Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game at excellent price.
If you haven't bought Rise of Nations yet then you should. It's one of the best god-Sim strategy type games out there. It takes you from nomadic stone age people right up to the nuclear age. Well worth a few pounds.
Published on 29 Jun 2009 by A. Cotton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rise of nations
I have played the game before but it still has its good points. A bit dated without updates but good fun.
Published on 1 Aug 2011 by L. G. Foley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game at excellent price., 29 Jun 2009
By 
A. Cotton "AJR" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] (Video Game)
If you haven't bought Rise of Nations yet then you should. It's one of the best god-Sim strategy type games out there. It takes you from nomadic stone age people right up to the nuclear age. Well worth a few pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basically a notched up verision of AoE, 10 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] (Video Game)
So far I have only played Rise of Nations and not the expansion disk that came with it.
I thought that it would take me a bit of time to get used to a new interface after being used to AoE gameplay in the past, but no it is basically the same game but notched up one step to make it a bit more strategic with things like markets to trade your resources but with fluctuating prices like the stock markets.

The best bit about the game though is the ages. I always felt AoE needed to go further once you fully industrialised and this game does the job well. Although the graphics are a bit weaker than AoE (but that is becuase it is an older game) they are still really good and do not detract from the playable nature of the game.

My one criticism is that you select south africa for instance but your army still calls all of the places by UK names which I dont really get, so will name a city in South Africa York or London?

I will also point out that the one star review on here is stupid and you should ignore it! They are talking about it not working in their CD drive... thats because it is a DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably a good game but wouldn't install, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] (Video Game)
Couldn't install this on my Dell Dimension E520, running windows XP (service pack 3), so I'll never know whether it's any good. Just as well it wasn't too expensive, otherwise I'd be livid. However, I find that installation problems seem to occur quite frequently with older games these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Great, 18 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] (Video Game)
If you're into the whole Age of Empire type of game, this is for you. By most standards, it's a pretty old game, but it still has a kick. In comparison to some of the other games of its time, the graphics are incredible, and it really doesn't tax your machine at all to run.

I love this game, and I recommend it to any RTS fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rise of nations, 11 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] (Video Game)
I've loved this game in the past and lost count of the number of times I've saved the world ,or conquered it, depending on your point of view.I also like the new games on the disc with it's slightly different style of play.All in all a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rise of nations, 1 Aug 2011
By 
L. G. Foley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] (Video Game)
I have played the game before but it still has its good points. A bit dated without updates but good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good strategy Game, 7 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] (Video Game)
Very good game.Plays on win 7 64 bit version.
Only problem if you have kaspersky antivirus you need to make an exclusion on the directory of the game not to be scanned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best ever, 3 Aug 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] (Video Game)
This game combines the best of Civilisation and Age of Empires (both pretty awesomes games in themselves). I got it years ago and wasted many nights conquering the world. Still do waste a few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rise !!, 21 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] (Video Game)
i like a lot strategic games for PC. this join of two games (the game and the expansion) was a usefully way to buy a 'complete' game. i enjoy a lot !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Game review, 11 April 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] (Video Game)
A fun and interesting game that provide hour after hour of enjoyment in the beginning. It does, however, get stale at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game]
Rise of Nations Gold Edition [video game] by UBI Soft (Windows 2000 / 98 / XP)
4.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews