Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal Marine Commando : From Intake to 1st Deployment
This is an absolutely fantastic DVD. Approximately 5 hours of terrific footage. It starts with 50 recruits of 924 Troop and follows them all the way through their 32 weeks of basic training. It's a very accurate portrayal of life. Obviously theyy don't show you everything such as 'administrative punishment' and some of the harsher beastings but it's pretty thorough. I...
Published on 4 Feb 2008 by A. Cresswell

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For those wanting an outline of Royal Marine Commando training
The other reviews describe this documentary well. It gives an accurate portrayal of the training of a Royal Marine Commando.

As a documentary per se, it is less impressive, though very well made. Terrill manages to develop a reasonable relationship with the subjects of his documentary, but one has the suspicion that the more serious or shrewd of the recruits...
Published on 4 May 2011 by AfghanistanPage


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal Marine Commando : From Intake to 1st Deployment, 4 Feb 2008
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commando - On The Front Line [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolutely fantastic DVD. Approximately 5 hours of terrific footage. It starts with 50 recruits of 924 Troop and follows them all the way through their 32 weeks of basic training. It's a very accurate portrayal of life. Obviously theyy don't show you everything such as 'administrative punishment' and some of the harsher beastings but it's pretty thorough. I would definately commend the film to anyone thinking of going into the forces as it's not so different. (This comes from experience) The main difference with Marines is fitness levels and determination. This is shown by several candidates who were unable to pass physical atttributes beng accepted into other branches such as 'Sappers'. Of the 50 who start out only 5 originals make it. However 21 of the 50 pass. Meaning that 16 of those that were back-trooped also made it in the end. That's not a bad pass rate at all considering this is supposed to be a very elite regiment. You also need to remember out of all those failures most of them are PVR's (I'm not sure what it's called now but when I was in it stood for Pre-Volunary Release) Meaning that most of those who don't make it quit. Only a few are asked to leave and that's usually because of a medical discharge or attitude.
The 2 DVD's finish up by showing 2 of the 5 who passed out going to Afghanistan immediately to join a platoon who the film maker had been following as well as the trainee's. In that time the platoon suffer a fatality and wounded marines. It's a really really good look at Military life and it's done without any glamour and certainly brought back a lot of memories.
5* recommndation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the lot, 22 Mar 2008
This review is from: Commando - On The Front Line [DVD] (DVD)
There are a few of these type of documentaries available at the moment, however this has to be the best because you get to see the recruits from start to finish (no matter how they end up) from bumbling idiots to Royal Marines for a few of them and on the first train home after a few days for the chaps who were out of their depth. I liked the fact that the camera is in the new recruits faces as they step off of the train onto the platform.

The best part of this dvd is the extras, (well extra). This is where the film maker decides to get stuck in and do the training himself and at 55 years of age what he achieves is truly remarkable.
Me and my mate found ourselves shouting at the television for the old guy to kick it in the guts and get his arse over those monkey bars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain brilliant, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: Commando - On The Front Line [DVD] (DVD)
I'm thinking of becoming a commando and this dvd told me everything I wanted to know. Contains footage of soldiers from their first day in Lymphstone to the battle fields of Afghanistan. Everything is in great detail and very easy to watch, I've watched this a couple of times now and I still love it. If your thinking of joining the marines then this dvd is for you! If not, then It's very entertaining to watch anyway!

I highly recommend this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply incredible, 25 Sep 2010
This review is from: Commando - On The Front Line [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this today and was only meant to watch the first episode but ended watching about 3-4 hours of footage!!!! This is a brilliant DVD for all those of you wanting to become a royal marine commando/officer as he follows a troop of soldiers from day 1 to Week 32 th Afghanistan itself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thinking of joining up?, 5 Aug 2009
By 
S. M. S. Gillies (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Commando - On The Front Line [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this item for my teenage sons, who are interested in joining the armed forces (specifically the Royal Marines). I thought it would provide some useful background material for them as they consider their future career options.

We have watched many other documentary-type reels of new recruits being taken through their paces - but this is by far the best (as one would expect from Chris Terrill). The DVD provides a no-holds-barred perspective of life in the training ground as well as on the front line, rather than the 'sanitised' versions used in advertisements for the various forces. Highly informative, this DVD is a 'must-see' for anyone interested in recruiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Watch, 12 Oct 2008
By 
M. S. Doughty "commando" (northampton, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Commando - On The Front Line [DVD] (DVD)
I thought that this series was brilliant. It really gave a great in sight to how the royal marines is structured and controlled. Whilst watching i found myself getting really involved and it inspired me to get fit and aply myself. definately a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to join the Royal Marines or the RMR, watch this!, 13 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commando - On The Front Line [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent double DVD by a very talented (and fit) filmmaker. Chris Terrill really captures the trials and tribulations facing new recruits into the Royal Marines as well as the front line realities of modern troop warfare in Afghanistan. If you have any thought of joining up, watch this to get a "real" idea of what's involved, from ironing to lung busting physical exertion and onwards to ops.
If you're trying to get or stay fit and losing motivation, watch Chris' own attempts to be awarded an "Honoury Green Beret". Simply excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal Marine Commando, 5 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commando - On The Front Line [DVD] (DVD)
For any young men with ambition to be in the forces and particularly to be among the Elite and perhaps cannot decide between the Paras and the Marines I recommend this video.
The Paras dig deep for toughness and good soldiering skills with a no compromise brutality while the Marines search out character combinations of a natural steely resolve, stamina and humour in the face of extreme adversity. The result is a soldier of great discipline and a never say die attitude aided by a level of fitness equal to the very best.
This excellent and very entertaining video demonstrates this ethos magnificently and is a treat to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly one of the best, 4 Mar 2010
By 
P. Waller "Pip" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commando - On The Front Line [DVD] (DVD)
This is the ITV series still in episodes.

It gives an insight to life in becoming a Bootneck or Royal Marine.

Chris Terrill has done a superb job in its making and a must have with it is Chris Terrill's book of the same name.

An excellent DVD and well worth the small outlay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Feb 2008
This review is from: Commando - On The Front Line [DVD] (DVD)
This is the most accurate and well made footage ever made about the Royal Marines. It shows the problems, the rewards and interviews with the guys. It will probably not show all though. I'm going for the Marines in a few years, and i know that it can be a hell of lot worse.
Actually my favorite feature is the extra "the 55 year old commando" about Chris Terrill becoming one himself, living on site and insisting that he shares most of the training, completes the four commando tests and travels to Afghanistan with them. He is an inspiration to all Royal Marines and wannabe Marines in my view.
His book goes through in more detail, but i think this is the better buy, because his real strength lies in his film making skills.
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Commando - On The Front Line  [DVD]
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews