Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally available after nearly 30 years
For me this is the definitive version of Kidnapped. There have been other TV adaptations but none of them have stuck in my memory like this one has. I remember more about this version which I haven't seen for something like 20 years than more recent adaptations.

One big asset is Vladimir Cosma's haunting theme music; it is worth getting the series just to...
Published on 19 Feb. 2008 by G. Curtis

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kidnapped
The story and acting are both excellent. Poor technical quality on transfer to DVD; the quality of the sound, especially, was poor.
Published on 6 Nov. 2012 by Dr. D. Brand


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally available after nearly 30 years, 19 Feb. 2008
By 
G. Curtis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
For me this is the definitive version of Kidnapped. There have been other TV adaptations but none of them have stuck in my memory like this one has. I remember more about this version which I haven't seen for something like 20 years than more recent adaptations.

One big asset is Vladimir Cosma's haunting theme music; it is worth getting the series just to hear that (if only someone would release the soundtrack on CD!).

Picture quality and sound quality though is pretty average and it doesn't look as though any remastering has been done. Never mind, at least it is complete and uncut (according to Network).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidnapped, finally released!, 8 April 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This was shown on ITV back in 1979, just after all the tv station strikes over Xmas 1978. I remember it vividly and remember really enjoying it, even though it was spread over 13 weeks. It has a wonderful look to it; the original film may not have been stored in the kindest contitions over the last 30 years and now has a slightly grainy quality to it that adds to the look of it, rather than detracting from it. It has an epic feel to it, and is well shot and beautifully acted. The main lead in it is David McCallum, en route to be Steel in ATV's Sapphire and Steel, and he is, as always, moody and wonderful. It actually looks like a lot of money has been thrown at it, and the music (bear in mind I had sot seen a single frame of this in 29 years) came back to me like a shot! Dramatic and sweeping, this is a much welcomed release from Network, and soemthing to be enjoyed again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid adaptation of Kidnapped and Catriona, 26 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I confess I became hooked on the story of "Kidnapped" when I read it as a picture book at the age of 8. That was more than 60 years ago and I still love it so I'm prejudiced. This adaptation of "Kidnapped" and "Catriona" is expertly done and even purists (and I'm probably one) can have little to complain about. Written 7 years before its sequel, "Kidnapped" has no mention of Catriona Drummond and only the briefest mention of James More, whereas the story of "Catriona" revolves around them. To combine both stories into one is quite a challenge therefore, and it has been done with great integrity sticking very faithfully to the original stories and even dialogue. The cast contains a host of superb and very well-known actors and the whole series is a tour-de-force. I'm still captivated by the way Stevenson wove these stories around so many historical characters, events and places without distorting history itself. James More (a son of Rob Roy) did escape from prison with the help of his daughter Catriona and died in Paris in penury. Glenure was shot at Lettermore and James of the Glens was hanged for the crime although Alan Breck is still thought to have been involved. He was still living in Paris as an old man at the beginning of the French Revolution. And although David Balfour is fictitious it's interesting that the author's full name was Robert Louis Balfour Stevenson. At this price the DVD is a snip. Buy it, enjoy it, and check out some of the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL KIDNAPPED TV ADAPTATION, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
This to my mind is probably the best film adaptation of Robert Louis Stevenson's Kidnapped.David McCallum is outstanding as Alan Breck with a strong supporting cast. Great production values and a wonderful music score. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please get this item on DVD/NTSC, 29 May 2008
By 
lady victoria "vickl1" (Lilburn, Ga. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I love this version of Kidnapped and want it to be available for viewing in the U.S. If this weren't a Region 2 DVD, I'd buy it right now. As one previous viewer said, this is the definitive version. Please make it available to us Yanks and the Smuggler and Arthur of the Britons too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kidnapped, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
John Butler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is by far the best series version of Kidnapped, David McCallum played Alan Breck to a T and he is Scottish of the five versions I have this comes tops, I highly recommend this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kidnapped dvd, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I have yet to see a better adaptation of Kidnapped and Catriona on screen.the scenery sets and costumes are excellent as is the acting and soundtrack.the picture quality is decent enough though it is a little faded in places but not to the extent that it would spoil your viewing pleasure,sadly there are no subtitles.this is the benchmark when it comes to adapting these two books by Stevenson for television that subsequent attempts have failed to come close to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a classic, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this as a kid and anxiously waiting for a week to see the next episode. It is nice to see that even today, the series has not lost its appeal. For fans of David McCallum or the work of Robert Louis Stevenson, this is a must. If you like a good aventure series with beautiful photography, good actors and a decent plot, buy this. You won't regret it. Although this series is aimed at kids, it has an appeal for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Version, 27 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great version of a classic. I happened to be fortunate to see it the only time it was shown in the US. I'd love to see it again. Please bring this to the US in a region 1 NTSC format. Its tempting to buy a region free player just to see this. I might settle for changing the region of my computer and play back on that (you are allowed five region changes on an apple), I want to see this again that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definative Version, 20 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
As like Alistair Sim in "Scrooge" David McCallum made this version his own.
I'd buy anything with David in it anyway,the wee Scot frae Kelvinside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD]
Kidnapped - The Complete Series [DVD] by David McCallum (DVD - 2008)
£12.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews