Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally available after nearly 30 years
For me this is the definitive version of Kidnapped. There have been other TV adaptations but none of them have stuck in my memory like this one has. I remember more about this version which I haven't seen for something like 20 years than more recent adaptations.

One big asset is Vladimir Cosma's haunting theme music; it is worth getting the series just to...
Published on 19 Feb 2008 by G. Curtis

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kidnapped
The story and acting are both excellent. Poor technical quality on transfer to DVD; the quality of the sound, especially, was poor.
Published 22 months ago by Dr. D. Brand


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally available after nearly 30 years, 19 Feb 2008
By 
G. Curtis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
For me this is the definitive version of Kidnapped. There have been other TV adaptations but none of them have stuck in my memory like this one has. I remember more about this version which I haven't seen for something like 20 years than more recent adaptations.

One big asset is Vladimir Cosma's haunting theme music; it is worth getting the series just to hear that (if only someone would release the soundtrack on CD!).

Picture quality and sound quality though is pretty average and it doesn't look as though any remastering has been done. Never mind, at least it is complete and uncut (according to Network).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidnapped, finally released!, 8 April 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This was shown on ITV back in 1979, just after all the tv station strikes over Xmas 1978. I remember it vividly and remember really enjoying it, even though it was spread over 13 weeks. It has a wonderful look to it; the original film may not have been stored in the kindest contitions over the last 30 years and now has a slightly grainy quality to it that adds to the look of it, rather than detracting from it. It has an epic feel to it, and is well shot and beautifully acted. The main lead in it is David McCallum, en route to be Steel in ATV's Sapphire and Steel, and he is, as always, moody and wonderful. It actually looks like a lot of money has been thrown at it, and the music (bear in mind I had sot seen a single frame of this in 29 years) came back to me like a shot! Dramatic and sweeping, this is a much welcomed release from Network, and soemthing to be enjoyed again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kidnapped, 6 Nov 2012
By 
Dr. D. Brand (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The story and acting are both excellent. Poor technical quality on transfer to DVD; the quality of the sound, especially, was poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid adaptation of Kidnapped and Catriona, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I confess I became hooked on the story of "Kidnapped" when I read it as a picture book at the age of 8. That was more than 60 years ago and I still love it so I'm prejudiced. This adaptation of "Kidnapped" and "Catriona" is expertly done and even purists (and I'm probably one) can have little to complain about. Written 7 years before its sequel, "Kidnapped" has no mention of Catriona Drummond and only the briefest mention of James More, whereas the story of "Catriona" revolves around them. To combine both stories into one is quite a challenge therefore, and it has been done with great integrity sticking very faithfully to the original stories and even dialogue. The cast contains a host of superb and very well-known actors and the whole series is a tour-de-force. I'm still captivated by the way Stevenson wove these stories around so many historical characters, events and places without distorting history itself. James More (a son of Rob Roy) did escape from prison with the help of his daughter Catriona and died in Paris in penury. Glenure was shot at Lettermore and James of the Glens was hanged for the crime although Alan Breck is still thought to have been involved. He was still living in Paris as an old man at the beginning of the French Revolution. And although David Balfour is fictitious it's interesting that the author's full name was Robert Louis Balfour Stevenson. At this price the DVD is a snip. Buy it, enjoy it, and check out some of the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please get this item on DVD/NTSC, 29 May 2008
By 
lady victoria "vickl1" (Lilburn, Ga. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I love this version of Kidnapped and want it to be available for viewing in the U.S. If this weren't a Region 2 DVD, I'd buy it right now. As one previous viewer said, this is the definitive version. Please make it available to us Yanks and the Smuggler and Arthur of the Britons too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL KIDNAPPED TV ADAPTATION, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
This to my mind is probably the best film adaptation of Robert Louis Stevenson's Kidnapped.David McCallum is outstanding as Alan Breck with a strong supporting cast. Great production values and a wonderful music score. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidnapped, 26 Jan 2013
By 
John Butler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is by far the best series version of Kidnapped, David McCallum played Alan Breck to a T and he is Scottish of the five versions I have this comes tops, I highly recommend this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidnapped. The full series from television presentation., 13 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This was the definative version of the story, with the book of Catriona skillfully blended in. David McCallum was great as Alan Breck Stuart and Ekkehardt Belle splendid as David Balfour. Aude Landry was a spirited Catriona and the rest of the cast just perfect. The music too was just right. I bought the LP record of the score at the time. It was a joy to be able to see it again as I think I possibly enjoyed it more second time around. I was so glad that the presentation was done in the same serialised format as the original television presentation. One last thought. We are used to seeing countless showings of of cinema films on TV yet many of the equally great and sometimes superior productions from TV seem to be forgotten. As in this case, the acting was great; the costumes stunning; the scenery gorgeous yet I had not seen it since 1978 and not given a re-showing on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Production!, 1 Sep 2010
By 
Dan (Washington, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful production of a great story. It's a tale of adventure, courage, loyalty and even love.

The characters come to life, through good acting and you truly get to know them,while getting a great history lesson.

You also get to understand the Highland frame of mind and honor system. It's an understatement to say that ee thoroughly enjoyed watching each and every episode.

I would highly recommend this series to anyone who loves good story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definative Version, 20 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
As like Alistair Sim in "Scrooge" David McCallum made this version his own.
I'd buy anything with David in it anyway,the wee Scot frae Kelvinside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD]
Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] by David McCallum (DVD - 2008)
8.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews