Customer Reviews


316 Reviews
5 star:
 (239)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Blu-ray 3D is Region B
Loved the movie. The 3D is worth the money but the disc isn't listed correctly. It is Region B. Not Region Free.
Published 8 months ago by Macon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Search for "Region Free" to end up with Region B blu-ray disk (Beware)
Make note, you may have searched for a region free blu-ray format of this movie and ended up here, but in truth this blu-ray 3D movie is not region free. This is a region B movie and will not play on region A or B blu-ray players.

The ad states this is a region B blu-ray, but when this ad was found, a search for "region free" was conducted. Purchased...
Published 9 months ago by WVL


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Search for "Region Free" to end up with Region B blu-ray disk (Beware), 14 Aug. 2014
By 
WVL "wvl" (planet earth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Make note, you may have searched for a region free blu-ray format of this movie and ended up here, but in truth this blu-ray 3D movie is not region free. This is a region B movie and will not play on region A or B blu-ray players.

The ad states this is a region B blu-ray, but when this ad was found, a search for "region free" was conducted. Purchased the blu-ray on a chance that it was region free, but it I not. It is definitely a region B disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ratatouille rains King abroad, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual Disney does it again. This is a perfect transfer into the 3-D world. I could've never imagined this movie was made into D and it was. It is too bad that this release is only available abroad and not in the country of origin of this film which is the US. I don't know what's happening with Disney and their marketing of 3-D titles in the United States. In any case I'm glad that at least I was able to order it from The UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attention all Epicures!, 25 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratatouille [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
My husband and I love good food (the food prepared by the professionals, of course, but we also love to cook), good wine, and lazy evenings at home watching good movies. If you do, too, then Ratatouille is for you. We wish that we could afford the wines mentioned in the film (they range from $2000 to $20,000), and the "Remy Method" of making ratatouille (layering the vegetables, covering them with sauce and baking them; I use a dutch oven) yields excellent results.

Oh, and the story itself is charming, the animation is wonderful, and all the characters have clear motivations without sacrificing personal depth. Yes, it is a G-rated movie, but that does not stop it from being nuanced and multi-layered, not to mention entertaining. I recommend it with a 2000 Medoc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!, 9 April 2008
This review is from: Ratatouille [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
My husband & I saw this at the Cinema (without our children) and loved it! The story of Remy, the rat with a genius for cooking is fantastic. It moves along at a cracking pace using all the creative, high energy, visual effects that you would expect from PIXAR but without losing emotional connection. SPOILER Alert: The morality story of how this lowliest, most vilified of creatures has the talent and finds the spirit to climactically topple the opinion of society's most revered judge, the aptly named food critic Anton Ego (superbly voiced by the one and only Peter O'Toole - who undergoes his own journey of transformation) is wonderfully uplifting. As others have mentioned the sight of a kitchen crawling with rats is so uncomfortable, that it also makes you question your own prejudices, and whether you really believe that `Anyone can cook'. There is a wonderful extra on the DVD where Remy and his brother explain the bad press rats have had and how The Plague was not their fault...!

Then of course there is the sensory experience in the film. A lovely depiction of the sights, sounds and smells of Paris, the wonderful way Remy tries to explain flavour and fusion of flavours to his brother depicted by colour and music and not least, the food preparation itself. You can almost taste the soup and of course the fantastic ratatouille that Remy prepares at the end.

By the way a tip if like us, you have children under 10. They loved the DVD with the English-descriptive setting turned on (initially by accident, but hey!). This narrative fills in many of the visual cues that they would otherwise miss.

Lifted - the failed alien abduction was hilarious and is also included on the DVD along with loads of other fascinating extras.

Entertaining, taste-bud and thought-provoking stuff, top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ......" if you are what you eat, then I only want to eat the good stuff "......, 1 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Ratatouille [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Named after a French cuisine and set in Paris, France, Ratatouille is an animated film about a rat who is blessed with the natural talent of cooking great food! After being washed away in the sewers and becoming physically detached from his family in the process; he finds himself in one of the city's main restaurants.

Ratatouille is a great idea on paper, as it works as an oxymoron. Rats are known to eat the remains left by humans and not appreciate hygiene. Here we have one maverick rat who discovers that he is better at cooking (an activity that has hygiene at its forefront) than any human, in a city known for its high standards in dining!

The film is well cooked up, and the animation seems on another level, even more so than Finding Nemo. It is full of energy and colour and really brings out the city of Paris in convincing style, and that is an achievement in itself. Extremely expressive and producing good vocal performances from the main cast (especially Peter O Toole), it is sure to keep audiences excited.

The only problem is that even though the idea is good, it comes across as too clustered overall. There are a great deal of animated films to choose from nowadays, and it seems as if Ratatouille wants to stick out from the crowd desperately. Even though it's an animated film for all ages, and hence must strive for universal appeal, the ending is too predictable.

Having said that, Ratatouille has all the spicy ingredients and the charisma runs through right to the end, ensuring that the film does not remain undercooked. It's exhaustive but does get its message across, even though it borders on a commercial template. Ultimately its fast food mixed with ulterior French sophistication, but it works a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "I don't LIKE food, I LOVE it!", 3 April 2009
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ratatouille [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Pixar show why they are the kings of computer generated animation with this visually flawless film about a rat with a sophisticated palate and a desire to make something of his life.

When Remy the rat meets with clumsy kitchen cleaner Linguini - they work together with Remy providing the gastronomic genius and Linguini providing the body. This isn't a cheesy family film, Pixar have created a film with the right balance of moral narrative and comedy whilst remaining pretty down-to earth (even if the discovery that Linguini's limbs can be independently controlled by pulling his hair in a certain way is a bit implausible!)

If you look really hard to try and find poor rendering of textures, or moments where the moving characters don't interact perfectly with the background then you'll be looking in vain. This is seamless animation and is genuinely very impressive, just watch the scenes with water and it's hard to believe that this is CGI and not actual water.

The DVD itself is excellent value for money as it contains two animated shorts which are excellent pieces of work in their own right.

In a nutshell: Pixar have made a name for themselves by producing animated films which appeal to all ages. This isn't a simplistic film with a basic plot strung between corny sentiments - it's a great story with characters you'll love. There is a message behind it all, but it's not rammed down your throat, instead it's fed to you in a dish that even Anton Ego (the evil food critic in the film) would admire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as anything Pixar have ever made - great for all the family, 10 Nov. 2007
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Yes, this one's up there with the best of them. It occasionally gets a bit 'talky' for the likes of young children but that's partly because there's an intelligent script that will be appreciated by the parents watching by their sides. The quality of the animation is bang up-to-date and at times quite spell-binding. Impressive in every way, for technical detail, for authenticity of what life is like in a busy Parisienne kitchen, for great one-liners and for overall family entertainment. An absolute must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Foodies! You have to watch this!, 31 Jan. 2008
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie has a plethora of characteristics that make it remarkable, an ultra-funny script, endearing characters, superior graphics and animation, and the fact that it can be shared and loved by the whole family. However, being someone that works closely with the restaurant industry and that is en route to becoming a foodie, I was surprised by this film in terms of how well it presents the stereotypes that you are likely to find in this world. The use of satire based on these characters left me satiated and happy to have sat through a wonderful meal...err movie :)

Every possible stereotype in the food world makes an appearance, from the bitter and lonely critic, to the egotistical chef that is not as good as others think, and he knows it. In the middle of this, we find an aloof young man starting out from the lower echelons in the kitchen of a famous restaurant, who could only succeed with the help of a real gourmet. The fact that this food connoisseur is a rodent is just a minor kink.

I believe that most people will agree that watching this movie is a great experience, but if you are a foodie, you cannot afford to miss it. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully entertaining., 5 April 2013
By 
Mr. G. Robinson "garyrobinson15" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ratatouille [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ratatouille is just about as perfect a film as you could hope for. Beautifully animated, wonderful quirky story and inventive interesting characters.

Remy the Rat is different, he loves good food and his Hero is a top Chef. When he accidentally finds himself in Paris he embarks on career as a Chef in a top restaurant. An extremely unlikely story you might think and you would be right. However Pixar have honed a story of such inventiveness and sheer panache that you accept it without any doubts.

Linguini, the kitchen garbage boy needs a job but can't cook but Remy can. You guessed it they work together and become a success. Along the way we are introduced to the other kitchen staff, learn of a lost Will and a conspiracy to steal someone's inheritance. What follows is a lovely mix of good storytelling, almost breathtakingly beautiful animation and quality slapstick humour in the tradition of Tom and Jerry at its best.

Look out for Peter O'tools' fabulous voiceover of Anton Ego the frighteningly believable food critic.

A great film from a company at the height of its powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitely one of the best films of 2007!, 2 Feb. 2008
I had some reservations about seeing this film. To be honest, knowing it was about a rat, and that the title was Ratatouille put me off - it seemed too obvious from that alone. I was quite wrong. This is an excellent Pixar movie. I loved the critic - I couldn't help but think the character was based on Will Self - and the whole concept of the story - its very easy to knock / criticise something, its far harder to actually get out there and make something I think can resonate across all age groups. As usual for Pixar, superb animation, and I think setting the film in Paris added to the movie, I thought the human characters were far more multi-dimensional than other animated movies I've seen over the past few years. An excellent animated movie, up there with the Incredibles for the genre in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ratatouille [Blu-ray]
Ratatouille [Blu-ray] by Jan Pinkava (Blu-ray - 2008)
£17.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews