Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done ITV
A totally addictive series that has made me really focus on how difficult it must be to be a real member of our real Royal Family. Apparently this production is a casualty of poor viewing figures - the British public doesn't know what it's missed out on! Let's hope our friends in other countries see it for what it really is and help it to earn its much deserved second...
Published on 20 Mar 2008 by Ellie Cristmas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So-so
I am surprised at the good reviews.
I found The Palace made on the cheap and very mediocre and banal at times.
Good actors, but not a very good script.
Published on 26 May 2011 by Viktor Trappsteg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done ITV, 20 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
A totally addictive series that has made me really focus on how difficult it must be to be a real member of our real Royal Family. Apparently this production is a casualty of poor viewing figures - the British public doesn't know what it's missed out on! Let's hope our friends in other countries see it for what it really is and help it to earn its much deserved second series! Have thoroughly enjoyed the DVD - despite a disappointing picture quality - and, in particular, the extras. This is the best series I've seen for ages and this is one DVD that will be watched again and again and again! Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Palace - daft but fun, 29 Feb 2008
By 
I. F. Pike "Isobel" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This TV show has been great fun to watch, a frothy bit of Royal fluff, full of pretty people. A lot of the situations feel a bit daft, but Princess Eleanor's desire to be Queen drives much of the plot, and there is a bit of royal love-life and trauma for variety. The differences and similiarities between upstairs/downstairs life are particularly nicely done. All the actors get their own special little moments and everybody is obviously having fun, while taking the nonsense just seriously enough to make it work. The sets and costume are great, and really help to make the Palace more real.
I'm looking forward to getting into the box-set, hoping for good extras!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can not wait for the next one.., 7 Mar 2008
By 
S. Marsden "Helkky" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series as it was different from the usual chavvy type of series lately in TV. Rupert Evans is very good as the young prince to be king and Zoe Telford really lights up the screen as Abigail. Altogether the acting is first rate by everyone in the cast. Storylines are believable and it is intriguing to see all the PR/cover ups that presumably go on in the palace circles. Cant wait the next part of the series -- Hope there will be a second one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So-so, 26 May 2011
This review is from: The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I am surprised at the good reviews.
I found The Palace made on the cheap and very mediocre and banal at times.
Good actors, but not a very good script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Palace is loads of fun!, 18 May 2008
This review is from: The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This series was much better than I thought it would be which is always a nice surprise. The main cast are excellent and generally so are the supporting cast. There are wonderfully fun storylines and dialogue, some of the one liners from the young price are hilarious. This series is addictive - even my boyfriend enjoyed it, although pretended he was nonplussed (as he also tries when I catch him reading my magazines).

It is original and gives a whole different perspective whilst managing to be riotous fun and full of drama. Try it, I don't think you will regret it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!!, 17 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. A. Almond "ama" (Wirral, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I adored this series, it was the kind that stuck in your mind after the credits rolled up! It was just fantastic, buy this DVD, it rocks, there is no other description for it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Palace in France ;), 14 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I've just discovered this week The Palace in France (we are always "in late" !!)and before watching the complete series I buy it right now.. Really great drama... it's realistic and delirious, characters are great, and it's simply "british" ! Can't wait to discover the complete series in english and do hope there will have a series 2. Bravo ! (sorry for my "so bad english writting ^^)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its worth watching it, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
its nearly a four , because i got more and more attached to the characters. The three is because of the little bit "toomuch" in certain scenes, exagerated playing(the cook, the maid etc)

its astonishing why they didnt make a 2. We would have bought it. Te plot is very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars cheesy, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
not impressed very cheesy,didn't excpect to be excellent but was dissapointed, wouldn't recomend at all.unles you like this kind of thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Palace, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I really loved this series, and am really sad that it didnt make it to a second series. 'The palace' is a good watch with characters that you can love to hate and love to love. With an interesting cast i find that 'The Palace' is a truly unmisable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7cc24d4)

This product

The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD]
The Palace : Complete Series 1 [2007] [DVD] by Metin Huseyin (DVD - 2008)
9.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews