Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally available after nearly 30 years
For me this is the definitive version of Kidnapped. There have been other TV adaptations but none of them have stuck in my memory like this one has. I remember more about this version which I haven't seen for something like 20 years than more recent adaptations.

One big asset is Vladimir Cosma's haunting theme music; it is worth getting the series just to...
Published on 19 Feb 2008 by G. Curtis

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kidnapped
The story and acting are both excellent. Poor technical quality on transfer to DVD; the quality of the sound, especially, was poor.
Published 22 months ago by Dr. D. Brand


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mini-series, 5 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Kidnapped is an excellent mini-series - very entertaining. Great adaptation of R. L. Stevenson's books, "Kidnapped" and "Catroina".

Mini-series has a great cast. Young Balfour, Uncle Ebenezer and Catroina are very good. Kudos to David McCallum for his performance as Alan Breck Stewart. McCallum is wonderful as the "Hero of the Highlands". Sadly, no recognition for his talent. What a shame!

Aside from MFU and NCIS, the UK was blessed with so much of McCallum's best work - Colditz, Sapphire and Steel, Kidnapped and Mother Love. It would be nice to have both Colditz and Mother Love available on DVD. It would be nice to have these DVDs in format for the US as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good yarn, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
it might have been made a number of years ago but my wife was extremely pleased that I had bought this series for her as a surprise present. We ended up both watching it together. David McCallum is a remarkable actor. He has starred in many productions like The Man from Uncle and before, right up to NCIS. A good bit of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, sound quality a little suspect at first, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This series is timeless. Even for the 21st century child!! It was as every bit as good as I remember when I was 7 years old. Modern story telling should use this series as a mark of excellence. The sound quality was a little off at first but coming from a 70s TV series to DVD, this wasnt unexpected plus this improved on later episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best adaptation to date, 9 July 2013
By 
Junius (London, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
It is usual for a TV or film version of a Classic novel/s for readers of the latter to disparage the former. Well, although Kidnapped is without doubt a great adventure story, Catriona (and this dvd is the story of both, as is the 1971 Michael Caine version) the novel is a mixed bag, basically because though David is a worthy and honest and brave young man, he's pretty dull without the presence of Alan.

This TV version does away with this by having Alan Breck and Catrionia feature right from the start and has Alan as a more significant character in the second half, ie the novel' Catriona' than he is in the book. This is an addition to eb much welcomed. In particular it features his meetings with the man he initialially idolises but later realises has feet of clay - Charles Edward Stuart.

This is not perfect; the incident of the bagpipe contest with a descendant of Rob Roy is ommitted and the murder by Alan of the redcoat sentry included. Indeed, the portrayal of both British soldiers and Charles Edward Stuart is highly negative and follows in the trend both are porayed in Culloden (1965) and the film Kidnapped (1971). In the case of Charles its factually inaccurate for he maintained his desire to be King longer after 1751 (when this story is set and in which he claims he has no such goals anymore).

But this version, despite a few misgivings is very good indeed; well paced, shot in the Highlands with attention to period details and well acted. Its length gives time for the drama and characters to develop but it is never slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kidnapped dvd, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I have yet to see a better adaptation of Kidnapped and Catriona on screen.the scenery sets and costumes are excellent as is the acting and soundtrack.the picture quality is decent enough though it is a little faded in places but not to the extent that it would spoil your viewing pleasure,sadly there are no subtitles.this is the benchmark when it comes to adapting these two books by Stevenson for television that subsequent attempts have failed to come close to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a classic, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this as a kid and anxiously waiting for a week to see the next episode. It is nice to see that even today, the series has not lost its appeal. For fans of David McCallum or the work of Robert Louis Stevenson, this is a must. If you like a good aventure series with beautiful photography, good actors and a decent plot, buy this. You won't regret it. Although this series is aimed at kids, it has an appeal for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Version, 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great version of a classic. I happened to be fortunate to see it the only time it was shown in the US. I'd love to see it again. Please bring this to the US in a region 1 NTSC format. Its tempting to buy a region free player just to see this. I might settle for changing the region of my computer and play back on that (you are allowed five region changes on an apple), I want to see this again that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get kidnapped for an evening and watch the entire series in one go, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike other reviewers of this series. I'm not an absolute fan of 60's -80's TV drama series. A lot of them are showing their age, however, this is an exception.

Others have said that the role taken by David McCallum could have been written for him and I concur with that view. However, his is not the only good performance, in fact I would find it hard to say if anyone faltered.

A great series that's reasonably faithful to the original story. I enjoyed it when it first came on TV and I've enjoyed it even more now. As I said in the title, get kidnapped for an evening and watch the entire series in one go, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Horribly dated unfortunately, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Horribly dated unfortunately, amusingly so at times, a little embarrassingly at others. Maybe someone could re-edit it so it's not so choppy and the music in the background isn't inappropriate (e.g. action sequence background music during periods of little action). Bravo for sticking to the plot of the book! But by golly it does make for some stiff and dull watching at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 30 Nov 2010
By 
Simon T. Middleton (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very very special adaptation of this story. The acting is top notch, the scenery is beautiful, the story is constantly riveting and it also makes the viewer think.
If we didn't have such governments ruling local communities from afar, serving their own interests primarily and exploiting the national population, the world would be a much better place. Very idealistic and difficult to mobilise the mass of humanity to achieve it though, unfortunately.

On a side note, I do love it how Alan Breck is always well presented, even after days living rough in the glens.

Most enjoyable dvd I have seen for quite a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD]
Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] by David McCallum (DVD - 2008)
8.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews