Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does the job
I found this dolley to be cheap and more importantly it works. Obviously this is not a rail/track based system and you need a reasonably flat floor to use it on....but I have used it with a lightweight DSLR and it was fine. The secret is to hang some weights onto the tripod and that gives it more mass and makes movement smoother. It also makes for quick changes of set-up...
Published on 27 Feb 2011 by Plato Andy

versus
54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total waste of money
If you want to make tracking shots showing the POV of a character with a nervous disorder this is the dolly for you. This dolly rattles like mad on the smoothest surface. The plastic heads on the screw bolts that hold the tripod feet to the dolly aren't glued either, so don't screw them too tight 'cos when you try to unscrew you just take the plastic tops off...
Published on 20 July 2010 by aztecjones


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total waste of money, 20 July 2010
This review is from: Tripod Dolly for Professional Camera/Video/Lighting Very High Quality (Electronics)
If you want to make tracking shots showing the POV of a character with a nervous disorder this is the dolly for you. This dolly rattles like mad on the smoothest surface. The plastic heads on the screw bolts that hold the tripod feet to the dolly aren't glued either, so don't screw them too tight 'cos when you try to unscrew you just take the plastic tops off. Professional my arse...avoid this altogether unless you enjoy the whole 'screwed' experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The camera shakes badly even across the smoothest surfaces, 1 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripod Dolly for Professional Camera/Video/Lighting Very High Quality (Electronics)
While I give Netgadgets full marks for their quick delivery and price, I can't see that I will have any use for this product as I can't get a smooth shot while using the dolly over even the smoothest lino floors. The wheels are hard, with no give, and the whole dolly and tripod shake as soon as I begin to move them.

The dolly is easy and convenient to set up, pack away and attach to tripods of any size, but none of this is any use to me if I can't get a steady tracking shot while using it.

There's a review on here that describes the dolly working well over gravel and rough surfaces... but I found that rough surfaces only exacerbated the problem, and over gravel there just wasn't a chance. The thing barely even moved when I tried - it kept getting stuck.

Perhaps this dolly has good applications that I haven't thought of, but in terms of achieving steady tracking shots for video work it doesn't do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does the job, 27 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripod Dolly for Professional Camera/Video/Lighting Very High Quality (Electronics)
I found this dolley to be cheap and more importantly it works. Obviously this is not a rail/track based system and you need a reasonably flat floor to use it on....but I have used it with a lightweight DSLR and it was fine. The secret is to hang some weights onto the tripod and that gives it more mass and makes movement smoother. It also makes for quick changes of set-up while filming.. from one shot to another. Just don't expect it to be a high level item, for the money I'd say why not buy it and carry it in the back of the car for shoots, you will end up using it although to some extent it depends on the kind of filming you do. A final tip, use a heavy tripod not a lightweight one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 2 Aug 2010
This review is from: Tripod Dolly for Professional Camera/Video/Lighting Very High Quality (Electronics)
It's not a bad dolly but, of course it's not perfect. If you do fast movements with wide-angle, it works. But if you are looking for a smooth dolly to use with long focal distances or slow and delicate movements it's not your dolly. But, what do you expect for this money? Ah! it is better if you use it with not tall tripods: longer it is, worse. The problem: the wheels; they are not very good and this is the reason because the movements are not quite good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 16 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripod Dolly for Professional Camera/Video/Lighting Very High Quality (Electronics)
Length:: 0:16 Mins

For the price this is great value. Its very sturdy and well made. Its not as smooth as a professional bit of kit but Its very usable.
You could always put some larger casters on the bottom. Great value for the money. The video was taken as soon as I got it and on a not very smooth Parquet Floor.
the only bumps came from the castors turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars piece of junk! -1 star, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: Tripod Dolly for Professional Camera/Video/Lighting Very High Quality (Electronics)
i was hoping to get a cheap dolly solution for HD video work - FAIL! i cant believe one reviewer reckons they have used it on sand and gravel??? - even on a clean, smooth, flat wooden floor the camera shakes all over the place - i'm no engineer but it's obvious the fault is with the wheels which have uneven rubber ribs sticking out around the centre and so roll unsteadily - think about it, if you put your camera tripod on top of something that isn't steady in the first place how is it possible that the camera wouldn't shake? - did they even test this product before they considered selling it? - maybe the gravel lady was on quality control duty that day? - i was super disappointed with this product proving once again you get what you pay for and if it hadn't been for the reviews at the time, which quite honestly were misleading i would never have purchased this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great., 23 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tripod Dolly for Professional Camera/Video/Lighting Very High Quality (Electronics)
This product is a sturdy, 3 wheeled dolly that is workable with most tripods. I say most as some professional tripods can weigh a lot so this wouldn't be appropriate as a dolly system could be. The build, whilst slightly ruggedly put together, does do the job well. However, it is the 'job' that I have most gripes with.

As the wheels oscillate independently and have no way of locking on one parallel plane with the other wheels to create a controlled lateral movement, this dolly is really only appropriate for light stand manoeuvrability and some dextrous camera movement providing the floor surface permits. The wheels and frame do cause judder when there is excessive movement but as there is a locking mechanism for the wheels, it's most successful as simply a way of moving lights etc. between shots. Slow movement can be controlled but this is only minimal. The only way to create a solid track shot is to manually hold the wheels so perhaps a wheelchair would be more efficient if that's why you are buying this.

The package is good; a carry bag accompanies the foldable dolly and it fits nicely. The overall size folded is very compact and its weight is slight. The unfolded dolly is considerable so you have to think about room for it if you have more than one.

To surmise, it's a competent product. I think it's a very cheap and relatively effective purchase, too. It might not have a great look but it does do a good job for what it is. Recommended buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bumpy dolly, 25 Sep 2011
This review is from: Tripod Dolly for Professional Camera/Video/Lighting Very High Quality (Electronics)
Not that impressed with product
1. it is compact
2. easy to set up and is good with my tripod

3. however the wheels have ridges on them and makes my camera wobble slightly if wanting to pan/move taking video.
expected it to be a lot smoother.

4. I did not expect these ridges on the wheels and could not see them on the description or on advertised photos
would be interested to hear from the supplier whether this is standard or if there is a suitable smoother wheeled dolly

waiting patiently

R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Filmmakers avoid!, 8 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Tripod Dolly for Professional Camera/Video/Lighting Very High Quality (Electronics)
To give this dolly credit, for the price you pay it is a handy compact design and means that you can wheel your tripod around rather than having to carry it
HOWEVER while this may be alright for amateurs looking to shoot home movies If you are buying it to make Indie films with it is no good! This is because as many people are saying it is very shaky and unsteady going over surfaces and a big propblem I found was not only that is made shots shaky but my Microphone attached to the camera picked up all the handling noise going over rough surfaces and bumps, making the audio a nightmare!
You get what you pay for with this! beware Indie Filmmakers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Practical, great for the price!, 7 Sep 2012
This review is from: Tripod Dolly for Professional Camera/Video/Lighting Very High Quality (Electronics)
We were looking for a steady way to use tracking shots in our filming. For the price we really can't complain. It's fairly well built and compact and comes in a carry case.

For a look at it in action please check out the link below.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews