Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "When war is this profitable, you're going to see a lot more of it."
Why We Fight explores the rise and consequences of the Military Industrial Complex, as warned about in President Dwight D. Eisenhower's farewell address of 1961: "...we must guard against the acquisition of unwarranted influence, whether sought or unsought, by the military-industrial complex. The potential for the disastrous rise of misplaced power exists and will...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. Tristan Martin

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but...
This covers the same ground as many US centric post war analyses of the causes of 9/11 and the consequent response with the invasion of Iraq. It explains its view very well, basing as its premise on the prophetic warnings of Eisenhower's leaving speech in 1961. I have seen stronger (and more extreme) films but the this one sticks to its convincing argument. It is...
Published 14 months ago by W. Hutchinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "When war is this profitable, you're going to see a lot more of it.", 3 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. Tristan Martin (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why We Fight [DVD] (DVD)
Why We Fight explores the rise and consequences of the Military Industrial Complex, as warned about in President Dwight D. Eisenhower's farewell address of 1961: "...we must guard against the acquisition of unwarranted influence, whether sought or unsought, by the military-industrial complex. The potential for the disastrous rise of misplaced power exists and will persist."

This speech, according to director Eugene Jarecki's film, is disturbingly prophetic and his film aims to fulfil another part of Eisenhower's speech: "Only an alert and knowledgeable citizenry can compel the proper meshing of the huge industrial and military machinery of defence with our peaceful methods and goals, so that security and liberty may prosper together."

Jarecki attempts to achieve Eisenhower's goal of an "alert and knowledgeable citizenry" through the use of many talking heads, from those on both the political right and left, such as John McCain and Richard Perle, Gore Vidal and most interestingly, former CIA analyst turned academic, Chalmers Johnson. Despite the fact that Jarecki was attempting to fulfil an American, Republican president's farewell wishes, he was unable to raise a single dollar towards the funding of this film in the United States, with the exception of the Sundance Institute.

Why We Fight is an important documentary, taking a calm approach to an important subject, through the use of first hand interviews and plentiful archival footage. This deserves to be seen by as many people as possible because when director Jarecki asks American citizens "Why we fight?", the answer in the documentary is uniformly "freedom" but the interviewees are unable to provide any more depth than that, as if the response to the question is some indoctrinated automatic mantra (curiously, "Why We Fight" is also the title of Frank Capra's propaganda films of the Second World War).

This film is highly recommended for those interested in subjects such as the Military Industrial Complex of course, the American Empire, foreign policy and the shift from a Cold War posture to a post-Cold War footing and what is often referred to as pre- and post-9/11 thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but..., 18 Feb 2013
By 
W. Hutchinson "whutchin2" (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why We Fight [DVD] (DVD)
This covers the same ground as many US centric post war analyses of the causes of 9/11 and the consequent response with the invasion of Iraq. It explains its view very well, basing as its premise on the prophetic warnings of Eisenhower's leaving speech in 1961. I have seen stronger (and more extreme) films but the this one sticks to its convincing argument. It is depressing as many people in a so called democracy looked helpessly by as greedy and evil individuals seem to do their will with no come back and certainly no conscience.
The only negative with this film is the repetitive piano 'music' in the backgound which almost drove me to throw the DVD player out the windonw. Can any explain why there seems to be a trend in all flims and TV to have constant music on the background? This acts as a distractor to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't get this stuff on the six o'clock news., 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why We Fight [DVD] (DVD)
Watch this, or live on scratching your chin in ignorance as to who runs the show- and why.
It was all predicted years ago, and now it's come true.
The only chance we have of avoiding 1984 is if more people are aware of the machinations of our overlords as explained- indeed often admitted in this first class, albeit chilling documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why We Fight [DVD] (DVD)
Do you ever wonder why some nations are so eager to jump into the affairs of other nations and impose their ways onto others, well look no further. Find out the truth. Get this dvd and I would recommend "The War on Democracy, End Game" from there you will see other recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars US policy - Crime??, 25 Nov 2011
By 
Richard W. Girdwood "b25atron" (Inverness, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why We Fight [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary takes a look at the reasons behind the recent American war in Iraq, drawing on historical parrallels and using a seemingly forgotten speech by Eisenhower, an American hero, where he warned the American people of the threat of a overpowered, overreaching military with strong ties to industry and corporations, and how these intrests can become intertwined.

It draws on a range of contempary interviews with a non partisan list of guests including Republican Presidential Candidate John McCain (i have a new found respect for the man for his insightful and surprisingly frank views on the Military Industrial Complex, and on Donald Rumsfeld!), former CIA agents, Pentagon insiders, New American Century members and historians from a wide range of backgrounds. It uses historical footage and document transcripts to show how military might has been used to expand an American "corporate and economic empire", and how uses it's military to open new free markets to American influence.

What great about it is the strength of the interviews and interviewees and the fact it only reaches it's conclusions towards the end - it is not as in your face as Michael Moore (as much as like his docs) and is more balanced and serious in it's arguments. It does though make for concerning viewing and should serve as a tool to ask the question - What is really happening in the world, and is my government telling me the whole truth, or just their truth?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ike Warned 'US'., 8 Aug 2011
By 
R. Hoffman (New York NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why We Fight [DVD] (DVD)
Having grown up in the 60's I was unaware of Eisenhower's prophetic warning in his farewell address, Feb. 1961. One is deeply affected after watching this DVD, with a feeling that The United States needs to be at (make?) war in order to satisfy her corporations, which depend on military conflict in other parts of the world, to keep their business, and the economy of America profitable. An ominous concept indeed!

It is tragic that innocent people in foreign countries are killed and maimed, because America needs to make (the business of) war. This DVD also shows that American exertion in foreign regime change, has much to do with keeping those regions open to American business interests. Perhaps this explains why bin Laden attacks America on 9/11, and the Bush Administration's response was to send in troops to combat Saddam Hussein in Iraq (wrong guy, wrong place). Congress approves and the American public, being fed selective information, patriotcally come along for the ride.

It appears that Eisenhower's warning in 1961 was not heeded. This is an important documentary and should be seen by all who care about America's moral compass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shame really, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where the Romans left of the British continued and the Americans have the ball know. Thank god for America and it's people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very thought provoking, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why We Fight [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is a real eye-opener! There is not much more that I can add to the reviews already posted. The questions it makes me ask are: What is happening to our western culture? Is there no-one we can believe anymore? The one women who was involved in the military retired because of the misinformation that was fed by the powers that be and I can only feel that she was totally disillusioned. Our western culture has reached such a high standard but now seems to crumbling because of lies and greed by people in high places. This DVD makes one think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw dropping, 13 Aug 2013
By 
R. Coiley "Loves Films" (Nuneaton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why We Fight [DVD] (DVD)
Besides the jaw dropping contents of the film; which I would highly recommend for anyone curious about what really motivates our wars. The DVD came quickly and without trouble. Would deal with this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What I always thought, 14 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why We Fight [DVD] (DVD)
I read the "New Internationalist" every month and they have reviewed this DVD this month. I ordered it straight away. Why? because they were saying what I always privately believed ; America's leaders (not its citizens) are "militant and militaristic" protecting its enonomic interests by force of arms and the various allied groups "ensure that the US is permanently geared up to fight"
If we start from that position therefore "Most countries like war at some time but America loves it more than most" it puts into the shade anything that Iraq, Afghanastan, Vietnam etc ever did wrong. Like the poor children of demented sadistic parents (USA) the only thing wrong they did was to exist and be of some use to the American powers that be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4ebf7ec)

This product

Why We Fight [DVD]
Why We Fight [DVD] by Eugene Jarecki (DVD - 2008)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews