Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful depiction of lesser known conflict
It can be difficult to explain to someone why you would want to watch a war movie. Everyone is all too aware of the suffering, and WWII in particular has surely been covered from all angles several times over by now. So why would you want to watch people going through hell? What is to be taken from that? Some people are merely looking for a historical version of Star...
Published on 21 July 2008 by A.D.M.

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
I ordered this film together with "Beneath Hill 60" and I have to say for me it was the inferior of the two. The film is shot entirely in the jungle and the director does a good job of showing how awful it was (that I guess is an understatement) to fight under conditions of relentless heat, rain, disease etc. The Japanese are portrayed almost as demons that attack without...
Published on 4 Dec 2010 by Geo1


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good., 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] (DVD)
Not what I was expecting very poor acting second rate film,take a chance when you buy cheap films so better luck the next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking film, 16 Sep 2011
By 
J. D. OCONNOR - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] (DVD)
Bought his one for my war collection due to my son nicking my original copy for his collection. A film giving another insight into other people's wars. very realistic and well filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Made, intense, raw, and good value, 28 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a film I recommend viewing before bed - you'll have nightmares ! If I was allowed one word to describe it, it would be "grim". Two words - "very grim"!. It is an intense, stomach churning, relentless grind through the horrors of jungle warfare. Some scenes I just could not watch. How lucky our generation is not to have to face this. The film is well made, though the characterisation is a little two-dimensional. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give this a miss......, 14 May 2014
By 
L. Connelly (Glasgow U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] (DVD)
Not very good..movie.
Acting poor cast poor..
Cinematography good..
True account of a good story wasted on a poor effort and poor direction.
Better spending your time watching Cross Of Iron. ..good movie..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Boring, 9 July 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] (DVD)
A bit of a let down for me...

Don't expect and action packed war film and certainly don't expect a Predator/Rambo type jungle survival flick like the cover suggests.

Do expect a boring 1h30m of people running off and hiding in bushes, and thus ensuring there is very little action in this film.

This whole film seemed to consist of nothing more than a few men cowering in bushes while shots of the Asian army's ankles walked by.

Also, there was no sense of scale with the whole film seeming to take place on a hillside in about a 500 metre patch of land.

Watch it perhaps for historical reasons but not for cinematic excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aussie blue eyes contra honorary Aryans, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent war film that starts with a dream within the film framework and continues to unfold the fate of a troop of amateur soldiers outflanked by the wily and ruthless IJA on their way to a landfall in Australia as the oriental part of the Axis Australia had duly declared war on in eccentric loyalty to its warmongering British Imperial mistress,given most Aussies had been expelled from England for apple-stealing and so forth...well acted,cruel and filthy scenarios with a Germanophobic subtext even here,in the Antipodes,in that the loyalty of one soldier is doubted due to his German ancestry...some scenes are hard to stomach so beware-it's ironic that Australia has been a pushover for multiculturalisation so this war actually depicts a meaningless struggle but even so,it's worthy view for war film fans.

A very good effort but extras rather lacking,albeit so one less star for the dvd itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A view of world war 2 from some where other than france or germany., 30 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] (DVD)
Great film here, action, more action and in some parts very very shocking.

Harrowing stuff, and a true story of some very brave Australian soldiers.

A must watch for any war film fan, sum it up for you in one word MATES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD]
Kokoda - 39th Battalion [DVD] by Alister Grierson (DVD - 2008)
£5.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews