Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars127
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£11.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

149 of 152 people found the following review helpful
on 17 February 2008
When the disc one was loading on my DVD machine, I was expecting to watch a good standard British crime drama. Hey, no. What I did not expect was to watch something way better. And that's exactly what happened.

When you have watched enough of cop series, you kind of get used to some procedures. Like: OK, I've seen a twist like this in 5 other films and a turn like that in yet 10 other. Here you can get plenty of things out of standard. To tell the truth, I was totally fascinated by that. OK, I admit I haven't watched the last couple of episodes yet, just because I know there's no more....

Unlike in most cop series here you get to know the identity of the perpetrator quite early, as it's not "who", but "why" and "how" more important. And that will keep you glued to the screen, I promise. And then, all of the main characters have some torments of their own, but if you expect some usual reasons like drinking brothers, fighting for children care (you name it), you'll be disappointed. The characters are very human, and their reasons of suffering are very personal and very credible, OK, sometimes they do almost step over the edge with being emotional, but even then it's done with unquestionable taste. And don't expect any standards. If a man is suffering too much to keep pain contained and pours his heart out, the one who is listening will not start crying for company, he'll do something very different instead. If the grieving parents are invited to address the perpetrator on TV (a cliche!!!), just get ready for one one the best moments. Enough of examples, they are NUMEROUS. By the way, I know that there's a remake of this done in the States, but I don't think I'll ever risk watching it.

Well, you can't call this totally flawless, there are a few (very few) moments, that leave you with your eyebrows raised (if a boy has two mums, you might think there is, or rather must have been some 10 years ago, a DNR test for that matter). But then, maybe that's only that old grumbling me, so sorry.

On the whole, a HUGE pleasure to watch. Don't get me wrong, though. A pleasure of a very, very dark kind.

And then, there's Robson Green. I still can't decide for sure if I really like him or not, but one thing is clear: he is special. You'd never confuse him with anybody else, his way of acting and those scary eyes of his. I even could imagine Robson Green in some black-and-white movie with his eyes shining blue anyway.

P.S. English subtitles available.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
Paul Abbott's 1997 creation, he and Russell T. Davies responsible for Season 1's taut scripts.

OSC is an armed rapid response unit dealing with serial crimes. DI Dave Creegan heads the team on the ground - he literally back from the dead, scar on forehead showing where a bullet entered. As usual, Robson Green makes the most of a grim, demanding role. Nicola Walker, Shaun Dingwall, Adam Kotz play his main colleagues. The series is not a whodunnit, killers' identities rarely in doubt. Focus is more on those investigating, how they cope with so much horror. Evil cannot be touched without contamination. How long before each unravels? None of them will emerge unscathed.

Necessarily unsettling and dark (literally so, many interior scenes needing more lights). Ian McDiarmid and Tony Curran particularly disturb as two of the serial killers - unrepentant and taunting, truly chilling performances.

An uneven series. Season 1 strong. Season 2 wavering (twice officers unconvincingly falling for people involved in cases -outcome of such relationships predictable). Season 3 seems simply tagged on (but has its moments).

Ground has been prepared for "Wire in the Blood" two or so years later - Robson Green there impressive in another uncompromising role which offers more scope.

The boxed set contains the three seasons, a total of eight cases divided into fifty minute two-parters. No extras.

Recommended for those who prefer viewing that challenges. (Of additional interest are early sightings of faces destined to become familiar - one of them James Hooton, he the future Sam Dingle of "Emmerdale".)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 February 2009
Robson Green is DI Dave Creegan with Nicola Walker as sidekick DI Susan Taylor in the newly formed Organised Serial Crime Unit (OSC). I put my hands up - I wasn't a Robson Green fan until this. It is well acted, well written, well directed, filmed and edited.

Series 1 consisted of 3 (double episode) films - the first concerns the kidnapping of 3 little boys; the second, an angel of death; the third, a group of desparate teens lured into murder and multilation by an internet game.

Series 2 consists of 3 films - the first is about a killer who has an obsession for women with undyed hair and his follower; the second is about a man suffering from PTSD who decides that killing is the solution to all his problems (this stereotyping of war veterans as being deranged is something that I strongly object to); and the third brings back the father of a victim from a previous case who holds Creegan responsible for his daughters death and goes after revenge by terrorising his family while the team investigates a child smuggling and paedophilia group.

Series 3 consists of 2 films - the first one is about the release of a prisoner who was wrongfully convicted after Creegan "got him to confess" and the search for the real killer - the working class area is depicted as grey and depressive and the local cops as thick and dirty; and the second and final film they are searching for an arsonist who is burning people alive for revenge.

There were 3 series in total and the boxset covers them all.

I have to say that this series reminds me a lot of the "Wire in the Blood" series which was based on the books of Val McDermid - Wire in the Blood: Series 1 and 2 (5 Disc Box Set) [2002] - Wire In The Blood - The Complete Third And Fourth Series [2005] - Wire In The Blood Series 5 [2007], however, this series came before the "Wire in the Blood" series.

There are no extras, but there are English subtitles.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
on 23 December 2007
At last this excellent series is being released on region 2 DVD. Superb acting all round with a good cast including Nicola Walker who went on to star as Ruth in Spooks. At times very dark (similar to Wire in the Blood which Green starred in later) it certainly keeps you on the edge.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 4 February 2009
Wire in the Blood in which Robson Green also stars is not my favourite British series. But in Touching Evil I thought he made a very good job of being a detective. Thrilling series. Wanted to watch it all at once. Which would have been a waste. Will watch this series many more times.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 25 July 2012
Touching Evil is a police drama starring Robson Green and Nicola Walker. The first/second episodes of series 1 and 3 are the stand out thrillers that you would expect from a psychological drama.

The characters are the interesting feature of the series, their actual police skills are incompetent. Too many times DCI Creegan (Robson) will divulge his personal life to a victim who actually turns out to be the perpetrator. He was often the victim in several of the episodes. It just didn't sit true. Nicola Walker (DCI Taylor) is the broodier of the two and much more consistent with a psychological thriller, I enjoyed her performance much more.

However the series is enjoyable and there are 8 different stories placed into 16 episodes. The DVD is value for money and if you can ignore the sometimes impressive flaws in the series it is worth a watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 18 April 2011
I have given the series four stars but really it deserves three and a half in my opinion. The acting is good the scripts are mostly good but the series never quite adds up. There are odd breaks in continuity and it fails to build on the promise of the first episodes. If you like crime exploring the dark side of human psychology it isn't a bad buy by any means but Wire in the Blood and Trial and Retribution are much better.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 31 January 2011
By the last disc in this mini-series I felt sorry there was going to be an ending. I found the script writing in most of the episodes to be very good, although there were a couple of episodes that had a few gaping holes in them as far as credibility goes. All in all, just what the doctor ordered for passing long winter nights in Scotland watching the telly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 30 March 2008
Although I think I missed most of the early series of Touching Evil, having tuned in every week to subsequent episodes I am glad to see this is finally being released on what I hope (having not seen it all) is it's entirity.

The show revolves around the Organised & Serial Crime Unit team led by D.I. Dave Kreegan (Green) and his team of D.I. Susan Taylor (Walker), and D.C. Mark Rivers (Dingwall).

This is no ordinary police show though as one of the previous reviews has said. We get to know early on who is responsible for the crime and the show itself concentrates on the How and more importantly why the person committed the acts.

The psychological aspect of the criminals is investigated to determine the why, something which I think may have been a first for British TV crime series and which has been done to great effect by the USA in their series.

This isn't your usual program though, each of the characters have their problems, not cliched ones which you have seen in other programs but subjects which were up to this time I guess may have rarely explored giving Touching Evil a destinct look and feel to watch that seperates it's forerunners.

There is also the acting, I must admit to not being a fan of Robson Green having seen him previously in Soldier Soldier and his thankfully brief musical career, but Touching Evil does really show what a great actor he is, giving emotion and depth to a character that at times does seem to be distant from his colleagues and family. Green is also joined by an excellent supporting cast of Nicola Walker and Shaun Dingwall two actors probably familiar to audiences here in a variety of roles.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 8 November 2009
I have bought this as a Christmas present for a friend who loves Robson Green! We watched this Series many years ago and it was a great shame when they stopped making it. I too think Robson is well worth watching! This is Crime Drama at it's best! You can't beat Brtish TV for Crime Series!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Cracker - Complete Collection [DVD]
Cracker - Complete Collection [DVD] by Robbie Coltrane (DVD - 2008)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.