Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars10
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2008
Anyone who is into Lenny will definitely love this album. It's nothing new style wise - same old stripped down beats and paper thin vocals set against a funky sixties analogue production, but the songs are all good and the album hangs together really well as a whole, being eminently listenable from start to finish.

There are some definite nods to Prince from time to time (never a bad thing) with stand out tracks being the ultra-funky "Love Love Love" and the psychedelic Beatlesy "Good Morning". The album has enough interesting moments and catchy hooks to inhabit that perfect middle ground as an album, being not so immediate as to be forgettable and not so indulgent as to be inaccessible.

It will no doubt be a grower as an album, standing up to repeated listens, and in this double pack format with what is almost a "Best of LK" dvd, it's well worth the investment (although the interview sections on the dvd are too brief to be very interesting or incisive).

I'd definitely say that this is worth investing in. Lenny still rocks! :-)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
I have always liked Lenny Kravitz as he is an interesting musician and has a very cool image. His music has been quite diverse over the years and he has been able to blend funk, soul and pop with his signature rock sound. This album "It Is Time For A Love Revolution" sounds quite similar to "Circus", released 13 years earlier. The main difference between the two albums is that the lyrics are much happier on this 2008 release.

"Love Revolution", "Bring It On" and "Back In Vietnam" are catchy, powerful and straight forward rock anthems. "Love Love Love", "Will You Marry Me" and "Dancin' Til Dawn" are very funky and addictive whilst "This Moment Is All There Is" is very soulful. "Good Morning" and "I Want You Back" are two cool mid-tempo rock tracks. Surprisingly, there is also quite a number of ballads included. "I'll Be Waiting" and "I Love The Rain" are powerful whilst "A New Door" is tender, but the piano led "A Long And Sad Goodbye" is the best soft rock ballad here as it is very emotive and plaintive, and also has a strong chorus. The most exciting track is "If You Want It" which has a catchy funky chorus and motown style female backing vocals.

Lenny Kravitz is once again on top of his game, bringing us a well constructed and thought out collection of new tracks after 4 years break since his last release, "Baptism".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2008
Been & still a big fan of Lenny but this album is quite a disappointment! Same old same old with no flare anymore is how i describe that... old tunes, drums, back vocals, themes, rhythm, ideas, lyrics, etc etc...

This is a déja vu album from a mishmash of all the previous 7 albums which i have all... & the same style that made me a big fan now seems quite monotonous and boring... I'm sure there are more creative producers to add something new for changing times...

Tried to listen to this several times but it just doesn't grown onto you for some reason! no inspiration whatsoever! shame... & surely singing about Vietnam now & crying out for Jesus doesn't help either... I'm getting my 'Mamma Said' & 'Are you gonna go my out' back again because these represent Lenny to me, not this combination of old cheap tunes...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2008
The usual Kravitz mix of style. Overall, I think this is a better and more varied album than Baptism. 'I'll Be Waiting' is the stand-out track and 'Dancin' Til Dawn' has an awesome, funky beat. However, I feel that few of the rock-styled songs this time have as much impact as in previous albums. Nevertheless, this is still an album to add to the collection. I think it will grow on you the more you listen to it.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2008
Lenny Kravitz's new record, titled 'It Is Time For A Love Revolution' is a strange one to define. Yes, it's Vintage Lenny, but it's somehow different.

Take the opening track, 'Love Revolution', which is typical Lenny...absolutely brilliant. Great punchy riffs with an irresistible beat which you won't help but to nod along to. Great stuff. It opens into 'Bring It On'- again, vintage Lenny stuff. You're suddenly thinking 'this album is awesome! But where is the variety within?' Well, after 'Bring It On', we take things down a little- not quite so heavy anymore.

'Good Morning' is a great song. Initially it seems like it's a lot slower than the previous two tracks. It has a very laid back feel to it, despite the grumbling guitar in the background.

Other highlights on this great album is the driving-rock track, 'If You Want It'. Lenny Kravitz is a master at these tracks, following his finest hour in 'Fly Away' for a car ad which propelled to the No.1 in the UK charts.

My personal favourite on this album- and probably the best track here- is called 'I'll Be Waiting'. A genuine ballad, full of feeling and destined for success. It's glorious.

Another highlight here is 'I Love The Rain'. Brilliant guitar work by Kravitz heard at the beginning but it's mainly a soft-rock/ alternative track, and a ballad. It shows the diversity of the record as most of the best songs are ballads here unlike what some might have come to expect from the man from Brooklyn, New York City.

The following track has to be mentioned as a tribute to his late father. The track is very poignant (lyrically) and musically it's immacculate.

'This Moment Is All There Is' sees Kravitz try his hand at more bluesy guitaring and theme. Obvious, heavy Hendrix influences. It's soulful and it's beautiful.

Kravitz goes political on 'Back In Vietnam'- a great track.

He is virtually the perfect singer/songwriter. He has a great voice, writes some great songs, can play the piano, drums, guitar and produces and mixes his albums himself.

This is a great one to add to your collection. You won't be disappointed with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Good value cd dvd combo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2011
Lenny Kravitz - It Is Time for a Love Revolution (Virgin)
Never one to let originality get in the way of his sexed up, classic blues rock, Kravitz is back with his eighth studio record and it's mostly business as usual - big guitars with muscular sing-a-long choruses to match. It's not unpleasant, just pointless, but at least we can take solace from the fact that our Lenny's got his finger on the pulse of contemporary concerns - "Vietnam" anyone? 5/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Lenny rules
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2009
The most recentt newest album from Lenny is quiet a sombre, dry, thoughtful piece. it still has some great big rocker tunes, some pumping funk riffs and dance vibes, but mostly is deep and soulful. Good and positive lyrics though not his best all round record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2009
The CD arrived very soon after the purchase, but it came without the original plastic wrapping and with the centre of the hard plastic CD cover a bit damaged. The CD itself was not damaged though, but the fact that the wrapping was missing would have been a problem in case I wished to return the CD to Amazon, i guess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£5.00
£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)