Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on target
The problem buying this package of DVD's is the internal conflict you face: Richard Greene's Robin Hood constitutes pure nostalgia, but how are you going to view it now you've reached more mature years and have experienced a half century of much more sophisticated broadcasting plus Hollywood hype and special effects? The answer, of course, is that...
Published on 20 Nov. 2005 by Budge Burgess

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed
I purchased this product for entertainment, but two of the dvds are blank, so i am very dissapointed with this purchase
Published on 6 July 2009 by Mrs. R. Shepherd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on target, 20 Nov. 2005
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The problem buying this package of DVD's is the internal conflict you face: Richard Greene's Robin Hood constitutes pure nostalgia, but how are you going to view it now you've reached more mature years and have experienced a half century of much more sophisticated broadcasting plus Hollywood hype and special effects? The answer, of course, is that you're going to enjoy every minute of it!
First, the black and white images have been beautifully translated to DVD. The picture quality is excellent, and if the theme tune sounds monotonous after a while, you can't complain about the technical quality of the product. In fact, it's quite exciting to see it so well presented when you're memories are of grainy pictures on a small screen. You get the first 39 episodes on five discs (there were 143 episodes made in all). Thirty-nine episodes … and no frills, no extras, just 39 episodes each 23-25 minutes long.
But what of the show? Nostalgia quickly gives way to sheer enjoyment. Oh, the acting is a bit cardboard in places … in fact, in a lot of places … and the fight scenes are a bit, well, amateur dramatics (but watch out for a bit of energy and passion in "The Highlander" episode). And did I mention that the acting is a bit "Thunderbirds" in places? But, that apart, and all that included, it's brilliant. A couple of quick introductory episodes set the scene and set up the Robin Hood legend, and suddenly Richard Greene fills the role and the tights.
It's very gentle, very middle class, very 50's, the accents very, well, BBC - despite its ITV provenance. It is dated and you accept that from the word go. The stories just sweep you up into the fantasy and you enjoy the drama, the excitement, the comedy, and the occasional slapstick. By episode three you're enraptured. Leo McKern appears as different characters. Leslie Phillips appears as different characters. Various members of the cast keep turning up in different roles. They even change Little John for a few episodes (as if you wouldn't notice that). But you suspend your disbelief and sit back and enjoy an entertaining series.
It's not great drama. It's not great acting. But it is great entertainment. There's an innocence to it. You appreciate why you enjoyed it as a child, but suddenly there's a charm and timeless enrapture which reaches down the years and grabs you as a grumpy old man. Men, of course, never grow up, so Robin Hood fills much of the fantasy image - he's rough, tough, can fight anyone, women love him, but he's just thoroughly decent and so nice and he's on the side of good. Strong in him is the force!
This is not a series for intellectual analysis. It's a series for a comfortable armchair … and kick off the slippers. Imagine the feel of the forest floor beneath your feet and let yourself run away with a highly entertaining fantasy. It can't compete with the glitz and special effects of the contemporary world, but it doesn't have to. It's a remarkably relaxing and enjoyable experience, a tonic after a stressful day, or an excuse to lock yourself away for a weekend and just feel all the tensions and anxieties drain from your system as you watch good triumph over evil. Magnificent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Additional comment..., 16 May 2009
By 
Amos Spitalhatch (Hamilton, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a long list of very helpful comments already available against the English DVD version of this series and I won't repeat them except to say that this American-issued set also provides excellent nostalgic entertainment.
The principal difference appears to be that the English set contains five discs whereas this one has only three (not the 4 listed) - but still includes the full set of 39 episodes. The listing also describes it as being in colour, but of course it's in black and white. The listing may since have been corrected.
The episodes appear to have been collected from various sources and vary considerably in print quality. Some still include some (American) sponsors' messages, and are well-worn with noticable scratches and spots, while a few others have been reprocessed to a like-new standard.
One episode (so far) even has the alternative title: "The Adventures in Sherwood Forest" (rather than The Adventures of Robin Hood)!
And you can't rely on the closing credits for information - they appear to have been tacked on at random (perhaps to get round some of the sponsors' messages), so that the cast list often shows characters and actors who don't appear in that particular episode. I've only watched the first disc so far, but am still looking forward to seeing young versions of Patrick Troughton, Thora Hird and Paul Eddington as well as many other familiar personalities who have risen to prominence over the years.
I well remember this series from my 'formative' years - but I hadn't realised how utterly gorgeous Bernadette O'Farrell was!
Most enjoyable - and a great purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Landmark Series for 1955, 6 July 2003
To the editor my main reason in writing at this time is that there are 936 minutes.I will be buying it soon.
The quality of the production was outstanding in it's time,I am yet to understand how they made the props seem so outstanding though there was a thatched building which was a church one programme then a house then a church.Richard Greene must have seemed a rather middle class type for 1200AD but he carried it well.Many well known people quested and in view of the destuction of so much television work the saving of the Sapphire Films work which was made with film is an excellent cameo of so many people.Look for Alexander Gauge as a doule chinned Friar Tuck.Alan Wheatley as an evil Sheriff of Nottingham. The outside filming was carried out often near Walton On Thames where Hannah Weinstein the producer had a farm the woodland used was not Sherwood Forest but it was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passes my test..., 22 Jan. 2008
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have a very simple test to see if something has stood the test of time. I put it on when I know my teenage kids are around and see if it draws them in or not. Few black and white productions pass this test. I tried it with this DVD, and somewhat to my initial surprise they liked it and now they want to see more.

As the other reviews have said, it's not the high production values (though actually they are not that bad for the most part) it's the strength of the storylines and many of the performances. Alexander Gauge as Friar Tuck has never been bettered in my opinion.

The DVDs contain just the episodes - no extras, which is a shame, I bet there were some wonderful out takes, but I guess in those days they were worthless and so not kept like they are now.

Anyway, I still love this and it engages my youngsters - so a big tick in the box for this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic DVD, 27 July 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just purchased the recent DVD I was captivated for all 39 episodes !! I missed the series first time around but managed to catch a re-run about 10 years ago. The is a fantastic series and was so popular during its reign that it last for over 130 episodes. Richard Greene gives an excellent performance as the ever faithful Robin Hood in these black and white classics. I just hope that Network release the rest of the series on the very near future ! This DVD is thoroughly recommended for anyone who watched and liked the first time around or is a fan of Robin Hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Off to the greenwood again, 11 Feb. 2004
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This wasy my favourite television programme when I was a child. I loved with a fierce passion I have never felt since for any other programme. How I longed to be Robin Hood, and the hours I spent roaming our local woods with a bow and arrow waiting to shoot the Sheriff. It is a joy to find that the programme is every bit as good as I remember it, superb acting and wonderful scripts. I recently learnt the fascinating fact that many of these scripts were written by blacklisted Hollywood writers like Ring Lardner Jnr. I watch thrilling episode after thrilling episode and wallow joyfully in nostalgia. All the regular cast are wonderful, and the guest stars too, particularly Jill Esmond playing Eleanor of Aquitaine. And then the rousing theme song at the end of each episode, I'm ready to rush off to the greenwood once again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh to Be Able to See it Again..., 30 Sept. 2003
By 
Tim Hewitt (Columbia, SC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Errol Flynn DVD came out today here in the U.S. and I started poking around for other Robin Hood video and was overcome with childhood nostalgia when I discovered a listing for this set. Ah, to be in the U.K. (or at least have a DVD player that converts PAL to NTSC). I remember this series so fondly. It was my first real introduction to Robin Hood (it and Howard Pyle's storybook). The series played on afternoon TV in my community and prompted many a young American boy to give up playing cowboys and indians in favor of playing Robin Hood and the Sheriff of Nottingham. For me, Richard Green WAS Robin Hood and Robin Hood was the greatest hero of them all. One day perhaps there'll be a US release of this fondly remembered series. For now I'll have to make do with Errol Flynn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable interpretation of the Robin Hood story, 21 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The representation of an historical period in a film or television series says as much about the period in which it was filmed as about the period it aims to depict, so this 1955 version of the Robin Hood story is very much of its time. The merry men are a clean cut crew, their lincoln green costumes well washed and pressed.

The series was shot in black and white. Budgetary restraints and a tight shooting schedule mean that certain actors turn up in different roles each week: for example, in one episode they would be an outlaw and in the next, a monk. Skilful editing also ensures that soldiers and bystanders in crowds are more numerous than they actually are. The same interiors are used often, though this is overcome by shooting from different angles and anyway, their overuse would seem less obvious to someone viewing the episodes on a weekly basis. Most of the action is studio based with occasional on location inserts.

The familiar Robin Hood legends are briefly referred to, but the series does reference historical personages and events of the 1190s. Thus, we have appearances by Eleanor of Aquitaine (here called the Queen Mother, no doubt as a nod to the UK's own Queen Mother who had assumed that title in 1952), Richard I (who seems to have no trouble in getting from the Holy Land to Sherwood Forest on at least two occasions) and Prince Arthur, Duke of Brittany, nominated as Richard I's heir in an attempt to prevent Prince John becoming king.

Much of the credit for the pace and style of the series must go to executive producer Hannah Weinstein and her team of fellow American scriptwriters. The scripts are of a high quality, the sword fights impressive.

The acting is excellent, with Alexander Gauge's portrayal of Friar Tuck having claims to being definitive. Only Rufus Cruickshank as Little John in episodes 11 - 21 is rather wooden.

Another pleasure of the series is spotting actors who later became household names: Thora Hird, Joan Sims, Donald Pleasance, Robin Bailey and in the role of Prince Arthur, Peter Asher who later became one half of the 1960s pop duo, Peter and Gordon. Behind the camera, directors included Terence Fisher and Lindsay Anderson.

This version of 'Robin Hood' is an engaging romp, and such shortcomings as weapons sounding 'clunk' as they fall on to the studio floor (ie Sherwood Forest), or the re-cycling of actors and sets, only adds to its charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood the first series, 11 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Hi

I remember watching Robin Hood when I was young many years ago at home. At that time we had a black and white TV set. It was good to watch each episode in the afternoon, seeing Robin hood and his merry men challenging the sheriff of Nottingham and his men.

I am glad it is on DVD now and can watch the favourite TV show from the 1950s and can buy them here.
In the DVD case you get 5 DVD discs that has 39 episodes and it is nicely repackage. Inside the case, tell the disc number like Disc 1 with short stories of each episode and each disc contain 8 episodes except the fifth disc that has 7 episodes. All are on black and white and lasting about 30 minutes each.

The episodes I like are The coming of Robin Hood, A Husband for Mariam, The High Lander, The sheriff boots and Will Scarlet.
I know there will be others who have their own favourites of the first series of Robin Hood.

I enjoy watching them again but no longer in my youth and have grown up but feel young to each time I watch the classic of Robin Hood!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars robin hood with richard greene, 16 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. E. A. Smith (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventures of Robin Hood - Series 1 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
"Robin Hood"This series is bringing back all my old memories. Much more enjoyable than 'prince of thieves', with better acting and more believable adventures and no american accents. I have yet to see the Russell Crowe version. Recommended for anybody who watched the original tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventures of Robin Hood - Series 1 - Complete [DVD]
£54.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews