Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars53
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is an absolutely fantastic DVD. Approximately 5 hours of terrific footage. It starts with 50 recruits of 924 Troop and follows them all the way through their 32 weeks of basic training. It's a very accurate portrayal of life. Obviously theyy don't show you everything such as 'administrative punishment' and some of the harsher beastings but it's pretty thorough. I would definately commend the film to anyone thinking of going into the forces as it's not so different. (This comes from experience) The main difference with Marines is fitness levels and determination. This is shown by several candidates who were unable to pass physical atttributes beng accepted into other branches such as 'Sappers'. Of the 50 who start out only 5 originals make it. However 21 of the 50 pass. Meaning that 16 of those that were back-trooped also made it in the end. That's not a bad pass rate at all considering this is supposed to be a very elite regiment. You also need to remember out of all those failures most of them are PVR's (I'm not sure what it's called now but when I was in it stood for Pre-Volunary Release) Meaning that most of those who don't make it quit. Only a few are asked to leave and that's usually because of a medical discharge or attitude.
The 2 DVD's finish up by showing 2 of the 5 who passed out going to Afghanistan immediately to join a platoon who the film maker had been following as well as the trainee's. In that time the platoon suffer a fatality and wounded marines. It's a really really good look at Military life and it's done without any glamour and certainly brought back a lot of memories.
5* recommndation.
22 comments|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
There are a few of these type of documentaries available at the moment, however this has to be the best because you get to see the recruits from start to finish (no matter how they end up) from bumbling idiots to Royal Marines for a few of them and on the first train home after a few days for the chaps who were out of their depth. I liked the fact that the camera is in the new recruits faces as they step off of the train onto the platform.

The best part of this dvd is the extras, (well extra). This is where the film maker decides to get stuck in and do the training himself and at 55 years of age what he achieves is truly remarkable.
Me and my mate found ourselves shouting at the television for the old guy to kick it in the guts and get his arse over those monkey bars!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2011
I'm thinking of becoming a commando and this dvd told me everything I wanted to know. Contains footage of soldiers from their first day in Lymphstone to the battle fields of Afghanistan. Everything is in great detail and very easy to watch, I've watched this a couple of times now and I still love it. If your thinking of joining the marines then this dvd is for you! If not, then It's very entertaining to watch anyway!

I highly recommend this DVD!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
I purchased this item for my teenage sons, who are interested in joining the armed forces (specifically the Royal Marines). I thought it would provide some useful background material for them as they consider their future career options.

We have watched many other documentary-type reels of new recruits being taken through their paces - but this is by far the best (as one would expect from Chris Terrill). The DVD provides a no-holds-barred perspective of life in the training ground as well as on the front line, rather than the 'sanitised' versions used in advertisements for the various forces. Highly informative, this DVD is a 'must-see' for anyone interested in recruiting.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
This very well made and highly informative 256min 2 DVD series follows 50 young recruits through 32 weeks of what the programme packet cover describes as:-

"an extraordinary, intense and life-changing journey to become a Royal Marine Commando. With unprecedented access to both the training and battleground, this series, first seen on ITV 1, captures the exhilaration, excitement and fear of 924 Troop as they prepare for the killing fields of Afganistan."

The Troop Commander shown shepherding his troop through the trials/tribulations of their training in these programmes is/was Lt Orlando Rodgers; a splendid young man who was romantically involved with one of my daughters as this series was being made. Tall, handsome, intelligent, a veteran of both Belfast and Afganistan; unassuming but highly competent, Lt Rodgers was every father's dream son-in-law. It is with the very deepest regret I must now report that Orlando was killed in a flying accident near Wimborne on Sunday 15'th May 2011, at the tragically young age of only 26 years.

There were giants in the earth in those days. Genesis 6.4.

RIP.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2008
Excellent double DVD by a very talented (and fit) filmmaker. Chris Terrill really captures the trials and tribulations facing new recruits into the Royal Marines as well as the front line realities of modern troop warfare in Afghanistan. If you have any thought of joining up, watch this to get a "real" idea of what's involved, from ironing to lung busting physical exertion and onwards to ops.
If you're trying to get or stay fit and losing motivation, watch Chris' own attempts to be awarded an "Honoury Green Beret". Simply excellent.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
For any young men with ambition to be in the forces and particularly to be among the Elite and perhaps cannot decide between the Paras and the Marines I recommend this video.
The Paras dig deep for toughness and good soldiering skills with a no compromise brutality while the Marines search out character combinations of a natural steely resolve, stamina and humour in the face of extreme adversity. The result is a soldier of great discipline and a never say die attitude aided by a level of fitness equal to the very best.
This excellent and very entertaining video demonstrates this ethos magnificently and is a treat to watch again and again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
Watched this today and was only meant to watch the first episode but ended watching about 3-4 hours of footage!!!! This is a brilliant DVD for all those of you wanting to become a royal marine commando/officer as he follows a troop of soldiers from day 1 to Week 32 th Afghanistan itself!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2008
I thought that this series was brilliant. It really gave a great in sight to how the royal marines is structured and controlled. Whilst watching i found myself getting really involved and it inspired me to get fit and aply myself. definately a must watch.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 March 2010
This is the ITV series still in episodes.

It gives an insight to life in becoming a Bootneck or Royal Marine.

Chris Terrill has done a superb job in its making and a must have with it is Chris Terrill's book of the same name.

An excellent DVD and well worth the small outlay for it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.