Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply A Classic Movie
I have the DVD of this the imported korean version.I bet there is a better copy out there but this is good and the sound is perfect aswell.
Made in 1940 it is still as brilliant now as it was upon its realease.Vivien Leigh in her firt role since Gone With The Wind plays Mara a young ballet dancer who meets Captain Roy Cronin (Robert Taylor)in an air raid warning on...
Published on 2 Mar 2008 by Mr. Terry D. Jarvis

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the saddest films that I have ever seen.
Watched it quite by accident one Sunday morning. Found it so sad. Although I could half guess what was going to happen, I was wishing that Robert Taylor was going to save Vivian Leigh in time. Must admit it really upset me. Was really sad for her, but also for him in that he still loved her after all that time. Think I will stop now before I get upset all over again!
Published on 3 Nov 2007 by Mr. Gary M. Stocker


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply A Classic Movie, 2 Mar 2008
By 
I have the DVD of this the imported korean version.I bet there is a better copy out there but this is good and the sound is perfect aswell.
Made in 1940 it is still as brilliant now as it was upon its realease.Vivien Leigh in her firt role since Gone With The Wind plays Mara a young ballet dancer who meets Captain Roy Cronin (Robert Taylor)in an air raid warning on Waterloo Bridge in World War 1.They fall in love instantly and agree to marry one day before he has to go back to fight in France.They dont get married as Captain Cronin is called back into action.Months go by and Mara reads that Cronin is dead in a newspaper.After loseing everything she turns prostitute though not said once in the movie you just know that she has.In a chance meeting Capain Cronin returns and finds Mara.They agree to go to live with his mother Scotland but a terrible thing happens (i wont spoil it for the people who havent seen it yet.
Idont think this film has even seen the day of light since its realese nominated for 2 Academy Awards.It has a massvie following in China but has never got a dvd realease in uk or america there is a very rare and hard to get old of copy by a russian company.Overal this is one of my fav movies of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great romantic tragedies, 1 Oct 2003
By 
C. Burin "Chris Burin" (Brussels) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo Bridge [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have never understood why this film is so rarely acclaimed; it's a powerful tearjerker and the acting from Leigh and Taylor is brilliantly understated, with Leigh turning in a performance quite the contrary of her overblown, though equally superb, Scarlett O'Hara the previous year. The theme of Leigh as a prostitute is toned down from the book, though it is insinuated, but this is not to the detriment of the film, as it fits in with the understated performances. I would place this amongst the 10 greatest movies ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad story,true love & the sweetest smile, Brilliant......, 1 Jan 2008
By 
David M. Grant (lONDON .ENGLAND.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well you may not have heard of this film, but you will certainly know of Vivien Leigh, from (Gone with the wind).Set during the 2nd world war in London, a brief chance meeting with Robert Taylor son of very wealthy parents who have a home and land not similar to the Queen Anyway its Love at first sight, a proposal of marrage....Vivien L is a Dancer (Ballet that is)..........She is Sacked due to meetings with the love of her life, she falls on some very hard times with her best girlfriend also a Ballet dancer...They get into something unacceptable in those days. Vivien reads the paper while Robert Taylor is away she thinks he is dead killed in action. Her entire world falls apart she's in a complete daze. much Later he returns from the wars. he then explains it was an error. Do you think its plain sailing from here on...No Way. Vivien meets R.T parents Riddled with guilt and concience that drives her crazy, that only a person with honour and integrity would relate to...Not many people these days have real respect for each other, times have changed....But the ending WOW....BUY THIS....DVD...its brilliant...Also buy her other film ANNA KARENNINA...SHE WAS SO BEAUTIFUL...AND THE SWEETEST SMILE..David Grant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WATERLOO BRIDGE 1940 FILM - WITH INCREDIBLE CHEMISTRY BETWEEN VIVIEN LEIGH AND ROBERT TAYLOR., 11 Nov 2006
By 
Andrea Bowhill (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Waterloo Bridge [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Waterloo Bridge (Made 1940) is set during World War I, it stars Vivien Leigh as Myra, who's profession at that time was a young ballerina in London, while looking for cover from another air raid she meets a soldier Roy Cronin (Robert Taylor) who's very carefree but also a romantic and is simply swept away by Myra's beauty. He sets about sweeping Myra off her feet gradually she realizes she in love for the first time ever. Myra is thrown out of her ballet company after it was discovered she was out after curfew, Roy then hears news he is soon to be called to the front line, wishing to be together Roy wastes no time in asking his uncle the Duke (C. Aubrey Smith) for her hand in marriage, unfortunately because of red tape during that time they are unable to wed. Roy goes to war but at a later date news reports back of his death, Myra is left in despair.

Myra attempts to ask for her old job back as a ballet dancer but is point blank refused to add to problems her friend Kitty (Virginia Field) is also fired for her outburst in support. Together they are left to make ends meet, Kitty finds work and helps Myra out at first but then Myra discovers Kitty is selling herself to pay the bills. Out of work, Myra eventually turns to the oldest profession to help out. By a haunted twist of fate the reports of Roy death were false he returns to Myra who sharply sets about to hide her past, but for how long can her secret remain hidden.

Directed by Mervyn LeRoy based on a play by Robert E. Sherwood screen play callaboration by S.N.Behrman, Hans Rameau and George Froeschel. The photography work on this film is beautifully done by Joseph Ruttenberg. It's also equalled with an incredible musical score created by Herbert Stothart (The Wizard of OZ is amongst his more famous film scores). This Film was nominated for its Black and White Cinematography and Original Musical Score. The cast line up is exceptional, Vivien Leigh, Robert Taylor, Lucile Watson, Virginia Field, Maria Ouspenskaya, C.Aubrey Smith and Janet Shaw. Outstanding performances by Vivien Leigh and Robert Taylor for their realism in this Melodrama, laced with love, suspense, deception and prostitution, back dropped against WWI & II, and a hanky is needed at the ready for the ending. This is reported to be both Taylor's and Leigh's favourite film, and from Leigh's wonderful collection this is certainly mine. It's defiantly not to be missed.

A quick note to the studio, please, please, please can you release this wonderful old film to DVD on a grand scale, please could you clean it up so the photography simply shines through for a sharper picture. Discs for this film are hard to come by and currently at an expensive cost for poor quality. Please realize this film should not be overlooked, let's bring it up to date for many waiting fans to enjoy, make it possible for all.

A.Bowhill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply A Classic Movie, 2 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Waterloo Bridge:Korean All Region Import[ntsc]Vivien Leigh~Robert Taylor~Directed By Mervyn LeRoy.... (DVD)
I have the DVD of this the imported korean version.I bet there is a better copy out there but this is good and the sound is perfect aswell.
Made in 1940 it is still as brilliant now as it was upon its realease.Vivien Leigh in her firt role since Gone With The Wind plays Mara a young ballet dancer who meets Captain Roy Cronin (Robert Taylor)in an air raid warning on Waterloo Bridge in World War 1.They fall in love instantly and agree to marry one day before he has to go back to fight in France.They dont get married as Captain Cronin is called back into action.Months go by and Mara reads that Cronin is dead in a newspaper.After loseing everything she turns prostitute though not said once in the movie you just know that she has.In a chance meeting Capain Cronin returns and finds Mara.They agree to go to live with his mother Scotland but a terrible thing happens (i wont spoil it for the people who havent seen it yet.
Idont think this film has even seen the day of light since its realese nominated for 2 Academy Awards.It has a massvie following in China but has never got a dvd realease in uk or america there is a very rare and hard to get old of copy by a russian company.Overal this is one of my fav movies of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie Entertainment, 9 Nov 2006
By 
M. D. Ainsworth "ClaretandBlue" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo Bridge [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have to agree with all the other comments regarding this superb movie.

One of the movies made in the forties which was ahead of its time. It would be interesting to see if this movie was ever re-made! Who would play the lead roles? Not sure if there is anyone around these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive, Very Moving Wartime Drama...., 19 Oct 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo Bridge:Korean All Region Import[ntsc]Vivien Leigh~Robert Taylor~Directed By Mervyn LeRoy.... (DVD)
My docked star from the perfect five that this wonderful weepie must surely get, is purely down to the Korean release's transfer. It's got good contrast with nice deep blacks and that lovely luminosity of the 'silver screen', but it's soft, I can see the individual horizontal lines that make up the TV picture and it judders during the smallest amount of action.

Speaking of action, there is little, but there's lots of Swan Lake as Vivien Leigh, our gorgeous brunette is a young ballerina. She meets the suave and handsome British officer Robert Taylor, on the titular bridge in London at the onset of an air raid warning during WW1. After a whirl-wind romance and engagement, done as only Hollywood can (fairytale), her fiance is suddenly sent back out to the Front. She later hears that he has been killed in action and the film follows her as her pining and financial situation drags her to the depths of desperation. The movie often laments to the haunting strains of Auld Lang Syne, with the moonlit mists of London at night, or the rain. Shooting also includes the lovely period location of Bath.

Despite being single bloke in his twenties when I first saw this on TV, whose love of romantic films usually extendrd to hating them with a vengeance, this unashamedly sentimental old movie had me moved so much that its memory lingered on for another 20 years, until recently, when I looked online to get myself a copy to keep - and play whenever I wanted.

The very lack of a 'proper' release is frankly unjust and stupid! OK, it's not Gone With the Wind, but that gets re-released in ever more expensive formats, milking it to death, we have to settle (or not) for this frankly rubbish affair. I think at the price it is on Amazon, at the time of writing (ie more than an 'official' release might be) makes it very poor value.

I'd so dearly love to say find a different copy somewhere else, but when there is no choice, it becomes impossible. Shop around, as always, is all I can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Romance, 26 July 2010
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
What a terrific movie this is and the quality of the print used for the DVD transfer is tremendous. The performances are all superb, the set design and photography outstanding and as for the score - it brings just the right hint of emotion to this tragic tale. Leigh and Taylor are impressive too despite the negative reviews and I defy you not to shed a tear at the truly moving ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rare gem, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Bridge:Korean All Region Import[ntsc]Vivien Leigh~Robert Taylor~Directed By Mervyn LeRoy.... (DVD)
Waterloo Bridge is one of those films that is rarely given an outing on TV and seems to be virtually unknown to many people, even those who are fans of the lead actors. It is one of my favourite films of all time and one that any Vivien Leigh fan should consider watching.

The main plot begins with a chance meeting when a lucky charm is dropped during an air raid on London. Just enough information is shared to ensure a ballerina and an army officer can see each other again. Casting is spot on; Vivien Leigh (playing the ballerina Myra Lester) at her most delightful and beautiful alongside Robert Taylor (the officer, Roy Cronin) at his most handsome.

Korean sub-titles are automatically displayed but can be switched off by accessing 'subtitles' from the menu before watching and toggling to 'none' - this has to be done each time the DVD is switched on as it automatically defaults back to showing them again. English sub-titles are also available via the same menu.

This DVD is not fantastic quality (ghost images and a lot of noise generally in the picture) but it is acceptable and definitely worth watching, particularly if you have never seen the film before. Hopefully one day a re-mastered version will be released; in the meantime the picture quality is such that the DVD has to be reluctantly rated four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best melodrama ever, 16 Jan 2012
By 
MR PIERRE ALBERTINI (Paris (France), France) - See all my reviews
Waterloo Bridge is the best melodrama ever. Vivien Leigh and Robert Taylor are at their best (I understand why it was both of them's favourite film). The scene where he proposes (under heavy rain) is beyond words. And the music (Auld Lang Syne) is pure magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews