Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PSP Game: Liberty City Stories
I got this game because I wanted a 3-Dimensional Grand Theft Auto game for the Sony PSP. Due to the fact that the recent Chinatown Wars (PSP) plays from a "top-down" viewpoint, it seemed to be a retrograde step compared to Liberty City Stories, hence my purchase to see the full flavour of Grand Theft Auto on the PSP.
This game makes full use of the PSP's hardware...
Published on 7 Jun. 2010 by D. Dawson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very good quality. it arrived on time
very good quality. it arrived on time. no problems. great value for money! highly recommend it.
but I have never seen it and I really don't rember buying it! lol! I think my ex was using my account without me knowing. oh dear, which is why hes now my EX!
Published 8 days ago by Miss Troke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PSP Game: Liberty City Stories, 7 Jun. 2010
By 
D. Dawson "daniel" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP) (Video Game)
I got this game because I wanted a 3-Dimensional Grand Theft Auto game for the Sony PSP. Due to the fact that the recent Chinatown Wars (PSP) plays from a "top-down" viewpoint, it seemed to be a retrograde step compared to Liberty City Stories, hence my purchase to see the full flavour of Grand Theft Auto on the PSP.
This game makes full use of the PSP's hardware and is excellent, both visibly and audibly. There is plenty to do in this open world of New York (side missions etc.) and as such I have not come anywhere near to completing the game yet. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the world of organised crime, there's always something to do, 31 Jan. 2011
By 
P. Smith "Tosk" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP) (Video Game)
I've done loads of missions in this game, and I'm only 10% of the way through it!

Such is the depth and scope of the game. Its always got something to do. There are always between three and four "bosses" to give you jobs to do. From gangster bosses, to their wives, old friends, and even your mother, have jobs they want you to complete. Everything from taking the Don's wife shopping to blowing up large buildings belonging to rival gangs.

A lot of the missions have conditions or time limits imposed to make the action fast and intense. But the missions are never overly hard. The balance is just right that although a mission may get you stuck on it from time to time, you can always overcome it with a little work.

And if you do get stuck, and you don't fancy picking a mission from another boss, you can always spend some downtime taking work as a cabbie, doing street bike racing, or just going on a homicidal rampage.

The storylines, such as they are, wont win any awards. There's no real storyline or character development as such, the cutscenes are more there to keep the humor going and give some kind of plausible reason to why you're doing what you're doing.

IMPORTANT POINT: There are many adult themes, lots of effing and blinding, drug and sexual reference and large wodges of violence. This game well deserves its 18 rating. Do not buy if you are under 18. And parents, if your son or daughter is under 18 and asks you to buy this game for them then they're trying to slip one past you! Do not buy it for them!

That having been said there are plenty of weapons to buy and plenty of outfits to unlock. I always play a game until I complete it or I become bored of it. And by the looks of this game it will be a long while until I start on the next game in my list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's impossible to miss this GTA franchise, 7 April 2010
By 
M. Alcantara (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP) (Video Game)
I've bought this game to play when traveling by plane (and I do it a lot). It's that kind of game that really entertains you (and the passenger sitting at your side) for a good amount of hours. It has a great script, where you're part of a Mafia family. Beside the missions you should accomplish, you just can be yourself and start driving around, being a taxi driver, stealing any kind of vehicle, hitting (or even killing) people - if you really want to. In fact you can do whatever you like, and the non-limited scenario provides you an excellent gameplay, graphics and sound, where everything is almost possible! I really recommend it, specially for the Platinum version, that even if it is not the latest GTA, you'll find a great value for money. I've also bought Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (PSP) and Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (PSP), which is completing my GTA experience for PSP. Each one has different plots, graphics and characters, so you'll never get bored owning all. If you enjoy a mix of driving, free walking and mission based with a bit of crime, this GTA: Liberty City Stories will fill your desires!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grand theft auto, 5 Jun. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP) (Video Game)
This product was bought as a present for for my 2 grandsons, whilst I have not seen the game, I can vouch for it, as every time I see my grand children the are both playing it,or fighting over it! Should have bought 2 copies!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Cities Come In Small UMDs, 7 Jan. 2011
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP) (Video Game)
GTA: LCS was released on the PSP (PlayStation Portable) in 2005 by Rockstar Games. Set in the New York-influenced Liberty City it's a prequel to Grand Theft Auto 3 which was released on the PS2 in 2001. It's 1998 and Toni Cipriani, an Italian-American tough guy who you did a few missions for in GTA3, has just returned to Liberty City after spending a few years away due to some complicated issues. Liberty City is in turmoil and several gangs are at war, vying to be THE number one gang in "The Worst Place In America." Toni and his boss, Salvatore Leone, must fight, scratch and claw their way to the very top.

This being a PSP game LCS was always gonna have its work cut out in the graphics department (PSP's graphical powers are weaker than PS2's). Fortunately Rockstar did a very good job cramming as much graphical detail as possible onto the little screen. You can make out the text on shop signs; smaller objects such as lamps and chairs in buildings can be seen perfectly; and the characters' mouth movements match up with the dialogue pretty well. The graphics do have some down points. Sometimes walls of buildings will develop detail after initially showing up blurry; and they stutter occasionally, but only occasionally.

The control layout is excellent given the PSP only has two shoulder buttons and one analogue stick. You can move your character by moving the analogue stick around, and when you hold down the L shoulder button the analogue stick controls the camera, allowing you to see the world around Toni. Left and Right on the D-pad switches your weapons whilst on foot, and switches radio stations whilst in a vehicle. These and other controls, such as running (hold down X) and getting in vehicles (triangle), will be picked up very quickly, allowing you to enjoy the experience quicker.

As usual with GTA games there are several radio stations to listen to, ranging from the dance beat tunes on Rise FM to the old-fashioned classical music on Double Cleff FM. The radio has always been a good part of GTA. Sometimes catchy, sometimes amusing, all the time entertaining; and in LCS you're bound to find your favourite station. Mine? Rise FM. Nothing beats some good old 90's dance tunes.

The best thing about GTA games is that the missions never get repetitive, and LCS is no exception. Every mission you undertake you're doing something different. One minute you're taking a car to the junkyard to get crushed, the next you're down at the dockyard shooting workers on strike. But if for any reason you're not enjoying the main missions you can always take a break and try your hand at some of the non-essential but very entertaining side missions. There's taxi driving, street races, hidden packages to find, and loads more.

Any flaws? Well I've already mentioned the slightly-rough-around-the-edges graphics. But there's also the cast of supporting characters, like J.D O'Toole and Vincenzo Cilli. They're OK, but in my opinion they lack the same charisma as the other supporting characters in the other GTA games. There's also the little annoyances of being unable to swim, and the lack of helicopters to fly around the city.

As for multiplayer fans, you can flick the WLAN switch on and invite some friends to play some muliplayer games, including Deathmatch and Checkpoint Race. But in my opinion this game is better suited to solo players; especially those who like to lie in bed and play on their PSP half an hour before lights out.

All in all Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories is an amazing achievement on a handheld console. It lacks the polish of other GTA games, but it's still up there with the best PSP games ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return to Liberty City, 16 Nov. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP) (Video Game)
The original GTA 3 was a good game set in the fictional town called Liberty City. It was a vast improvement from the two titles before it, however it was flawed. Fast forward 4 years and we return to Liberty City as Toni, a mafia guy who has come back from hiding after killing a Made Man. Liberty City Stories is set 3 years before the first instalment and things are different. There are rival mafia families fighting it out on the streets, motorbikes and different cars drive on the road. Buildings stand proud, which in the future will become a mound of rubble. The character Toni speaks, the people he interacts with are all part of a big family. Of course you still can't swim, or fly planes, or enter lots of buildings or blow places up, but tell me if you know of another game where you can become a Trash Man or Bike Salesman? The camera and aiming systems are slightly difficult to get use too, but the games minor faults are ignored when you consider the vastness of Liberty City Stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOULD RECOMMEND, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP) (Video Game)
WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT A VERY GOOD SHOOTER AND FIGHTING GAME ALSO HAVE VERY GOOD POLICE CHASES WOULD RECOMMEND THIS GAME FOR ALL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP) (Video Game)
my son is delighted with this game,came on time as expected ,very good value for money,i always order my games from you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP) (Video Game)
i love it! excellent game goood story mesmirisng free roam, jack a car, call for a taxi i just love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grand Theft Auto on the go, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP) (Video Game)
My son loves this game, he can play 'Grand Theft Auto' anywhere. The graphics are good, the gameplay flows well. It also means he doesn't have to give up gaming when we are travelling to his grandmothers, he can happily play games while we listen to grandma...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories - Platinum Edition (PSP)
£10.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews