Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underrated
I am so glad to finally see this getting an official DVD release, as I only have an old VHS to DVD transfer at the moment. I could never quite understand why this never got the recognition it deserves or why it never got a second series - especially when you look at some of the manure that passes for "comedy" at the moment.

Simon Pegg is brilliant in this, his...
Published on 10 Mar 2008 by Gordon Heaney

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great early days in several comic careers
I can't get enough of Simon Pegg, so I was thrilled to find this quirky little series available on DVD, only to discover that the co-stars are none other than the amazing Sally Phillips (she of the radiant smile), Julian Rhind-Tutt and Darren Boyd, all of whom I have watched and adored in their various guises for many years. There are some hilarious moments in this...
Published on 21 April 2008 by M. L. York


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underrated, 10 Mar 2008
By 
Gordon Heaney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I am so glad to finally see this getting an official DVD release, as I only have an old VHS to DVD transfer at the moment. I could never quite understand why this never got the recognition it deserves or why it never got a second series - especially when you look at some of the manure that passes for "comedy" at the moment.

Simon Pegg is brilliant in this, his mannerisms seemingly inspired by Alan Partridge (Pegg has worked with Coogan many times). His timing, facial expressions and delivery are top notch. Sally Philips is as sexy and sultry as ever and Darren Boyd is excellent as the nice but very dim Hugo.

The downside is that not every episode works. It seems to be divided into half - one half genius, the othe half losing its way. Maybe this inconsistency was the reason it was axed, but the best episodes are enough to make this a show worth watching for the script and most definitely the performances.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No deep message, but wonderfully nostalgic nonetheless, 16 Mar 2008
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is a quick watch: just six episodes plus one extra consisting of a David Frost show extract. The first two episodes are magnificent -- I particularly enjoyed the one where Ray is directing a Hair-style musical in a village hall. The low point is, sadly, the music festival, where the show has nothing new to say about music, drugs or camping, although there are several good gags about the ultra-reliable new East German car that Ray didn't even bother taking out insurance on.

I get the impression that the writer (Arthur Mathews) is really finding his feet with this series, creating six episodes around six cliched themes of the Sixties: pop festivals, nude theatre, sex, obscene publications etc. Simon Pegg is obliged to perform various banana-skin-type slapstick falls that add little. The penis references were probably a little too strong for the American market. And when it came to finding six new themes for a second series, the writer was probably struggling.

But the characterisations are really wonderful. Although the tumble-down squat scenario, and Sally Phillips' violence towards Ray, are perhaps too close to the 'Young Ones' for comfort -- Phillips even levitates at one stage from drug use -- the sitcom I found myself strangely reminded of was 1970s 'Butterflies'. Bizarre I know, but I found the two unemployed sons of Wendy Craig and Geoffrey Palmer irresistibly cool back then. Julian Rhind-Tutt's ultra-laid-back old Harrovian is strongly reminiscent of their attitude.

Anyway, this is a hugely enjoyable short series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great early days in several comic careers, 21 April 2008
By 
M. L. York "Grammarian" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I can't get enough of Simon Pegg, so I was thrilled to find this quirky little series available on DVD, only to discover that the co-stars are none other than the amazing Sally Phillips (she of the radiant smile), Julian Rhind-Tutt and Darren Boyd, all of whom I have watched and adored in their various guises for many years. There are some hilarious moments in this series, showing glimpses of what was to follow from all the performers in higher profile comedies later on. The comedy is a little self-conscious and laboured at points (each episode takes a theme from the 1960s, such as festivals, sex, beards (?!) and squeezes out all the possible humour from each concept) but generally it's lively and will satisfy the thirst of comedy fans who just want MORE from the likes of these brilliant actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Paisley gods!, 5 Mar 2008
By 
W. Davidson (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I've been hoping this would come out on DVD. Given Simon Pegg's recent successes in film and TV it's amazing it's taken so long.

Hippies is a good fun sitcom based around a group of hippies in Notting Hill Gate (Where "we'll build a love state...") and featuring a bunch of now-famous comic actors (Sally Phillips, Peter Serafinowicz, Julian Rhind-Tutt, Darren Boyd and of course, Simon Pegg). The fact that most of the cast are too old to be playing the flower power youth is surely part of the joke. Great fun parody of the patchouli generation; look out for "Girl with a Beard" and the rather brilliant stage production with Hippy Horse. Peace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lost Gem, 7 Nov 2008
By 
A. J. King "ajking22" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I'm with most fellow reviewers here. The joy of Hippies is in the small details that highlight the hilarity and embarrassment of the post flower power era when us "students" (ie anyone too lazy to get a job) wanted to excercise our new political awareness but didn't have a clue how to go about it. We spent our time in "happenings" "sit-ins" and other pointless protests, and some, like Simon Pegg's character here, thought they could change the world with ridiculous or childish magazines read by few and bought by even fewer. We didn't appreciate that you can't scare anyone just by being a Marxist, you have to actually do something. And since most of us didn't know what real marxists did all day we didn't have a plan B, so when we were turfed out (or rather sneaked out) of our university sit-ins we usually looked a bit cold, a bit silly and bit sheepish.
And into this largely forgotten time comes this beautifully observed single series, with the four main characters each receiving a generous helping of the comedy, the plot and the dialogue. While Simon Pegg is the lead role, my favourite is Rhind-Tutt's uppper class laconic loafer. I knew guys like this in my student days for whom even lifting a cadged cigarette to their lips was a "hassle".
Yes there are one or two flat jokes, stilted acting and dud lines but with Linehan and Matthews that is the small price for the huge amount of hilarious and keenly observed humour.
This forgotten series has achieved the accursed "cult" status but it is loved by the tiny number of people who actually remember it, and if you buy it you will surely join them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hippie Hooray, 26 April 2011
By 
T. Hall (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The first 4 episodes of this show are absolutely brilliant and hilarious and as good as anything Arthur Matthews did previously with Father Ted. Simon Pegg is as hysterical in this as he has been in anything else, Julian Rhind Tutt sublime, Sally Phillips dementedly sexy and Darren Boyd underused but still very funny. The highlight for me is the sex episode and in particular the sequence featuring Eleanor Bron and her peculiar hobby. Broadly the series utterly slates the notion of being a hippy and points up all of the absurdity and contradictions inherent in such a lifestyle and this is slightly odd because it seems that the anarchic comedy genius Arthur Matthews is aligning himself with the po-faced conservative 'squares' of the late sixties who poured scorn on the counterculture at the time. However this point of view is historically borne out because two of the prominent hippies featured in the DVD extra on the infamous David Frost show did go on to use their youthful notoriety to make a huge amount of money in later life. They very literally sold out to the man. Nevertheless I laughed until a little bit of pee came out.

The last 2 episodes are not so great. Episode 5 is all over the place and suffers in the same way that the episode of Peep Show suffers where they go to a Christian Rock festival, it just seems that you shouldn't set a comedy at a festival, there are too many opportunities for mirth, so many in fact that the whole thing just becomes swamped in mud, just like Darren Boyd's character Hugo. Episode 6 is not great simply because it just reeks of being a last episode, 'this is the last episode', it seems to be saying with every frame, 'we're just winding things up.' However I love the way the joke about Alex's father's swollen hand resolves itself into a comic book character, a moment of comedy genius and you need the freezeframe to properly appreciate it.

Overall well done Arthur Matthews, you are the 'man'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hippies: Finally!, 9 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. C. Gray (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I recorded each episode onto VHS when I first saw this on TV. It was underappreciated, and mainly unnoticed by the general public, and I had given up hope for it coming onto DVD - Hippies is definately a hidden gem, much like Garth Marenghi's Darkplace, or, to a lesser extent, Coupling. Well worth the buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars where it all began, 7 Aug 2008
By 
K. Box "whereami?" (Worcester,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Although this isn't written by Simon Pegg, you can see that this was where he began to hone his comic trade with all his Pegg like mannerisms, line delivery etc. The same goes for Rhind-Tutt who took some of his seeming slight detachment with him to the brilliant Green Wing. The support cast are spot on. This should have been seen by more people when it was first aired but it's good to be able to see it at all. I don't know if a second series would have worked as the idea is a bit of a one idea thing, and the various scenarios one might have expected were probably played out in these 6 shows.It's just good to see it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A British TV series I missed from 1999, 4 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This single DVD series takes us back to a London set in 1969. It stars Simon Pegg as the editor of a small-circulation, Oz type publication called 'Mouth'. His friends who share his sometimes turbulent and always naive world are the gorgeous feminist Jill played by Sally Phillips, the super laid-back Alex played by Julian Rhind-Tutt from Green Wing fame and Darren Boyd who went on much more recently to appear in Whites starring Alan Davies. This DVD is a fun ride and not to be taken at all seriously. It's light hearted, pleasantly funny and around about half an hour of escapism per episode. If you are a fan of Spaced, also starring Simon Pegg, you'll be able to note certain ideas that were later used in that superb series. Definitely one for your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YET ANOTHER SITCOM NO ONE SEEMS TO HAVE SEEN, 20 Mar 2010
This review is from: Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is another one of those one that got away sitcoms, which is a big shame as this means only one series. If it was shown on tv today I think more people would make an effort to see this becase of now well established actors( SIMON PEGG, SALLY PHILLIPS, JULLIAN RHIND-TUTT and many more. But for under a fiver its a must see DVD as its alot better than most comedys on TV at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD]
Hippies : The Complete Series [DVD] by Martin Dennis (DVD - 2008)
£5.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews