Customer Reviews


278 Reviews
5 star:
 (183)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stand for the price but be careful with the case
This light stand is very useful. It folds down fairly small (though not as small as the compact double fold types) and is reasonably light. It is easy to sling it over your shoulder in the case, and an excellent addition to any photographer's kit.

I wouldn't recommend this for anything heavy, such as a monolight or big softboxes, but for hot shoe flashes and...
Published on 10 Oct 2009 by Selbosh

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its not bad, given the price
There are some shortcomings, but I am certainly not an expert in this area. I found the legs hard to collapse, quite stiff actually, and the stability is okay but not perfect. It does seems a little on the light side to me, and once it almost tipped when fully extended without too much weight... I dunno if i would trust it with an expensive strobe attached.

On...
Published 15 months ago by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stand for the price but be careful with the case, 10 Oct 2009
This review is from: Photography Light Stand for professional photo studio photolamps (Accessory)
This light stand is very useful. It folds down fairly small (though not as small as the compact double fold types) and is reasonably light. It is easy to sling it over your shoulder in the case, and an excellent addition to any photographer's kit.

I wouldn't recommend this for anything heavy, such as a monolight or big softboxes, but for hot shoe flashes and umbrellas it does the job very well. If you're using it outside with modifiers such as umbrellas, weight down the base with something heavy, like your camera bag, or the slightest breeze will send it crashing to the ground!

GRIPES:

The plastic buckle on the case broke immediately, but after I repaired the strap it works fine. I attribute the problem to a bad sample, but nonetheless the quality of the case is not brilliant. Despite this, for my quick location kit, I can fit the stand plus an umbrella and swivel bracket into the case without problems.

You need to keep the provided plastic cap, or a substitute, on top of the light stand stud whenever you put it in the case, or it will wear a hole in it in no time at all. On the other hand, while my case has a small hole in the end, it causes no problems and shows no signs of getting bigger.

CONCLUSION:

Overall I recommend this product. Unless you need something very tall, or something to hold a large monolight or softbox, this light stand will do the job for you. The only problems I found were with the case, and both were easily fixable and preventable once you know. At this price, long-term build quality does not matter, but I've had it for about a year and had no problems with the stand itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice surprise, 8 Jan 2010
By 
Rudi Wells "Rudi" (Hoofddorp, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photography Light Stand for professional photo studio photolamps (Accessory)
I didn't expect much from this stand, but boy was I surprised! I live in Holland, and have a couple of heavy duty stands here in my studio and needed something for a series of shoots I was doing in Ireland in peoples homes. I wanted something cheap that I could leave behind for the next time, and more importantly could hold the weight of my smaller 200W studio light as well as a fairly large soft umbrella. No problems what so ever, and a bonus was that it came with a soft case which had a strap, AND could I hold my soft umbrella in the case.
No complaints at all, when you spread the legs a little wider, it's as sturdy as you'll need, and it locked tightly when extended. I was expecting a "one use" stand, no way, I'll get a LOT of use out of this.

Rudi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a professional stand but it does the job well., 5 Feb 2009
This review is from: Photography Light Stand for professional photo studio photolamps (Accessory)
This is not your professional light stand. It is a little thin and you would think it would have issues of falling over all the time. You'd be wrong. For the price, this light stand works for what I wanted it for (using a flashgun off camera). With a little added weight, such as your camera bag, this is a solid piece of equipment and for the price, if you're looking for a lightstand that's particularly transportable, you'd be crazy to buy something else. Not so sure how it would work in a studio with those big heavy monoblock heads but I can't see it having problems there either. I would recommend it to anyone in need of a little extra height for their off camera lighting sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 13 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography Light Stand for professional photo studio photolamps (Accessory)
For the money this is unbeatable.

It has clips instead of screw clamps which may wear out with time but there is very little difference otherwise between this and my more expensive interfit stands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cheap and cheerful, 16 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Photography Light Stand for professional photo studio photolamps (Accessory)
This thing is quite suitable for those who want to do some occasional amateur strobist work. Not sure about "professional studio photolamps" - it looks and feels somewhat flimsy - but it holds my 430ex, radio receiver and 80" brolly just fine. Cheap enough to try out and if you figure that flash photography is your thing I'd recommend to upgrade to something more serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and they work!, 5 Jun 2012
By 
S. L. Butler "Simon Butler" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography Light Stand for professional photo studio photolamps (Accessory)
I was sceptical when I ordered these as they were so cheap but I am pleased that I did order them as they are brilliant. I have been using them for 3 months and they work perfectly. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight but capable stand, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Peter Davies (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photography Light Stand for professional photo studio photolamps (Accessory)
Excellent for the price - clearly not for studio flash but more than adequate for portable flash units - legs have a wide enough footprint. Used with Metz45 and 48" umbrella, stable and no problems indoors. Suitable for those on a budget or wanting to carry less weight than a manfrotto type option
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 16 Jan 2010
This review is from: Photography Light Stand for professional photo studio photolamps (Accessory)
I Bought two of these stands for use in my studio set up , reading the previous reviews i was doubtfull of the build quality but after using them i am quite happy with the product and its build quality , ideal for field use and studio , if outside i would put a weight to steady them depends on conditions at the time, weight i would use to a degree ie heavier lights . Hope you find this helpfull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 9 July 2011
By 
David Travis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photography Light Stand for professional photo studio photolamps (Accessory)
To be honest, I thought this was going to be cheap and cheerful for under a tenner. I've already got a light stand that came with an Apollo Softbox and I wanted to buy an equivalent stand for a reflector, but I didn't want to spend £50 on a Manfrotto. This does the job perfectly. It comes neatly boxed and is supplied with a canvas case. It doesn't extend as much as the other light stand I have, but it still reaches the ceiling. Also, instead of screws on the side to hold the extended arms it has snap clamps, but these work well. If you're buying it for a Speedlight, be aware that you'll also need to get a coldshoe attachment. At this price, it's not worth wasting time thinking about your decision -- just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nifty Lightweight Stand, 9 Mar 2009
By 
E. CLEARY "CanvasPic.com" (Tipperary, Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photography Light Stand for professional photo studio photolamps (Accessory)
Handy lightweight stand for on the move flash photography. Used it to support a Nikon sb600 and diffuser umbrella, worked flawlessly. Highly recommended for light mobile work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews