Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much under-rated talent
Bill Withers was a different type of Soul Man, his reflective singer songwriter style a counterpoint to the traditional "Sock It To Me" Soul shouters. His first album was an instant hit, yielding the giant "Ain't No Sunshine" as well as a variety of covers and originals in Withers' unique style. His second album was no less well received, again with a major hit singles,...
Published on 28 Jan 2008 by Andy Edwards

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
I only know Bill Withers by his two hits ,and I really like those songs.I found the rest of the album not to my taste. Worth the money to me just for those I like.
Published 17 months ago by Millie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much under-rated talent, 28 Jan 2008
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Bill Withers was a different type of Soul Man, his reflective singer songwriter style a counterpoint to the traditional "Sock It To Me" Soul shouters. His first album was an instant hit, yielding the giant "Ain't No Sunshine" as well as a variety of covers and originals in Withers' unique style. His second album was no less well received, again with a major hit singles, and Bill had become a major star.

He went on to a career which would last into the '80's, however this set focuses in on the '70's and the 2 first albums in particular. In fact the first 3 tracks of this are the first 3 from "Just As I Am" albeit in a different order - and what a start it is, with "Aint No Sunshine" sandwiched between the wonderful stomper "Harlem", and the beautiful Grandma's Hands (catch the live version from the Carnegie Hall album for the best version though). Other stand out tracks include the singles, "Use Me", and "Lean on Me" and "Lovely Day", as well as the album tracks you may not be so familiar with. Bill Withers' approach to songwriting saw him focus on some very original topics and I would pick out "Better Off Dead", "I Can't Write Left Handed" and "Hope She'll Be Happier" as examples of Withers' superb talent. Throughout the set though, you will encounter a huge variety of styles, from the Blues of "Don't Want You On My Mind" to the (almost) Funk of "Kissing My Love".

If you are a fan of the man, you may well welcome this as a chance to get those album tracks, as the albums are in short supply. This set should also appeal to those who have encountered Bill as a singles artist, because they are all here. I hope, though, that the sheer quality of the less familiar material will be a pleasant surprise. Give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masculine emotion, 30 Jan 2008
By 
David R. Bishop "Bishbaby" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of (Audio CD)
There are several Bill Withers compilations around. This one looks as good as any, and a great price for a new release. A double like this is justified to cover a lot of less known album tracks, as well as the hits.

Bill sings tenderly and with real emotion, but keeps it very masculine somehow. In my opinion, he was ahead of the game in doing so. He sings with a simple emotional honesty, that commands respect.

Many younger people may only know 'Lovely Day', done to death on the radio whenever the sun comes out (not too often then), but don't let that put you off. Bill is a gifted songwriter, and a very good singer.

The music varies in soul styles, often with driven Southern rhythms. Check out the growing funky paranoia of 'Who Is He And What Is He To You'

Well worth a few quid of any true soul fan's money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty Of Sunshine, 30 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Indespensible! Not bought a best of Bill Withers yet? This is the one to have, it contains all this classics, with most of disc 2 taken up with some excellent Live concert recordings. Great value too. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlord, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. C. D. McLeod "waaaaaaaa" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Bill Withers is a boss, and the live bits tacked on to cd2 prove the man is an overlord when it comes to putting somethin down on it.... I don't want to seem pushy but stop reading reviews and buy this CD its top banana
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bill Withers - Ain't No Sunshine: Best Of, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of (Audio CD)
This was a present but this man's voice is incredible and is well worth buying.

The songs are mainly old but still very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation, 25 May 2011
By 
G. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Always liked his music...and this provides a catch-up to some great songs by a very good songwriter. Classy, jazzy, and funky...can't stop movin' my feet. A value for money, honey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good music but the recordings are...not ideal, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of (Audio CD)
In short, great music but the amount of hiss on some of these recordings which could have been cleaned up...I am wondering whether a different compilation would give better sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sun shines with Bill Withers, 17 Oct 2010
By 
M. So (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Wonderful album which brings you back to the glory of the good old days... Mind you my 6 years old and 3 years old sons like him too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Great Songs - But Not a Great Collection, 1 Jan 2009
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of (Audio CD)
IMHO there are better Withers collections around than this. How can you have such a collection without (just for one example) "Oh Yeah"?. Some nice stuff on here, but also quite a lot of second tier Withers stuff - Also the version of "Lovely Day" on here seems to be the full version - which just goes on and on and on.... - it made a snappy single, but the cut down version doesn't outstay its welcome - this version sure does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Musical sunshine, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of (Audio CD)
The mellow, warm tones of an under-apprciated vocalist. Always sounds easy, effortless & emotionally true. If you love soul, Motown or just plain great singing, buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of
Ain't No Sunshine: The Best Of by Bill Withers (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews