clear that these problems have gone some way to raising her music up to another level.

There are a handful of up-tempo numbers, Tell Me Something True, with it's Mowton-esque backing is one such highlight, but most of the album is a more subdued affair. It's none the less compelling for all that though. It's an album that practically aches with sorrow, but never in a wallowing way. Indeed with a scant listen, most listeners would probably miss most of the lyrical content and just be pleased with what is a very listenable album.

This is an album which benefits from a few repeated spins. Slowly Merritt draws you in, deeper into the emotional content of the album. Her voice is warm, inviting and soulful and is difficult to resist.

After 2003's Tambourine album some might fell that the production is a little too light on this one, but that's a minor concern to say the least. Another Country may not grab a Grammy Nomination for Best Country Album like it's predecessor did, but it's no less a winner of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Business as Usual..., 15 April 2009
By 
J. Willis (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
It's business as usual for Tift Merritt on this her third album. Unlike 'tambourine', which i felt was just too obvious in its ambition to crack the mainstream, 'Another Country' has more in common with her debut. Whilst George Drakoulias(Tom Petty,Black Crowes) is again at the helm on production duties, this time they have avoided the temptation to smother the songs with horn sections and instead allowed for a more stripped down sound, and it's all the better for it. After hitting a creative dry spell, a self imposed exile to Paris worked wonders as this is her strongest collection of songs to date. 'Something To Me', 'Hopes Too High' and 'Morning Is My Destination' are just some of the highlights, and any regular listener of Bob Harris on Radio 2 would probably have heard 'Broken', the obvious choice for a single. After a stuttering second album, Tift Merritt is now very much back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Difficult Third Album, 6 Mar. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
Tift Merritt is a feisty lady who looks like she means business when she plays live (witness, her Live in Austin Texas DVD). Her first two albums held a lot of promise, especially Tambourine, which had in 'Stray Paper' a song with a hook, a riff and a neat turn of phrase that portended future riches to come. Another Country doesn't quite deliver that promise, but opts to play things a bit safe. It starts with 3 great songs, 'Something To Me', 'Broken' and 'Another Country', but from thereon in it all becomes a little too polite and risk free. The album closes with a whimper rather than a bang when the lady comes on all Carla Bruni, and tries her hand at an incongruous bit of French chanson. Tift Merritt has a great voice, writes all her own songs and looks good, and you desperately want her to veer more into Lucinda Williams Americana territory rather than drifting into airbrushed Nashville anonymity. Another Country is in danger of fulfilling its title; but just avoids it at the last minute through having a bit more class. Let's hope album 4 steers her back towards the more ballsy work she is clearly capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance, 2 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
I'd never heard of Tift Merritt until seeing her backing Mary Chapin Carpenter at a concert in Birmingham. This is the first album of hers I've bought. I find it absolutely enchanting; both music and lyrics are absolutely first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 July 2009
By 
Steven Reid (aberdeen. Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
I first heard of this artist when she was touring with Teddy Thompson and went to see them both, it was an excellent show and this cd does not disappoint,all songs written by Tift Merritt which shows what a talent she
is, lets hope we hear a lot more of her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 13 Feb. 2009
By 
Morgan Davis (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
Definately buy this album - its great. I just saw her live in London and she played most of the tracks from this album and everyone was superb. If you love your melodic country folk music with story telling lyrics you'll love this album. More please Tift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 14 Mar. 2009
By 
Loopy (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
Never heard of her before, was recommended by a friend and have listened to this every day for a month. Not really a country fan, but like some folk. This is so good I recognised one of the songs on the soundtrack to New in Town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Country Again, 23 Jan. 2009
By 
Mr. N. D. M. Rabett "Nick Rabett" (Heybridge Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
Now here's a really cynical ploy by someone to make you buy this great CD again - add five bonus tracks!! Mugs like me probably will though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost in sorrow, 6 Sept. 2009
By 
Harry (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Country (Audio CD)
This album is two parts, 'Broken' and the rest. Broken is a fine piece of music, catchy, beautifully made with a clever construction, driving rythmns and Merritt's gentle understated singing voice. Merritt is alt country, and alt country does catchy, but then so did Bach. Catchy + quality is a huge recommendation. It's posssibly the best single track she has to date.

The rest of the album made me think of Joni Mitchell, and when I read the sleeve notes I understood why. Many female singers do an album like this, when life has taken a bad turn; they get lost in emoshuns and musically they just get lost, they do it quite well, but sacrifice their greatest strength. Mitchell can do this successfully because of her caustic witty self criticism, which dispels any impression of self indulgence, and her strong musical personality. She is the exception.

The first Merritt album I bought was Tambourine, with its powerful riffs and stellar backing behind her wonderful songs. Perhaps that is the biggest waekness of this album. Tambourine was an album of Merritt with a collection of excellent musicians. This one is Merritt, and oh, some other guys. The musical force is just not there, the backing is often at best pedestrian, predictable and lacking in invention. Had I bought this first, I would not have bothered to buy Tambourine.

However, it is worth buying for 'Broken', if nothing else. I very much hope that for her 4th studio album she gets back with Mike Campbell and co. That would be something to look forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another Country
Another Country by Tift Merritt (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews