Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Entertaining
This is a wonderful and extremely entertaining program. Zooey Deschanel does a wonderful job as DG, a girl who travels to OZ after having some troubling dreams. She befriends Glitch, Cain and Raw and travels down an old yellow brick road to find the Mystic Man, a man who can help her find the answers to her past and her future.
One of the best things about this is...
Published on 20 Sept. 2008 by Alivet

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All budget, no script, shoddy lead
Unforgivably wasting its supporting cast with a script that fails to give them more than sketched dramatic situation and little dialogue of interest, Tin Man shows Zooey Deschanel reacting comatose to all kinds of shocking, painful, wonderful and extravagant situations and FX. She seems genuinely to be wishing she were somewhere else, which might have played into any...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. I. M. Davis


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Entertaining, 20 Sept. 2008
This is a wonderful and extremely entertaining program. Zooey Deschanel does a wonderful job as DG, a girl who travels to OZ after having some troubling dreams. She befriends Glitch, Cain and Raw and travels down an old yellow brick road to find the Mystic Man, a man who can help her find the answers to her past and her future.
One of the best things about this is what they've done with the original Wizard of Oz story - so many people have twisted this classic tale and made it their own, but this is no less entertaining because of it. They even manage to work the original story into this one, in one of the many twists and turns you get.
The actors and actresses are all well cast, and Kathleen Robertson does a wonderful job as Azkadellia, the evil witch who is determined to cast OZ into eternal darkness.
The only negative is that I'm not quite sure why this is being sold as a "Collectors Edition". There are two disks, so the whole series is collected here. There is also an extras section, but nothing else to mark this as any more outstanding than an ordinary DVD would be. Perhaps I missed something. The show itself, though, I could find very little fault with. Good story, entertaining, and brilliant special effects. This is a must watch for a dull weekend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tin Man - Blu Ray, 26 Feb. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tin Man [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
The idea to take the basic ideas from the wizard of Oz & mix them up into a lengthier TV production is simple enough.
However the writers & director here have created something entirely different while still looking back to the original. Dorothy is an older & feistier character altogether with Zooey Dechanel balancing kooky with bravery well as DG and Alan Cummings straw man varient Glitch is well judged and easily the most sympathetic of the characters. They are joined by Neil Mcdonough's sheriff/tin man, seemingly heartless after his families cruel treatment, Raoul Trujillo's rather weak Raw, the lion of course and Blu Mankouma's not to be trusted Toto.
Best of all is Kathleen Robertson's unhinged older sister to DG, Azkadellia. A megalomaniacal sibling with a grudge who is destroying the Ozee, (Oz),.
There's a plot of some emerald that needs to be found, family members to meet and that wicked sister to be stopped. It isn't important as you'll pick it up as it goes along. It's well paced, has some great idea's and manages to hold everything together right up until the end.
While it resembles the original Frank L Baum ideas more than the most famous film version it maintains the movies charm and sense of wonderment. It avoids trying to be hip or some action packed CGI fest and goes for atmosphere and is all the better for it.

As for the Blu Ray, well it is a single disc affair with only scene selection as an extra. However it is a big improvement over the DVD in terms of both picture and sound. The HD transfer, 1080p, is far sharper than the DVD release and it really shines in the many outdoor scenes which have a greater sense of depth and colour. However there remains the problem with those few scenes where the CGI is dodgy. These remain a bit naff from time to time and are shown up even more in a sharper format. So too the CGI heavy scenes within the city can become a little noisy when dark.
The sound works well. Ignore the packaging's statement of stereo, this has DTS HD 5.1,. This adds a lot of detail to the rear effects and sends the sub way lower than the DVD. It's a big improvement over the DVD which I found a bit lacking. This also puts the vocals up front and centre so that every word is clear and easily followed.
This is not a reference standard disc, no extra's and although sound and vision are upped this is not up to the standard of the best blockbuster releases out there. But that's not really what this is for. If you enjoyed this charming and very re-watchable four and a half hours of fantasy then the small cost of upgrading to blu ray is a worthwhile investment that will be repaid by an even more immersive experience as the whole atmosphere pulls you even further into the story.
If you've not seen this before then this costs peanuts and is an enjoyable fable well told that see's the Blu Ray conceding extra's but beating the DVD hands down in both picture and audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely fabulous piece of Sci Fi!!!!, 10 Sept. 2008
By 
David Dares (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
Having only caught the first episode on the Sci Fi channel, which i loved and made me gasping for more i pre-ordered this as soon as i knew it was coming out on DVD. So now having got the DVD I watched it ALL last night because i HAD TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS!!
I have got to say it is one of the best mini-series i've ever watched! From the acting to the sets and the special effects, the brilliantly wonderful characters, the gripping storyline, the battle between good and evil, the humour and sadness, and with the magic that is needed for this modern version of the Wizard of Oz. It's also really clever the way that things are linked to the original films, with little reminders all the way through such as OZ (Outer Zone), Tin Men (the name for the Emerald City police), the yellow brick road and loads more. The story build ups all the way through to a brilliant climax, full of twists and turns!!

I would recommend this to everyone, however old you may be, it's perfect for the whole family or a group of friends or whoever you are, you're guaranteed to enjoy this brilliant series, and at about 4 and a half hours long it is amazing value for money!! I absolutely loved it!!

Definitely worth the £12, order it up now and give yourself a few nights of top class sci-fi fantasy action, just watch out for those flying evil monkeys!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tin Man, 8 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very good dvd,i bought it second hand,and the quality was excellent. The whole film is loosely based on the Wizard of Oz,but with a modern feel to it,it has good acting and the storyline was great. I would highly recommend it.!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tin Man - fabulous, 31 Jan. 2010
By 
A. Butler "tanj666" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Man [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
Tin Man is a story set in the land of the great american fairy story - The Land of Oz written by Frank L Baum.

This story takes place a long after Dorothy's journey. It has many parallels with the earlier story, the companions in this are analogous to the originals.

The biggest news about this new story is that there is no singing, how very merciful for us all! Instead the three episodes concentrate on the narrative itself and what a narrative!

I'm trying not to give the whole story away, because this is so worth watching. Zooey Deschanel does a great job as the character thrust into the land of Oz. She plays her character with a wonderful mix of naivety and wide eyed wonder slowly changing as circumstance dictates to being a powerful major player in the world of Oz as the story unravells towards its climatic conclusion.

The effects and the monsters are really well done. They take their part in the story without becoming the whole reason for the story, which is how it should be.

Suitable for children aged 0 to infinity, split into three one and half hour episodes, this is a story to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will the real OZ please stand up?, 11 Oct. 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tin Man [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
This well made for TV mini-series Directed by Nick Willing will hold your attention from the beginning. All the actors were well chosen and Zooey Deschanel as DG will enchant you. At first it seems like any other contemporary contrived script that was just using a snappy title. Then you think this is Smallville and where is Clark? Then slowly the story unfolds and before you realize hat has happened you are caught up in the intrigue of a complex story with all of the elements found in Frank Baum's original story but actually better designed. The film, even though being promoted as the darker side of OZ, in reality is just a little more down to earth or up in the sky fari tale.

DG grows up in a rural town by elderly loving parents. There she is a waitress tat is contemplating of going out into the wide world. She has strange dreams of another world. Before her parents can tell her, the other world becomes a reality and DG becomes the target or key to an insidious plot to destroy the O.Z.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing re-imagining, 22 May 2009
By 
Christopher Meadows (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Tin Man, originally presented as a three part series on Sci-Fi, is an edgy re-think on the classic Oz trope. Each of the central characters from the original fable is easily recognisable, though they have a different name and face.

It is these characters which make this series so successful. While the Tin Man, Lion and Scarecrow of Oz were lively characters, the ones presented in Tin Man are more human, giving the viewer a glimpse into the complexity of character which has caused each, in their own way, to be broken.

D.G., played by the remarkably watchable Zooey Deschanel, links this tripod together. The character's struggle to find herself, and to thwart the ambitions of her wicked sister, give the viewer the means to access each character's journey. D.G. herself is played well - often fraught, driven by purposes beyond her control, a keystone of modernity dropped into a fantasy world.

While the journey could have been the focus here - the world portrayed is a rich and vibrant one, which could have stood for a more in depth examination - the characters, and their relationships, emerge as the stronger force. As each of those characters is so well written and strongly played, they capture and enhance the story, rather than swamping it.

Be warned that some of the scenes in this remake may not be suitable for all ages, but that the piece as a whole is fascinating, and easy to watch. Each part seems to fly past, and the conclusion rewards the viewer's enthusiasm.

While not a straight re-telling of the Oz myth, this is certainly a contender as a worthy successor. Given the sheer amount of quality content packed into the three parts, this is well worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More please!, 30 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: Tin Man [Blu-ray] [2007] (Blu-ray)
Ok so this is my first ever review and it's about something I love. OZ! Ok so when my husband finally convinced me to get Sky I was flicking through the channels and found this being played. Coming in on the second episode I was quite confused so decided to buy the dvd. Having watched The Wizard Of Oz, Return to Oz and even The Wiz I was hoping for something interesting. And I was not let down by this. Ok so it's not following the original books as such but the story is quite good. Two sisters who hold the key to OZ becoming either dark or light. And to do this you need a special crystal but noone knows where it is. The idea of the heroine being called DG, after Dorothy Gale, was interesting as was the 3 companions she ends up with. A kind Lion figure who can read minds, A Tin Man but not one made of Tin he used to be a soldier and a man without a brain but a very strange zip on his head. And it was not lost on me that Alan Cummings plays the man with no brain! A brilliant actor but he can play a mindless man very well!

All in all an interesting take on the original idea and very worth watching. I will warn you that seeing Toto chnaging into a large man and back again is very strange but as always there is a twist.

4 Stars for the simple fact that it's fun to watch but I wish they had done a story more to do with Ozma as they touched upon in Return To Oz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tin Man, 28 Aug. 2008
By 
They say time stops for no one... this also holds true for the Magical Kingdom of OZ. In has been around 500 years in in-world time since Dorothea Gale danced along the yellow brick road in her red slippers and much has changed. Now divided into Central City and the O.Z. (Outer Zone), OZ has developed into a Jules Verne-like cyber-punkish mixture of modernised First World War-level technology cityscapes and the rural realms were magic still exists in its natural state.
As in the Narnia universe time has not moved as fast on our side of the divide, and 20 year old D.G. lives in modern day rural Kansas dreaming and drawing herself a life filled with more adventures than her reality as a waitress can offer. When she gets separated from her parents, while being taken by a travel storm to the O.Z., she finds herself in a strange and yet oddly familiar space. With the help of a headcase, RAW and the Tin Man she begins to unravel the mysteries of the past that hold the answers to her existence, the dark force suppressing the people of the O.Z. and ultimately a possible solution for the future.
Tin Man presents itself as a modernised version of the Wizard of OZ for a new generation, yet it is actually far more than that. While notions of the old tickle into the new, there are also new avenues to explore and a darker more adult tone. Unlike earlier Sci-Fi mini-series, which often reminded one more of Hallmark movies than something that truly speaks to sci-fi fans, this one knows its audience. Like any good fantasy it works on two distinct levels, a straight forward fantasy adventure story for the children and the kids in all of us and on a more grown up psychological level asking us questions about taking personal responsibility for things and what sins can be forgiven and which not. Its main character D.G. comes over as a mixture between George Lass (Dead Like Me), with her laidback pun style of humour, and the more life-affirming, ever curious Chloe Sullivan (Smallville), yet at the same time she stays true to Dorothea's most important trait: embracing all that is flawed and different. Yet, she is not the only one that has evolved, so have her three companions and the main villainess, yet I shall not say in what way cause it would destroy some of the movies fun and most interesting turns. This is definitely a modern adaptation of a classic that has the potential of becoming a classic in itself, so grab your whole family and get lost in the magical world of O.Z., and do not forget all the answers are along the Old Road just as long as you hold on to your slippers ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable alternate version, 7 Feb. 2010
By 
Lorna Symonds (Adelaide, South Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoyed the Wizard of Oz story as a child, or adult, this is a very clever alternative. Humour, drama, scary at times, it's great fun. The writer/s have taken all the elements of the original and given them a new twist and it was very enjoyable to see how the characters were changed. All of the actors did a brilliant job and I'm sure they enjoyed making the mini-series as much as I did watching it.
For those who enjoy fantasy stories, this one is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tin Man [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £3.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews