Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And finally- hopefully just part one
When this was due for release earlier in 2008 it was going to cost a stonking 75 quid and contain something like 8 discs. This has now dropped in price and slimmed to 3 disks. We are presented with a selection from the 50 programmes Mr Meades made between 1989-2007 (that's 4 prime ministers worth!) A well mannered surrealist, who gets more confident and inventive as time...
Published on 29 Jun 2008 by Julie Cutler

versus
24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please Can We Have All The Shows?
Obviously this is only a small selection of all the available material. Can we have the lot please? God knows we've waited long enough and now all we have is these 3 DVDs. Also: the DVD description is rather ambivalent isn't it? The reviewer says the programmes "are biased and indifferent to 'balance'." Perhaps it's not that they're indifferent - perhaps it's that...
Published on 29 Nov 2008 by J. Butcher


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And finally- hopefully just part one, 29 Jun 2008
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] (DVD)
When this was due for release earlier in 2008 it was going to cost a stonking 75 quid and contain something like 8 discs. This has now dropped in price and slimmed to 3 disks. We are presented with a selection from the 50 programmes Mr Meades made between 1989-2007 (that's 4 prime ministers worth!) A well mannered surrealist, who gets more confident and inventive as time goes on. He "peels off the drab grey overcoat of preconception, to reveal the lime green posing pouch of reality beneath," as, in his words, his waistline expands and shrinks.

Extras (apart from subtitles) include a helpful introduction by Mr Meades and a rather scary interview with Dominic Lawson where he goes completely to pieces and ums and ahs all the way through.

Abroad In Britain : Severn Heaven
The Black Country playground of the Severn Estuary contains 700 "structures" of bodged together housing, (a more ambitious version of the allotment shed) delightful in their eccentric construction and now sadly viewed as eyesores.

Abroad In Britain : In Search of Bohemia
There are four places in Britain called "Bohemia"- why did people view this area of Czechoslovakia as a way to typecast an alternative racy sub culture.

Further Abroad : Get High
Jonathan unwisely tries to get over his fear of heights by making a documentary. It doesn't quite work out for him. His blow up body double has to perform some of the stunts.

Further Abroad : Belgium
My favourite. Was Magritte not a surrealist, but an accurate portrayer of Belgium life- only you and the man in the penguin costume can decide. The fantastically diverse Brussels suburbs are featured where every terrace house is different (due to lawyer-happy architects).

Even Further Abroad : Remember The Future
So much for the white heat of the technological revolution! Jonathan looks at the unashamed "futuristic" radio masts, power stations and cold war listening devices of the 50s and 60s.

Even Further Abroad : Absentee Landlord
Church architecture from Gothic to present day. Featuring a choir boy singing "Bat out of Hell".

Even Further Abroad : Double Dutch
The influence of Dutch culture on Norfolk- vast expanses of drained agribusiness fields and gables. Although there are also similarities with Alabama.

Meades Eats... Fast Food
We owe our national obsession with fried food to Sephardic Jews (Fish and chips first appeared in the mid 19th century). Fast food is all about appearance and deception. The vegetarian in me laughed as he constructed a sausage- first take your condom.....

Abroad Again: Father To The Man
Jonathan explains how the influence of his father formed his obsession with architecture.

Magnetic North - 1+2
Bored with banal phrases such as "the Venice of the North", Jonathan seeks to reaffirm the rights of the North of Europe to be considered as an architectural and cultural gem. We explore the still telling influence of the mediaeval Hanseatic League cities. A very impressive essay with lots of shots of spirit and herring.

I was very impressed by the whole collection and frankly I'm baying at the moon for some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please supply!, 6 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. Dc Fowler "fowlerd17" (Portsmouth UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Whether you agree or not with Jonathan Meades his ideas are nearly always perceptive, stimulating and sometimes downright mischievously provocative. He relishes the use of language and uses it as a scalpel to dissect and expose. His approach - thank gods - is diametrically opposite to the majority of presenters and makers of Polyfilla television, and I apologise to the makers of Polyfilla, a fine product I might add, for the simile used here. We have brains but it would seem that the nation generally has tired of using them. Please make this and other Jonathan Meades DVDs available. We desperately need this sort of quality if our evolution from human to gibbon is to be avoided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meades must..., 5 Oct 2009
By 
John Ferngrove (Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] (DVD)
... be released in full. This tantalising subset of his output that the BBC has deigned to release is scarcely adequate as an aperitif. For those yet to encounter him Meades is an architectural populariser, morbid wit, trenchant humanist, but above all the most penetratingly insightful of social commentators in present day broadcasting. Meades and his team are the most innovative, which is to say downright eccentric, purveyors of that rarest of cultural commodities, intelligent telly. Yes, there are some fine episodes in this package, the roots-affirming Bohemia, the sublime Belgium, the somewhat provocative Get High, and two completely revelatory pieces of Magnetic North. But where is Jerry Building? And Joe Building? Not to mention the supremely surreal Surrealism? We live today in a culture whose defining characteristic is its capacity for the billion-fold replication of the banal. Yet, when something is finally made worth seeing or hearing more than once, why should that thing get its single, erratically scheduled, squirt into the Aether, only then to be buried in the deepest archives where no light shall ever penetrate? Is it because the commissars of culture are wary of fomenting the expectations of the brain-owning public to such dangerous levels that it should come to presume this kind of quality for the norm? Come on Beeb, this just isn't good enough. For those who enjoy Meades at all, there can be no such thing as a `best of' for something there can never be enough of. You cannot release a portion of the whole without incurring real disappointment for what has been omitted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give us more Meadesy, 18 May 2009
This review is from: The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] (DVD)
One of the blurb reviews describes Jonathan Meades as a "surrealist" and a "dadaist", which might suggest that his documentaries are unstructured, self-indulgent ramblings that place style over content. What's so great about these programmes, though, is how genuinely informative they are. I now know that there are weird, illegal makeshift "villages" along the River Severn, that Belgium has marvellous suburbs, and where the word "Scouse" came from.

The touches of oddness (Meades wearing an Andy Warhol wig, people in pig costumes frolicking in the background, etc.) add fun to counterbalance the highbrow seriousness of Meades' narration - although his deadpan delivery is decidedly tongue-in-cheek, and his quirky but well-reasoned opinions are presented not so as to persuade but rather so as to provoke into thought.

The subjects are mostly obscure: place is a theme than crops up repeatedly, as do food, architecture and history. Meades' narration is verbally baroque and unashamedly highbrow, a real antidote to the patronising oversimplification that is the scourge of "serious" modern TV scheduling.

The only disappointment is the miserliness of the selection. Meades has produced around 50 documentaries at the time of writing, of which a mere 11 are included here. I hope this collection sells well enough to persuade the BBC to release more of them on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Jonathan Meades, 8 Nov 2009
By 
S. A. Bain (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Eclectic and eccentric. Indescribable. Jonathan Meades does not patronise; he assumes intelligence, wit and perception from his audience. Even if you do not share his views on every subject he beguiles and persuades. You don't have to be serious to make a serious point and in a 30 minute film like "the future", included in this collection, Meades entertains, challenges and educates. If you have come across his work before you will either love it or just not get it. If you have not seen anything by him before, take a chance. The worst that can happen is that you'll learn something: which does not happen very often watching TV in the 21st century. Finally, it is worth stating that it is the kind of work produced by Meades that makes the BBC great. No other broadcaster would commission this stuff. Get it while you still can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We want more, we want more, 31 Jan 2011
By 
Ph Nijman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Jonathan Meade is capable of keeping you spellbound during the whole show. No time to go get coffee, if you miss a sentence, you have to start all over again. He delivers his point with a florish, looks at all the angles and leaves you dazzled.
A pity that the box is a collection, I want to see all the episodes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shoddy but wholly necessary purchase., 22 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It's been so gratifying to read the overwhelmingly positive responses here, but as someone who bows to no one in his admiration of Jonathan's work, I can't help feeling short-changed. Surely a preferable stratagem, would have been to release the various individual series? That said, there is more invention, wit, irreverence, provocation, erudition and unapologetic intelligence on display in a single programme here, than many will manage in a career of broadcasting! With regard to what's missing, I was particularly saddened by the absence of Jonathan's hilarious, perceptive and celebratory analysis of Birmingham (Heart ByPass - 1998); not to mention his magisterially bawdy treatment of Brighton (2005). What is here, however, constitutes serious pabulum for the culturally undernourished. For instance, Jonathan's treatment of the topography and culture of Belgium, is a must; so too are his paean to the Fens, two hour-long essays on northern Europe (including an impassioned meditation on totalitarianism's glib misanthropy), and a highly polemical look at the fast food industry that uses the talents of Christopher Biggins to full effect! Above all, though, there is the extraordinary televisual autobiography, Father to the Man, which, unexpectedly, turns out to be wrenchingly poignant. The latter is worth the price of entry alone.

Just buy it. Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 21 April 2009
By 
E. Hargrave - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Meades often comes under criticism for being too high-brow or perhaps snobby. His programmes are born out of a great love for our cultural heritage and that definitely comes across in one of the DVD features, "Severn Heaven", a defense of self-built working class homes near Birmingham. He finds the beauty in the uncoventional and the ugliness in the established "high culture".

I can't help but feel that most televison is the cullinary equivalant of fast-food, and there is nothing wrong with that, in moderation. But the programmes made by Meades are simply some of the best ever made for the BBC. In culinary terms he is 3-star michellin restaurant and that has got to be a wonderful change to our usual TV dinner.

Please BBC, release onto DVD more of Meades's films and commission some new series??!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 19 April 2009
By 
Michael Mcclean (Zürich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Jonathon Meades has produced, what to my mind is, some of the best British television of the last 20 years on Art, Culture and Architecture, in a style that is both serious and humourous at the same time.In an age of dumbed down television dominated by reality TV shows and wanna-be pop star talent competitions,surely there is place for television as Art, for that is what it surely is.Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 16 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I was delighted when this set was finally released and have since watched it countless times. It's a shame the original plan for a 10 disc set (I think) didn't come to fruition, but I hope there's a chance some more of Mr Meades very clever and hugely entertaning films might be made available in the future. Until then, buy this and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD]
The Jonathan Meades Collection [DVD] by Jonathan Meades (DVD - 2008)
£11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews