Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet FA
I had heard a lot about the real 'Fanny Hill', but had never read it and I thought that John Cleland never really made any money for his efforts but a lot of lawyers have as this has been the subject of many a trial for obscenity. But thanks to a really helpful comment I have been told that he was actually hauled in front of the Privy Council and was offered a life...
Published on 8 April 2009 by Tommy Dooley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars By Gaslight
An impressing romp. Well told and characterised. A period times fairy tale with a happy ending. Do not take seriously or look fr historical accuracy
Published 14 months ago by Fester


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet FA, 8 April 2009
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] (DVD)
I had heard a lot about the real 'Fanny Hill', but had never read it and I thought that John Cleland never really made any money for his efforts but a lot of lawyers have as this has been the subject of many a trial for obscenity. But thanks to a really helpful comment I have been told that he was actually hauled in front of the Privy Council and was offered a life pension if he never wrote again, so it actually did him a favour.It must show how far society has changed as this comes nowhere near indecent and on the 'filth' Richter scale gets about a 3.5.

That said it is stupendously made and as ever with the BBC there is a great attention to period detail. I think that may be where the overall problem is, in that the grime and filth that was typical of the period it is set in, has been airbrushed out. Compare it to 'The Libertine' The Libertine [DVD]for example, there is muck and detritus everywhere and one gets a real sense of what 'bawdy' means, this is lacking in this production which tries and succeeds to portray a classy courtesan rather than an opportunistic upwardly mobile whore. And I use the word in the period sense of being a working lady and not in the modern pejorative way.

Still it is a very pleasing way to spend an evening, and for costume drama lovers is pretty much a 'must'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasing Romp, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Angela Lovelace "Angela" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was a fairly enjoyable costume drama, but not for those who easily offended by sexual content. I read the book after seeing it, as I was curious as how the two works compared and I must admit that the adaptation gave a lot more meat to the tale than the original story.

The costumes are beautiful, and Rebecca Knight did a good job in the title role, portraying both innocence and experience as the story progressed.

Hugo Speer put in a good performance as Mr H and came off a tad creepy and posessive.

Alison Steadman was a bit of a revelation as the bawdy house proprietor, but, played the part well.

I would only suggest adding to your collection if you are a die hard costume drama fan, otherwise it is worth a watch and a rental, and at the right price a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fanny Hill, 14 Jun 2012
By 
Malcolm James Wakeman (Worcester, Worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] (DVD)
An entertaining light hearted romp through the sexual expliots of a delightful young woman, her experience from poverty and naivety to sophisication and financial security somewhat rose tinted , but its wellworth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fanny Hill, 16 May 2008
By 
Jenny "Jenny" (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] (DVD)
Fun. raunchy and enjoyable entertainment. The cast obviously had a ball playing it. Isn't that what this type of D.V.D is all about.? The scenery and costumes were a dream and so subtle. I had a very happy evening watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dirty bitch, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] (DVD)
well I first saw fanny hill back in when it was first on tv and the I thought it was well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars By Gaslight, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] (DVD)
An impressing romp. Well told and characterised. A period times fairy tale with a happy ending. Do not take seriously or look fr historical accuracy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fanny hill, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] (DVD)
have been looking for this for ages and have finally found and delivery was very prompt, and there was a wide choice to choose from as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] (DVD)
A reasonable story line, costumes were lovely, acting not too bad. A DVD suitable for a girly night in and a giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] (DVD)
A very good production, well acted, costumes lovely, yes clothes were involved at times and a good representation of a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a travesty. The script writer should be sued and made to acknowledge his theft of Cleland's title for his own invention, 14 July 2011
This review is from: Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] (DVD)
John Cleland's original has some literary merit as well as its prurient repitition of the sex act. This version owes little apart from its title to the original. Certain events and aspects are retained, like Miss Hill herself and the opening brothel and how she got there. So too is her first lover Charles and subsquent Mr H-- and her separation from him, and her eventual restoration to Charles. But, and for me it is a big 'but' there are too many inventions and new twists added. It may make a moderately interest visual but it is not Cleland. It is whoever wrote the script and he should have the honesty to call it 'Fanny Hill' by [whoever] based vaguely on John Cleland's work of the same name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD]
Fanny Hill [BBC] [DVD] by James Hawes (DVD - 2008)
4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews