Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply A Great Wii Game
On the surface Boom Blox looks very simple; simple concept (throw balls and blow stuff up) & simple graphics. First appearances can be deceptive however, and this is the case with Boom Blox.

For a start whilst basic concept is very simple (and therefore also very accessible) the game designers (inc. Mr S. Spielberg) have done a huge amount with it. From...
Published on 6 Jun. 2008 by C. Green

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game engine, mixed quality of levels.
The game engine for this is outstanding - watching the way large towers of blocks collapse etc. when you remove a vital support is hypnotic and astonishingly realistic for the Wii.

The gameplay is divided into different sections - the single player adventure mode (with a plot of sorts and cute cut-scenes between levels) is short, and has some very good levels,...
Published on 25 May 2008 by NP


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply A Great Wii Game, 6 Jun. 2008
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boom Blox (Wii) (Video Game)
On the surface Boom Blox looks very simple; simple concept (throw balls and blow stuff up) & simple graphics. First appearances can be deceptive however, and this is the case with Boom Blox.

For a start whilst basic concept is very simple (and therefore also very accessible) the game designers (inc. Mr S. Spielberg) have done a huge amount with it. From one-player levels that can prove very challenging to multi-player competitions that play like an amped up version of Jenga, there is a huge breadth of varied gameplay available. Its also challenging and addictive enough to keep you entertained for hours. Its the sort of game where you and a friend decide to play one quick round and two hours later you're still there, trying to beat one another.

Whilst the graphics are 'simple' in the sense that they are unfussy, they do precisely what is required by the game. More importantly however, a huge amount of effort has been put into the gameplay itself. When you strike 'blox' they react and interact in an incredibly realistic way. Factors such as angle of throw, power, gravity and deflections are all taken into account. The physics feel real. Its not simply a case of throw ball and blow stuff up. Players have to think about things such as how different blocks will interact with each other when struck, where they will bounce to, and what opportunities they are leaving for their competitors to take advantage of. All this makes for an experience that requires a surprising amount of thouught and skill.

Boom Blox also makes the maximum advantage out of the Wii's unique interface. It is obvious that the game has been designed specifically for the Wii. Balls are thrown with flicks of the Wii remote, with the speed of motion being translated into the power of the throw on screen. Apart from that physical motion only two controller buttons are required, one to set a target point and one to change the angle players are viewing the blocks from. You can even pick up blocks using the remote and move them around Its simple, intuitive and immersive. It also takes about ten seconds to master and can be picked up by hard-core gamers and non-gamers alike.

All this makes Boom Blox a great Wii game that is suitable for and accessible to all. I've only unlocked a small proportion of the game's scope in the couple of days I've been playing it, but I can already tell that despite its outward simplicity it is a game that I will be returning to again and again in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boom, and sometimes bust, 22 July 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boom Blox (Wii) (Video Game)
Are we to assume from this game that when Stephen Spielberg wants to relax after a hard day's shooting, he likes to go back to his Hollywood palace and indulge himself in his purpose-built Jenga / Coconut Shy suite? 'Cos that's what this game is all about, and it's pretty good too.

The games are all about breaking down towers of blocks, some of which resemble Jenga towers, while others are made of different-shaped blocks which tumble down in a mousetrap-style manner when you set off the chain reaction: the smashed block releases the teeter-totter which throws the bomb in the air, which you smash to blow up the block above, which releases the gems... that sort of thing.

The best bits of the game involve aiming your crosshair using the remote as a pointer, then lobbing a virtual ball by flinging the remote towards the screen. No, DON'T let go of it, silly! This is a good example of gesture controls on the Wii remote, since the force of fling determines very accurately whether you gently lob the ball, or fast-bowl it like a particularly destructive cricketer. Watching the blocks tumble down is very satisfying and impressive, and the simplicity of the graphics is adequately compensated-for by the accuracy of the physics.

Sadly, not all levels involve throwing the ball. There are Jenga-like sections where you have to remove blocks by 'grabbing' them (click-and-drag with the remote). This is less satisfying since there is no option to 'flick' the blocks, as you would in a real Jenga game, to determine how much weight is on them, so what might look like a non-supporting block might turn out to be the keystone. There is not always enough visual detail of how deep the block goes into the stack to figure out, by sight, which block you should pull. Consequently, these parts of the game can feel frustratingly hit-and-miss. Also, while the blocks have a weighty feel to them in the ball-chucking levels, they bounce and swing around like cubes of polystyrene souflé on the block-grab levels, so it's hard to be delicate. Other levels have you shooting the blocks with lasers or squirting water at them. These levels are, to say the very least, uninspiring. In the case of the laser gun, the controls feel broken since the sight freezes while you're shooting. It might be intentional, to make sure you think about what you're zapping and not just holding in the A button and strafing across the screen, but it doesn't feel right.

Boom Blox is a true original and another one of those games that could only work on the Wii. It comes close to Wii Sports in its clever use of gesture controls. Sadly, it's also a bit inconsistent. I reckon they'll have it cracked by the time they do the sequel, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game engine, mixed quality of levels., 25 May 2008
By 
NP (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox (Wii) (Video Game)
The game engine for this is outstanding - watching the way large towers of blocks collapse etc. when you remove a vital support is hypnotic and astonishingly realistic for the Wii.

The gameplay is divided into different sections - the single player adventure mode (with a plot of sorts and cute cut-scenes between levels) is short, and has some very good levels, and some extremely boring ones that you won't want to go back and replay.

There are also explore levels (standalone puzzles) some of which are good fun and have a lot of replay value.

There are multiplayer (sadly not online) levels for 2-4 players, which are mostly excellent - probably the most enjoyable levels to play and the ones with the most replayability - I suspect a lot of people won't be replaying the adventure mode much, or some of the explore levels - but will be spending most of their time on just these mupliplayer levels.

And you can design your own levels and swap them via friend codes - which has the potential to be lots of fun - the level editor is very easy to use.

What pre-made content there is here is very mixed, some of the single player levels (especially a lot of the last quarter of the adventure mode) are frankly rubbish, but there are some great levels especially for multiplayer, and the game engine is superb, combine that with the abilty to make your own levels and it could be a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg does games!, 13 May 2008
By 
oldstuff (Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox (Wii) (Video Game)
This is the much-vaunted entry into the videogames market by movie demi-God Steven Spielberg who has teamed up with EA for this Wii exclusive game. The game is fairly similar in style to Jenga but has a few things which make it stand out. They are a top-notch use of the Wii-mote which recognises the power of your swing to realise the same power in the game and a superb physics engine where the blocks do bounce, topple and explode in the way you would expect. There are a couple of gripes such as pretty average graphics but the game itself is sound and it's a great multi-player experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding puzzle game, 27 May 2008
By 
S. Lamb "steve lamb" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox (Wii) (Video Game)
To be honest at first i was unsure if i wanted to get his game.. However having picked it up and now had a few goes at it... I find that it is one of the best puzzle games going on the Wii...
it taxes the old grey matter and give you loads of enless fun.
I have to agree that it is a little over priced but on the up side it is packed with loads of fantastic levels and challanges.... The Co-Op party options is great fun and extremely tough on some of the later levels..

I would recommend this to all and everyone... it will keep up going for hours and hours..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game but too expensive, 17 May 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox (Wii) (Video Game)
This is an excellent puzzler, with tons and tons of different levels and modes. Some of them don't work so well for me. the laser shooting is a bit boring and the only mode where the controls are a bit haphazard. The multi-player is excellent fun whilst the "create" mode I find a bit finicky but the kids love it.
One complaint though is that I think this title is a bit overpriced for a puzzler although there is loads to do in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very fun and very big game. An instant classic., 22 April 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox (Wii) (Video Game)
Like the title says, this game is lots of fun and has so many different play options that I don't think I could ever get bored with it.

Single player is massive and gets increasingly harder with progression. There is a tutorial to start things off, then four massive worlds to play through, and then some unlockable really hard levels. With bronze, silver and gold medals to achieve on each level, and no set way of winning, there is a lot of reply value.

Multiplayer has so many options that I just get confused! I can't go into detail here, but multiplayer options are all encompassing and you can have competitive games with friends and family of all age groups. For up to four players as well.

The game also has a level editor for those who have the creativity and time to invest in it.

I've really enjoyed this game with my wife working together taking turns in single player.

The game is a charm to look at, maybe a bit too cutesy, but essentially the game is about bashing down blocks, so the characters and backgrounds often go unnoticed. Actually, being able to send the little sheep people flying by throwing a bowling bawl at them is hilarious, sorry.

The graphics are good and the physics are spot on. A level could never be replayed the same as the physics act realistically.

Boom Blox 2 is coming out soon and I think that would be even better. I remember someone who worked on Boom Blox saying that for the first game they concentrated on getting the physics and game play perfect and left graphics and presentation quite basic, but with the sequal, big improvements are being made to level design and presentation. To be honest, the first game has good presentation, graphics and attention to detail, so I look forward to the sequel.

Overall, if you own a Wii, you should own this too. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars boom blox, 31 July 2008
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox (Wii) (Video Game)
I am 9 years old. my nan bought me this game.
This game is full of bombs bowling balls and balls and you can create your own levels and play and pause your levels and send them to your friends this is one of my favourite games it is hard though but very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a cracking game!, 26 Dec. 2008
By 
C. Juggins (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox (Wii) (Video Game)
If you are a competitive family, then this game is for you! My husband and I are now full of aches after almost throwing ourselves at the television, trying to beat each other and the children! This was the cheapest game we bought for Christmas and is most definitely the one that has brought the biggest squeals of delight.

I encourage all families to buy this game. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect example of Wii gameplay!, 20 Jan. 2009
By 
Road Apple "who brings the mustard?" (Mean Gene's Bar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Boom Blox (Wii) (Video Game)
Probably the most fun I've had with my Nintendo Wii since Wii Sports, simply put a great little game that deserves far more attention.

The genius of the Wii has been to create games that for the first time in this generation can appeal to such a wide demographic, and this is a perfect example. Easy to pick up and tough enough to keep you interested the physics based gameplay fits the Wii remote like a glove. Think Tetris but cuter and with a throwing action. Sorry that doesn't help describe the gameplay very well, but it's basically a mix of knocking down towers, manipulating blocks, shooting targets and more than a little Jenga.

This is one of a very few games that I will never sell, it's one to come back to time and time again (I can't wait until my little boy is old enough play too).

Fantastic fun!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boom Blox (Wii)
Boom Blox (Wii) by Electronic Arts (Nintendo Wii)
£30.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews