Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Beat it For Value
`You Just Can't Beat it' is subtitle `The Best of The Beat' but with thirty seven tracks spread over two discs it would be possibly truer to call it `All of The Beat' with very few omissions stopping this been their entire back catalogue. It is definitely quicker to isolate what is not on this album rather than what is included.

The album opens with Two Tone...
Published on 7 May 2008 by Ian Wood, Author of 'Here's 2 ...

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars cd
Love the band but the CD is off poor quality, sounds worse than some downloads, disappointed as bought it due to poor quality of downloadss
Published 5 months ago by avril bergin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Beat it For Value, 7 May 2008
This review is from: You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of (Audio CD)
`You Just Can't Beat it' is subtitle `The Best of The Beat' but with thirty seven tracks spread over two discs it would be possibly truer to call it `All of The Beat' with very few omissions stopping this been their entire back catalogue. It is definitely quicker to isolate what is not on this album rather than what is included.

The album opens with Two Tone debut single `Tears of a Clown' b/w `Ranking Full Stop' before moving through the three singles and various album tracks taken from debut album `I Just Can't Stop it', in fact only one track is omitted which is the Price Buster cover `Whine and Grine' which is no-doubt omitted due to it's been re-worked as the single `Stand Down Margaret'.

Between album single `Too Nice to Talk to' is here but not b-side `Psychedelic Rockers' before we get eleven of the twelve tracks from second album `Wha'ppen?', the only track missing being `I Am Your Flag'.

The next single was the Mike Hedge's produced `Hit It' b/w `Which Side of the Bed' which is not a surprise to be missing as all previous Beat compilations have tried to write this disappointing 45 out of the bands history.

Of the Twelve tracks on third album `Special Beat Service' again eleven are included here, the missing track is `Rotating Heads' which is a surprise omission as it was used in the film `Ferris Bueller's Day Off'. The only other track missing here is the b-side of `Save it for Later' `What's Your Best Thing?'.

I Imagine the missing seven tracks could have fitted on the discs which would have made for a comprehensive anthology, anyway it's still good value for money as a anthology with a couple of omissions or a best of that goes a bit further. You Just Can't Beat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every home should have a copy!, 21 Feb 2008
This review is from: You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of (Audio CD)
The Beat (The English Beat, overseas) were a multi-racial, Birmingham based, pop group who came to prominence during the 2Tone boom of 1979. Their three terrific studio albums (1980's I Just Can't Stop It, Wha'ppen from 1981 and the wonderful but underrated Special Beat Service from 1982) flirted with 60s ska & rocksteady, jagged post-punk, calypso, 70s style political roots reggae, Motown soul and Beatles/Kinks inspired pop. Despite the consistently high quality of their material, The Beat's record sales began to wane once the British public lost interest in ska revival. The group folded in 1983 but spawned two spin-off acts...General Public and highly successful Fine Young Cannibals.

While there are now quite a few Beat compilations out there, this is definitely the ONE to own. 37 tracks spread over two compact discs. Included are (almost) all the singles (1981's Hit It has yet to appear on any Beat "best of") and lots of fantastic selections from the three long players. Unfortunately the compilers weren't able to secure the rights to B sides like Which Side of the Bed, What's Your Best Thing and Psychedelic Rockers. Despite their absence, You Just Can't Beat It is an outstanding collection from a band who were at times unfairly overshadowed by 2Tone era peers The Specials and Madness.

Liner notes are by former Bodysnatchers and Special AKA vocalist Rhoda Dakar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Compilation, but a definite missed opportunity!, 12 April 2008
By 
William Lynd "lynd8" (Poestenkill, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of (Audio CD)
Having been a fan for 25 years (oh my God I'm old!) I was really looking forward to this compilation - hoping that we would finally get a nice release of some of The Beat's great B-sides that have yet to be officially released on CD. After all, if you have 2 CD's to work with, wouldn't this have been a nice place for excellent songs like "Which Side of The Bed?", "Hit It", etc? Anyway, I will be kind and only deduct 1 star - these are some of the best songs ever released and a good set for someone that doesn't own the individual CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value but be warned, 29 Jun 2008
By 
Django (Chesterfield) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of (Audio CD)
This is an excellent value for money compilation as the other reviews can all vouch and I bought it based on their comments. Imagine my surprise however when I found that 'Stand down Margaret' is actually NOT the single version. Track 7 on my copy at least is actually 'Whine and Grine/Stand down Margaret' which is not the version I was expecting and specifically mentioned as missing in one of the reviews below ?? So if this fact is an issue then be warned, I have to admit personal disappointment as I had hoped this comp would have everything I wanted in the one place - but it was not to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Beat Compilation yet, but...., 21 Mar 2008
This review is from: You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of (Audio CD)
This double CD is basically a combination of the three albums the group released in their all too brief career and for anyone who doesn't own any of the albums it's a brilliant buy. For those who have them though (like me), it's case of 'nothing to see here'.
As the previous reveiwer said, the later B-sides are missing, which is a real shame, but you can get 'What's Your Best Thing?'(along with 'Hit It') on the US version of the otherwise inferior compilation 'What Is Beat?'
A truly great band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of The Beat, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Stevie Harrold (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of (Audio CD)
Great stuff. I had forgotten how many songs the Beat had that were locked away in my memory. The first CD rattles along with brilliant song after brilliant song. I have listened to it start to finish twice in a row without getting bored. The second CD is maybe more for the completists amongst us, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. Not many hits or A-Sides, but plenty of quality songs. Buy this now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Jan 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of (Audio CD)
I am so happy that I stumbled across this album. You have 2 cds here, with a total of 37 tracks. I love this as it takes me back to my schooldays, where such groups were what most of us listened to. The Two Tone movement doesn't seem to be that big amongst the younger generation these days, and they don't seem to realise what they are missing. With its Caribbean beat these tracks are timeless and well worth listening to. With its beats, the fact that you have blacks and whites in the group probably did something to our racial perceptions, and made us a bit more laid back.

With summer a few months away this is a great album to have on in the background whilst you have friends and family around for a barbecue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the beat, 7 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. Tracy A. Cliffe "tracyred" (dorset uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of (Audio CD)
the beat were my favourites from the 2 tone era so i thoroughly enjoyed this album. brings back a load of memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great transfer to cd....., 4 Feb 2009
This review is from: You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of (Audio CD)
my favourite english ska group that got me into roots and culture reggae(1965-1980 the hey days)..best transfer to cd from turntable that i have heard on any cd..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable bargain, 9 April 2008
This review is from: You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of (Audio CD)
Even if you've only heard Mirror In The Bathroom or Best Friend, buy this compilation. It contains some of the catchiest, most danceable songs you are likely to hear. The Beat must one of the greatest pop bands ever without 'les' at the end of their name. Going to a party? Take this with you and the CDs will end up being played all night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of
You Just Can't Beat It : The Best Of by The Beat (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews