Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long, long, long last! May the next three series be released soon!
After only, what, seventeen years? the series which must be the best showcase of Dawn French's acting is finally on DVD. My five stars are firstly for the simple fact that this very clever series has been released. Those of us who saw it on TV in Australia and were hooked have - up till now - been treated badly. Sadly, as is so often the case, the local TV stations...
Published on 19 Mar 2008 by Doctor Andrew

versus
5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars didn't do it for me
I bought this dvd based on the reviews found on this page. i'd never even heard of murder most horrid. But being a lover af Dawn French and being quite impressed with the fervency of the reviewers i took the plunge.
i've had the dvd for a year now and haven't even watched all the episodes!
honestly, i thought it was a bit boring, slow and a bit over the top...it...
Published on 26 Sep 2009 by Crm Hamelinck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long, long, long last! May the next three series be released soon!, 19 Mar 2008
By 
Doctor Andrew (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
After only, what, seventeen years? the series which must be the best showcase of Dawn French's acting is finally on DVD. My five stars are firstly for the simple fact that this very clever series has been released. Those of us who saw it on TV in Australia and were hooked have - up till now - been treated badly. Sadly, as is so often the case, the local TV stations treated it as a "cult" show and by the time the fourth season was broadcast in 2000 there was no publicity at all, and episodes were shown sporadically at random hours of the day or night. I didn't even know there had been a fourth season until about a year ago! Along with others I have been swapping tired old home-recorded VHS tapes and scouring the net for missing episodes, it seems forever.

I have just opened this package and quickly tested the actual quality of the recordings. Of course they MUST be better than my copies of a frend's off-the-air NTSC VHS tapes from the USA! And yes, they are just what you'd expect from a modern DVD. Another reason for four of the five stars.
I have checked the commentary at the start of my favourite episode, "Mrs Hat & Mrs Red" and while a bit of it is rather lame, it's fun to hear Dawn French's comments on her own acting! The other "extras" are a credit list (interesting, sort of) and some publicity stills (available in better quality elsewhere, and adding little value).
Since the six episodes from the first season have already seen the light of day on commercial VHS tapes, let's just hope that the other previously unreleased seasons make it on to DVD in quick succession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong start, 19 Sep 2008
By 
M. R. Jones (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those shows that you can always remember seeing in the late evening, and never really understand what's going on. But you are always sure of one thing......it's making you laugh....A LOT!

This heralds the start of the "other" solo series Dawn was so well known for. And what an interesting start it is! Murders involving freemasons, cruel Kids TV hosts, it doesn't get any better than this!

Now why only four stars, well that is purely down to the extras. I.e: other than the couple of commentaries they don't exist.

A good buy if you like classic comedy/crime, so lets hope the rest get released soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dawn French at her Best, 2 Sep 2009
This review is from: Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series when it was first shown back in the nineties. It's still very, very funny - I really hope the other 3 series are released on DvD too. If you love Dawn French's comedy acts then you'll love this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Please!, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This series is so clever and more importantly funny. Each episode is so unique, but Dawn French's talents shine through out. Hopefully the other series will be coming to dvd soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic murder mystery, 18 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Dawn French is very classic and can play her characters to such a high standard you can believe in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare really knew what he meant when he wrote those lines, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
'Murder Most Horrid' is a must for all fans of the murder mystery genre, delightfully lampooning and revering the premise in a sublime mix of melodrama, farce, character acting and lashings of dark humour. Episodes always start with an intro sequence that parallels that of Rowan Atkinson's 'Blackadder the Third' Blackadder - The Complete Collection [DVD], and deliberately mimicking the inimitable Angela Lansbury's Murder, She Wrote [DVD], during the phase when her character Jessica Fletcher introduced an afternoon play, rather than herself actually sleuthing a crimescene.

Similarly, this series embellishes and embraces the afternoon play theme, though casting French in the lead role. In other hands, it would rapidly become a tired format, though the variety and mix of her performance and calibre of storyline easily dispells any comparison of her roles in the series or even as a The Vicar of Dibley [DVD]. Also , Dawn is supported by a range of names and celebrity talent weekly, like a variant of Cluedo, with their own motives or interests at stake.

I had previously ordered the series for my sister's birthday and recently decided to treat myself to it: however I am thoroughly *DISMAYED* that it seems to be discontinued or available at an outrageous price for only the first season on other sites. Consequently, I write this review to encourage interested parties who agree with me to recommend my review in the hopes that it will become noticed as a form of petition and demand for Amazon to encourage re-release of this season as well as the remaining unreleased series!!! Having read the other reviews, it would be a travesty if the sole means of sourcing the unreleased episodes lies in scouring for half-recorded VHS tapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word for Murder Most Horrid - Fantastic!, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Philip Francis (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This series is brilliant, it see's one of britains best comediennes dawn french playing various roles in unrelated sketch's all with equally hilarious outcomes. I would highly recommend this to anyone with a dark sense of humour or who simply has an appreciation for true comedy. It's just a shame that it took so long to finally be released on DVD, can't wait for the next three series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best show with Dawn French, 8 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
The show is really very good, (though it does have very few episodes) with subtle English humour and Dawn French is at her best here playing completely different characters each time very convincingly. There are in total 4 seasons, each having six episodes, this DVD containing the first season.

The DVD quality is quite good, though all the 6 episodes are on one disk, there is also a possibility of switching the subtitles on and off. By the way the description on the disk itself says region 0.

It is a pity that only one season was released so far on DVD, I see that for the next year a box with the two first seasons has been planned, but I wonder whether the quality and the options will be the same, as it is supposed to be released by a different company.

Anyway this one is a real jewel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars murder, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
As I remember it along while ago it was good to get it on dvd just as good as I remember it , with dawn French as a maid in one and another as a policewoman all six episodes very funny as I adore dawn French I highly recommend it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must have for any Dawn French fan!, 16 Jun 2012
By 
G. Sivits (New Haven, IN. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
If you're in the States like me, you must purchase a multi-region DVD player in order to watch this. Having said that, if you love British comedy, dark comedy, or Dawn French...then you have to get this DVD. There are 6 episodes on this disk:
1. The Case of the Missing: This one is an absolutely bizarre comedy, being the first program in this series, with the writing not as refined as it is in later shows. With a police force like this; it's amazing ANY crimes get solved at all! My personal favorite is that they have a Pathologist who vomits at the mere mentioning of gory murder details, let alone performing an autopsy.

2. The Girl from Ipanema: This one had me laughing out loud; and at the end, well...let's just say: It couldn't have happened to a nicer guy. Hah!

3. He Died a Death: Dawn plays an aging, and quite hammy stage actress, who USED to be popular 'once upon a time'. This one also had me laughing out loud.

4. A Determined Woman: Dawn is a ambitious scientist who is sacked from her job, but carries on her work at home in the garage. This one is not as funny as the others, in fact, it is quite sad. It does have it's funny moments, but it actually had my eyes tear up a bit, because of the accidental crime she commits, her true remorse, and her determination to build the time machine she'd been working on, to stop herself from accidentally murdering her husband in the past. Not one of my favorites, but shows a side of acting that Dawn normally doesn't do, but she's very good at it.

5. Murder at Tea Time: Dawn is Bunty,an extremely jealous host of the Children's program, "Write Away", who is wickedly hilarious in her treatment of her younger and more popular co-host, Colin. After attempting to get him to quit, by means of a letter writing campaign she does on her own in child-like penmanship, the tables get turned. And she makes one crucial mistake...not giving just reward when it's due. Very funny show; had me laughing out loud again, which only happens when something is really funny, not silly.

6. Mrs. Hat and Mrs. Red: It's been said that everyone has a twin; somewhere! This is by far my favorite episode, with Dawn playing a dual role. It's more touching and sweet than funny, but it does have it's moments. She plays the notoriously nasty Mrs. Red, who doesn't appreciate what she has; and she also plays the adorably sweet, but lonely and...just a little 'different'; Mrs. Hat, who would give anything to have what Mrs. Red has. Dawn has such a wide range of acting talent; she plays both equally convincing. I fell in love with the loveable Mrs. Hat immediately, wishing I could find her Doppelganger somewhere, and that she was just as sweet. Not so much with wicked Mrs. Red, although she is quite stunning in that red outfit! I just love Dawn's rounded curves, and she shows 'em off in this episode! Since the show is called 'Murder most Horrid', I knew someone 'had to die' in this one, like all the others; and I will say I was hoping like hell it wouldn't be the innocent Mrs. Hat, but.....well, if you want to know the ending, you'll have to buy the DVD.

I love this show so much, I already pre-ordered the Murder most Horrid series 2 DVD, which is due out in September. I can't wait to receive it. Wish we had programs like this in the U.S.! I would probably enjoy watching T.V..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder Most Horrid : Complete First Series [DVD]
19.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews