Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars its a hit !
i bought this album following seeing the whigs at the london o2 arena this week. they were the supporting band for the kings of leon.
the music live was excellent so i had to buy the album and its great. this group are not recognised enough.
Published on 4 Jun 2011 by d leslie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (Not) Too good to be forgotten
Despite the previous reviewer's rather harsh comments about the South Coast (I grew up there and it's gorgeous!) I have to agree with their analysis of this album. Not to be confused with Soul-influenced 90s American band Afghan Whigs, these cutely named MOR rockers are pretty bland and are probably destined to be forgotten in a few years' time. Having said that the...
Published on 1 July 2008 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (Not) Too good to be forgotten, 1 July 2008
This review is from: Mission Control (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Despite the previous reviewer's rather harsh comments about the South Coast (I grew up there and it's gorgeous!) I have to agree with their analysis of this album. Not to be confused with Soul-influenced 90s American band Afghan Whigs, these cutely named MOR rockers are pretty bland and are probably destined to be forgotten in a few years' time. Having said that the album has some style, evidenced by the opening track Like a Vibration, which has a brash energy that offers some hope for future releases. The rest however, does tend to fade into the background somewhat, and like their (possible) influences The Hives they are in danger of delivering substantially less than they first promised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its a hit !, 4 Jun 2011
This review is from: Mission Control (Audio CD)
i bought this album following seeing the whigs at the london o2 arena this week. they were the supporting band for the kings of leon.
the music live was excellent so i had to buy the album and its great. this group are not recognised enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A new one on me, but a good 'un..., 19 Nov 2010
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mission Control (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Whigs were a new band to me, until I checked 'em out via Amazon Vine. What I heard was some strong, melodic, guitar-based indie-rock music that improves with successive plays. Highly enjoyable, and worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 24 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Mission Control (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not the best album in the world. In places it is musically poor, and has rather annoying vocals, howvere there are a couple of really good tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Familiar Mission, 2 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Mission Control (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a lively album, which despite its USA origins often sounds very British, often reminiscent of late 1970s punk & new wave but with individual tracks sounding more like Oasis, early Idlewild, and a bit of Kaiser Chiefs and other popular British Indie. The tracks are short, fun and full of energy with some good melodies despite the limited range that can be produced with their strict adhesion to bass, guitar, drums and vocals. The bands biggest problem is a lack of identity. Each track sounds great but puts you in mind of someone elses material (as outlined above) so I fear they will struggle to get a dedicated audience. However, it will be interesting to see if they can develop from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Whig Out !!, 21 Aug 2008
By 
Tramps like us "Guitar bass and drums" (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mission Control (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Athens Georgia has been the birthplace of many a band - REM and the B52s being the most notable. To that list you can now add the Whigs. Although they will probably not reach the heights of fame of their state siblings the Whigs are a perfectly adequate rock band. The strongest tracks - to my ears anyway were the opener - "Like a Vibration" which is a good rocker reminding me very much of Iggy and the Stooges and "Hot Bed" which is another good time hook happy song.
It seems that the band have taken a lot of influence not only from late 70s English punk but also from the British invasion of the early 60s and I can definitely hear a Beatles influence on tracks like "Sleep Sunshine".
I enjoyed the album - it's by no means a classic but very listenable.
It is quite a short album at 37 minutes which is a shame. If my iPod hadn't given up the ghost i would have reviewed this sooner but having to go back and listen to it again was not an arduous task - if you weren't that keen on first listen go back and have another try as it does repay repeated listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same for your music collection, 21 Aug 2008
By 
C. Hatfield (Leafy Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission Control (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I actually quite liked this album, but you're expecting something else from the title? Well this is a.n.other of a long line of riffy, soft rock-ish, Indie type bands who can beat out a decent tune, but never rouse you beyond the low lying hills of indifference. Easy listening for the Indie generation. You might want to buy it out of curiosity. If you like this type of music you may want to buy this album. I can't say more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Turn on, tune in and Whig out., 20 Aug 2008
By 
Curlynob (Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mission Control (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This one seems to devide opinion doesn't it? I liked it. Like a Vibration is a killer start to an album. Catchy melody, fuzzy guitars, banging drums, treated vocals. Production City struts like Jagger. I Never Want to Go Home is pretty and chiming with a nice driven beat and a circling melody. And so it goes. It's not ground breaking stuff, but what they do, they do well. They sound like a band that really kick off live. I'd pay to see them. They remind my in places of Buffalo Tom, which is never a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Laid-back, varied rock, 13 Aug 2008
By 
Maclennane (Horsham, Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mission Control (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are lots and lots of clear influences on this album, if the general feel is between Smashing Pumpkins and Buffalo Tom, there are tracks reminiscent of BAD, Eels and Weezer, and as such it has a recently-retro atmousphere.

There's much to like, in fact there isn't a bad track on the album, but there doesn't seem to be anything to say - there's no big idea and there's nothing musically experimental. All in all a solid album, without a real hook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Whigs - Mission Control, 23 July 2008
By 
David Lovie (Aberdeen, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mission Control (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Grungey modern indie rock...
The sound of jangley guitars fighting through a wall of fuzz and noise alongside a groove based bass guitar at times creating a wall of noise with vocals appearing to add in some melody and style to proceedings. The obvious reference would be to the Arctic Monkeys sound of rock and roll straight out of the garage, but lacking that distinctive Britishness of the monkeys in favour of a much more American sound heard in some of the bigger garage rock bands like the strokes.

Throughout the album there is a continual sense of the lofi nature of the band, even the clean `pretty' guitar parts still with the twinge of nasty distortion to them and vocals not quite sung but still with a gritty melodic quality to them.

Maybe not the polished sounds you would expect to hear in the charts, but a band I expect to hear more of soon, the music providing enough hooks and points to pique your listening ear to keep you coming back for more, despite the general grungey harsh noise that pervades a lot of the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission Control
Mission Control by The Whigs (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews