Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal for any level player :)
Hi readers, im John & i have been druming for 7 & a half years now & for someone who has been an avid ueser of cymbals such as Zildjian & Paiste, i wanted to make a change, & Meinl HCS was that change, i dont care who you are a set like this at only 150£ is a great deal if your on a budget or not, i already had a 14' Meinl HCS crash for a year or so & always loved it, it...
Published on 5 Nov. 2012 by Alex "Status" Sturgeon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and Bad
obviously these are brass cymbals, not bronze, but they're alright. Basic, but alright. The crash, is awful. It has no sustain at all, you couldn't play your right hand on here more than one beat per bar, that's for sure. The hihats sounded good whilst they weren't split (didn't take long), but the crash sounded bad before and after it split. The ride, is gorgeous. It is...
Published 1 month ago by K-Dawg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal for any level player :), 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl HCS Cymbal Set Up 14-inch Hihat 16-inch Crash 20-inch Ride (Electronics)
Hi readers, im John & i have been druming for 7 & a half years now & for someone who has been an avid ueser of cymbals such as Zildjian & Paiste, i wanted to make a change, & Meinl HCS was that change, i dont care who you are a set like this at only 150£ is a great deal if your on a budget or not, i already had a 14' Meinl HCS crash for a year or so & always loved it, it goes well with a zildjian set up but i always wanted the set, & i was not let down, first, the 14' hi-hats, fairley good (considering at the end of the day they are brass cymbals) a nice crisp sound to them & loud as hell when your playing them open, 16' crash, a slightly darker tone to it, sounds alot like the Paite 101 16' the cup ring is nice but it does sound abit dry :/ & last the 20' ride, WOW!, sounds great, looks great the cup cuts though everything, im having great fun breaking these babys in :) & i heard they last for some time, so, yes if you think about buying these, than go for it, amazon is the cheapist place ive seen so far :)
& if you really want the full set, order the 18' crash/ride its only 50£ :)

bye, bye... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl HCS Cymbal Set Up 14-inch Hihat 16-inch Crash 20-inch Ride (Electronics)
great value for money just got back into drumming after around 28 years mid life crisis i hear you say however i would rather fall off a drumkit than a motor bike, but seriously these are clear and crisp for the money and way cheaper on amazon than any other site i could find.

would recommend these if you are looking for a decent set of cymbals on a budget
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bang for your buck, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl HCS Cymbal Set Up 14-inch Hihat 16-inch Crash 20-inch Ride (Electronics)
I'd read a few reviews of other cymbals, but I decided to buy these on an impulse. I'm on a budget so I didn't have the funds to go out and buy "top range" cymbals. In addition, I'm mainly a guitarist, with drums being my second instrument, so I didn't want to spend a lot on gear that I use only from time to time.

I tried them out at band practice and I was pleasantly surprised considering the price. I brought the 18" crash as well which went perfectly with this set.

I'm not the most discerning drummer when it comes to cymbal tones and what not, but they were perfect for what I needed them for. I'd say they are definitely worth buying, even if you only use them for practice purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good and Bad, 7 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Meinl HCS Cymbal Set Up 14-inch Hihat 16-inch Crash 20-inch Ride (Electronics)
obviously these are brass cymbals, not bronze, but they're alright. Basic, but alright. The crash, is awful. It has no sustain at all, you couldn't play your right hand on here more than one beat per bar, that's for sure. The hihats sounded good whilst they weren't split (didn't take long), but the crash sounded bad before and after it split. The ride, is gorgeous. It is absolutely rock solid, and sounds awesome. Great ride. So my opinion is: get the paiste 101 18 inch crash as a cheaper crash cymbal, it sounds so much better. The ride is excellent in the hcs range, but the hihats? Maybe shop around a bit, spend a bit more money - it WILL be worth it. They will last longer, and be crisper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exact!, 22 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Meinl HCS Cymbal Set Up 14-inch Hihat 16-inch Crash 20-inch Ride (Electronics)
I chose this set of cymbals, because it's a nice starter set for rummers. Good qality at an even better price. Highli recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars much better than my expectation, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl HCS Cymbal Set Up 14-inch Hihat 16-inch Crash 20-inch Ride (Electronics)
for opinion, it's more than enough for average quality drums set..i really enjoyed its sound, perfect for what i asked for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl HCS Cymbal Set Up 14-inch Hihat 16-inch Crash 20-inch Ride (Electronics)
This was extremely good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl HCS Cymbal Set Up 14-inch Hihat 16-inch Crash 20-inch Ride (Electronics)
Great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews