Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually very good!
'Hitman' is another game-to-film conversion based on the violent series of the same name where an assassin known only as Agent 47 is hired by a group known only as 'The Agency' to kill the Russian president but he has been double-crossed, which finds him pursued by both Interpol and the Russian military.

It's not very often you can come away from watching a...
Published on 7 April 2008 by Dr Evil

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thank God Vin Diesel pulled out...
This has to be the best video game to film adaptation I have seen. Granted, examples in recent years haven't exactly been earth shattering (Tomb Raider, Alone in the Dark, Resident Evil) however this film is surprisingly good and a solid stand-alone action movie in its own right.

Timothy Olyphant (Die Hard 4.0) is Agent 47, an unnamed assasin who is part of an...
Published on 5 Nov. 2011 by C. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Action Movie, 26 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a solid action movie that you can watch without having to think too much. Since it's based on a game I would consider it one of the better game to film adaptions. For fans of action movies perfectly watchable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ACTION,nothing but, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is an action movie and does not try to be anything else.If you like this kind of film(terminator;predator;ramboetc) you will love this one,if you do not ,then you won't.
There are spectacular stunts(watch how he wires up his hotel room door to explode if someone tries to enter,and how he escapes the ensuing explosion).The fight scenes are terrific.There is heavy weaponry a-plenty,and lots of use thereof.
There is a clever cop chasing down the trail of mayhem left behind by the Hitman.This cop knows more about Hitman and how he thinks than anyone else.Lots of Russian corrupt politicians/spooks etc who use the Hitman for their own ends,only to make a key mistake in trying to set him up.A russian prostitute seems to be the only person hitman refrains from killing,and you have to work out why.There is good acting by all and it certainly looks like they all had a good time making this film.Olyphant with his shaved head,and slit eyes is perfect for the Hitman role.Some have mentioned the tattoo on the back of his shaved head being visible.Frankly,I walk by lots of guys with shaved heads and have never turned my head,or made any effrt to look and see if they had a tattoo at the base of the their heads.So,I don't agree that the tattoo is hugely noticeable or that it draws attention.
Watch the film and have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Film of the Game, 28 Sept. 2008
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Hitman belongs to the genre of Terminator; the killer who cannot be stopped and cannot be beaten. In this case our anti-hero is a variety of assassin janissary trained from birth and with more tricks than a wagon-load of monkeys. But when sent to clip the Russian President he finds himself in the cross-hairs from his own organisation, pursued by the FRS played by a graduate of the Dennis Hopper School of Being Coldly Evil. Not only are his own brethren after him as well as an entire state's secret police but (hooray) two British rozzers from Interpol; naturally, our boys in plain-clothes come the nearest to catching him. The plot has exactly the amount of slaughter you'd expect from a computer game. It also has some glaring holes (why does no-one spot lots of shave-heads with barcodes on their necks?) and a very pretty slavonic lead-babe. In short it is not going to beat the Bourne Franchise but it will give Vin Diesel a run for his money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun One off Watch, 28 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Not a superb film but like I say not a bad one off watch of a film either. Not a completely brain dead plot with some good action, interesting leading characters with some mad cap bullet flying sequences, no doubt reflecting the game the film is based on but not over done. Actually yes some of the action was very good.

The main negative thing for me is the insistence on keeping, I presume, the games lead character's style. Bald bloke with a bar code on the back of the head sort of fly's in the face that this hit man would be hard to find and very rarely seen.

Its sort of a poor mans Bourne Identity. Enjoyed it first time, no great urgency to watch it again but if it came on and I had nothing too much to do/watch I'd sit through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hitman - Extreme Edition Review, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the strange interplay between the two main characters and how they influenced each other. I would only recommend this to people who enjoy this sort of film, and I did not enjoy it for the violence, which at times I found extreme. However I am always disappointed that the reality is left out, how did they manage to travel cross so many different countries without being spotted or traced. I found other characters well set up but was disappointed with the usual standard of Russian characters, though the Senior Investigator was well played despite the limitations.
The delivery of the item, with others was very good, it arrived before the due date, but as I had experience that previously that such items do a rive early I had been able to plan for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!, 16 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe all the bad reviews Hitman is getting becasue I thought it was great! One review said Timothy Olyphant performance was so rigid like cardboard. He is playing a 'gun for hire' assassin so of course he's not going to be cracking jokes.
The film is about Agent 47 played by Olyphant who is is hired by a group, 'The Organization' and becomes ensnared in a political conspiracy. He finds himself pursued by both Interpol and the Russian military.
I think it has a little bit of everything for everyone; action, romance and a bit of comedy (depends on if you have a sense of humour).
Before believing the negative reviews try and watch it yourself and then see what type of review you want to write about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hit the Russians, 23 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Light entertainment about a super-secret super-agent deployed to kill the Russian president. Or is it a doppelgänger? The heavy anti-Russian stereotypes feel very true after the Crimean crisis, with people calling each other “comrade” while fearing 20 years in Siberia for slipping up. The attempts to mimic “The Matrix” are absurdly funny. (Yes, “Hitman” is based on a video game.) The plot holes are obvious – it seems Russia is teeming with CIA and Interpol agents, operating freely from huge vehicles. Add bearded Orthodox priests, Alpha special troops and, well, robotic hitmen, and I think you'll get the picture. Still, not a bad film if you're expectations aren't too high on a rainy Sunday afternoon…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Game to film....it worked this time, 22 Jun. 2008
By 
This review is from: Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so the game to film thing hasn't got the best track record. 'Doom' ring any bells?

But, they really pulled it off with this one.
From the off there is action. Guns, knives, fists all this coupled with a sort of 'Bourne Identity' highly trained "I notice everything" attitude. This makes for a very entertaining watch.

Aside from the fighting and such the film has a surprisingly good yet easy to follow film. We even see a little emotion from the cold hearted assassin.

Fast paced, action packed and easy to watch, this film is a must. Get rid of the wife/girlfriend/roommate (delete as necessary) and kick back with a beer wishing you were Agent 47.

Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hitman, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
As convincing and as menacing the main character seems.You can't help thinking you've seen it done before and with a bit more weight to the script, it wouldn't do it any harm at all.In more than one sequence the meticulous Agent 47 comes across as a bit "Bournesque".It still has a few original goodies to offer us,mainly the blowing up of hotel rooms (soon there won't be anywhere left to stay when they go on these dangerous sorties).The ending leaves you thinking theres more to come but they haven't gotten round to deciding "where he goes from here"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Style and (sort of) subatance over mindless action, 17 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Every adaptation of a computer game has been criticised for lack of plot and being all action. This doesn't do that, the style of the film is clearly lifted from the likes of the bourne identity, which to be honest isn't a bad thing. The Locations are all very nice and create the same sort of atmosphere as the games often did. Sadly the story isn't strong enough to lift this above average and Timothy Olyphant is merely OK as the hitman. The apparent need to have a love interest weakens the film too. As a whole it is watchable but a little forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD]
Hitman - Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] by Xavier Gens (DVD - 2008)
£3.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews