Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Surprises
Loving old movies, particularly WW2 and military, I had to buy this set to get hold of "Morning Departure" - that was the start - the set is brilliant, yes I now have duplicates of some but in this set are some gems which I would not normally have purchased - The October Man, The History of Mr Polly, Great Expectations to name but three - sets like this teach you so much...
Published on 9 Oct 2009 by M. Hall

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'The Long Memory' DVD
My fault; I bought hastily without appreciating that, as a USA export, it would not play on my equipment. All's well though; I found 'The Long Memory' on the John Mills' box set and gave the other one to a friend who could play it. Ultimate satisfaction!
Published 12 months ago by Mrs. M. Syred


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Surprises, 9 Oct 2009
By 
M. Hall "a Brit" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Loving old movies, particularly WW2 and military, I had to buy this set to get hold of "Morning Departure" - that was the start - the set is brilliant, yes I now have duplicates of some but in this set are some gems which I would not normally have purchased - The October Man, The History of Mr Polly, Great Expectations to name but three - sets like this teach you so much about the depth of talent that is John Mills - I can honestly say I have not seen him in a bad movie and he has made many - my earliest film with Mills in is Goodbye Mr Chips (not in this set) - if you like variety, if you enjoy a good yarn, if you respect a good performance, if you appreciate what we have probably lost in modern cinema - you will love this box set, and it is sold on Amazon at a cracking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Collecting, 12 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is yet another good set of films from john mills and i worth collecting. Its nice to spend a sunday afternoon relaxing watching one of these films. Well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Great set....., 3 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I don't usually give 5 stars to sets and this was a contender until Flame in the Streets which is the last movie. All movies have subtitles, good transfers and the discs are one sided and well packaged. I also prefer movies in their original aspect ratio and this is where Flame in the Streets let the set down. A theatrical 2.35:1 presented as a 1.33:1...yuck. Overall a good set but true movie buffs may want to search for an alternate release of Flame in the Streets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Mills must have!, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Juan Carlos Mateo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
He did some very memorable films which are very worth buying and watching any time. Very under rated actor. Watch them and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic, well worth the money, I have watched them over and over again, even my children love to watch them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars box set, 11 Dec 2009
By 
P. D. Lynch "monarch" (gt britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
a great collection of Sir John Mills finest films, i met Sir John a few years ago and we became good friends always talking about the films he made, he also signed his autobiography for me. a great star and sadly missed.so i was doubly pleased to get this box set, and will collect the rest in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'The Long Memory' DVD, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
My fault; I bought hastily without appreciating that, as a USA export, it would not play on my equipment. All's well though; I found 'The Long Memory' on the John Mills' box set and gave the other one to a friend who could play it. Ultimate satisfaction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Sep 2014
By 
D. E. Gould - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Mills DVD's, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Call me old fashioned if you want but I enjoyed every one of these films even though they were black & white except for one. I would just call these nice & relaxing films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Mills - The Centenary Collection Icon Box Set [DVD]
£18.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews