Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did this pass me by for three years?
This is everything I want from Type O Negative. Long, meandering train-of-thought tracks full of sludgy, messy riffs, distorted bass, about fifteen types of vocals and the occasional bit of sitar. Across these ten tracks Type O Negative prove they are a force to be reckoned with after 2003's lackluster Life Is Killing Me, punking their way through 77-odd minutes of metal,...
Published on 4 Mar. 2010 by Paul McNamee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another piece for collectors
Red version of Dead again comes in a big box and takes a lot of place in my bookshelf. While Dead again takes two discs, the third one features the live performance from 1990’s. And if you have ever seen some of the concerts, you probably know that they are not spectacular, just good. However (!), it features really nice version of Love you to death. Bonus DVD can...
Published 20 months ago by Martin Pecina


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did this pass me by for three years?, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
Paul McNamee (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Again (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
This is everything I want from Type O Negative. Long, meandering train-of-thought tracks full of sludgy, messy riffs, distorted bass, about fifteen types of vocals and the occasional bit of sitar. Across these ten tracks Type O Negative prove they are a force to be reckoned with after 2003's lackluster Life Is Killing Me, punking their way through 77-odd minutes of metal, speed and an undeniable vitality, despite the album's misleading title. No prank intros, no filler instrumentals, no covers (save for a cheeky sampling of "Hey Jude") and crucially no drum machine. Yes, we're finally able to hear what Johnny Kelly smashing skins actually sounds like, and while he's no Sal Abruscato, he's more than capable.

Another reviewer said that this is a very happy Type O record, and I have to agree, though it seems a strange thing to level at such a willfully morbid outfit. There is a joy to almost every song on this album that eclipses past moroseness. Gone are the laments of "Everything Dies" or "Burnt Flowers Fallen" (from the band's Magnum Opus, October Rust) in favour of the bouncy riffing on "Tripping A Blind Man" or the Eastern-laced outro on single "The Profits Of Doom". Musically, you probably know what to expect: a lot of bent notes, strained guitar, fuzzy bass, O Steele's chanted military-style vocals against the straight up singing of Kenny Hickey, all driven by the doom-metal-cum-crust-punk drumming and instantly hooky and memorable melodies. October Rust is one of the catchiest metal records I've had the pleasure to listen to, but the songs on here give it a run for its money, many of them sticking in your head after only a listen or two. The quickest album I've got into in along time.

Type O seem to be in a league of their own. Despite their long history, there's not much in the way of imitators, which helps each new release feel fresh. I waited eagerly for a new album before hearing the news this morning that Pete has died. He sings "I can't believe I died last night/ oh God I'm dead again" on this album's title track, and with a quick thought spared for that prank in 2005, today that lyric bears a cruel, almost comic relevance that I imagine wouldn't be lost on the man, given he and his compatriots' blacker-than-black sense of humour. As it is, Dead Again now stands as a swansong for this bloody great band, and for the loss of Type O Negative and Peter Steele, the metal world has become a much less fun place. I'll miss this band more than I would, I think, any other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some people have been so off of the mark, 12 Feb. 2007
By 
Mr. Daniel Burton "phatchief6662" (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Again (Audio CD)
It's no coincidence that Type O Negative have released their best album following their departure from Roadrunner Records. They don't have to rely on writing a single or a radio hit for the label to deem them a success. Gone are the sugar coated pop goth metal tracks of their previous three releases and in their place are massively produced lumbering doom anthems.

The first thing that strikes you with this album is just how heavy it is without it actually being extreme metal. Type O have managed to combine the cinematic happiness of Devin Townsend, the low tunings of Torche and Cathedral and the good time riffage of Queens Of The Stone Age.

'September Sun' does exactly what it says on the tin. It is dark like September but sunny like August. Old school Hammond Organ weaves between crushing Doom riffs and is peppered with Emperor style horn bursts, but it never stops being happy... yes, this is a happy Type O Album.

The fourteen minute 'These Three Things' comes off like Iron Monkey playing Polyphonic Spree songs. There simply isn't a weak song on the album. From the Danzig esque punk metal of 'Halloween in Heaven' to the stoner sludge of 'An Ode to Locksmiths' this really is the first true essential album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Again in a Big Red Box, 26 Feb. 2008
By 
SkAnKyFrAnKy (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Again: Red Version (Vinyl)
Another chance to own this brilliant album on vinyl if you missed out on the green edition last year. This time it's red vinyl and it comes in a big red box complete with a good quality bonus LP - "Live at Bizarre Festival 1999" featuring five of the old favourites. There's a 12-page 12" size booklet that features the lyrics and artwork from the album. The box set also includes a DVD of four songs from a live show in 2007, the videos for The Profit Of Doom and September Sun and an 15 minute interview with the band. They've also thrown in the whole album in MP3 format and a t-shirt. Don't get too excited about the shirt though - it's awful!

Overall, a nice set that I would have appreciated all the more had I not already got this album on creepy green vinyl and had they thrown in a better t-shirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Phase for the band Starts off Great, 1 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Dead Again (Audio CD)
This is Type O negatives first album for their new record label. Having read that there was disagreement in where their last record company wanted them to go with their music its now a good time for The band to go anywhere they want musicly without controlling restrictions - which many artists dislike and totally understandably. Its also really good now that this album has come out and done as well as it has which hopefully will give them reason to continue into the future and produce albums like this 1. When I first started listening I wasnt so sure what the rest of the album would be like, it seemed maybe slow not anything startling to start with, however I find the album excellent now and thats after a few listens, a couple of songs I repeatedly listened to and then actually the hole album* as I find it is very easy to go right through this album. The songs slip into each other in a way that I dont want to turn off the cd and there that good when you no what to expect* from them Id rather keep listening than skip a song or turn it off. Type O albums are often ones I find that take more time to consider than maybe other easy listening bands. The added voice of Kenny Hickey on severeal of the songs is very welcome and I wanted to hear him sing more which he does. The music in this album retains some of the hanuting gothic atmosphere of other songs from the past but not heavily, this album is a lot more Hardcore than maybe any other album they have done, its straight up heavy rock or heavy metal ,heavy something(Type O are hard to discribe) with powerful sounds good singing, with what feels like no wasted effort ever. This is a quality album that is Type O negatives possibly best all round album. Theres no strange tracks, just real songs everytime, which isnt always what The band did on other albums(like kill all the white people(a song), which I woudlnt really bother listening to again becuase its just a joke)

I was very glad I bought this cd and I can see myself listening to it again and again til their next which I really hope they make. Well done to them for changing label and doing what they did on this album - Dead Again. They always seem to master the type of album they want to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did this pass me by for three years?, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
Paul McNamee (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Again (Audio CD)
This is everything I want from Type O Negative. Long, meandering train-of-thought tracks full of sludgy, messy riffs, distorted bass, about fifteen types of vocals and the occasional bit of sitar. Across these ten tracks Type O Negative prove they are a force to be reckoned with after 2003's lackluster Life Is Killing Me, punking their way through 77-odd minutes of metal, speed and an undeniable vitality, despite the album's misleading title. No prank intros, no filler instrumentals, no covers (save for a cheeky sampling of "Hey Jude") and crucially no drum machine. Yes, we're finally able to hear what Johnny Kelly smashing skins actually sounds like, and while he's no Sal Abruscato, he's more than capable.

Another reviewer said that this is a very happy Type O record, and I have to agree, though it seems a strange thing to level at such a willfully morbid outfit. There is a joy to almost every song on this album that eclipses past moroseness. Gone are the laments of "Everything Dies" or "Burnt Flowers Fallen" (from the band's Magnum Opus, October Rust) in favour of the bouncy riffing on "Tripping A Blind Man" or the Eastern-laced outro on single "The Profits Of Doom". Musically, you probably know what to expect: a lot of bent notes, strained guitar, fuzzy bass, O Steele's chanted military-style vocals against the straight up singing of Kenny Hickey, all driven by the doom-metal-cum-crust-punk drumming and instantly hooky and memorable melodies. October Rust is one of the catchiest metal records I've had the pleasure to listen to, but the songs on here give it a run for its money, many of them sticking in your head after only a listen or two. The quickest album I've got into in along time.

Type O seem to be in a league of their own. Despite their long history, there's not much in the way of imitators, which helps each new release feel fresh. I waited eagerly for a new album before hearing the news this morning that Pete has died. He sings "I can't believe I died last night/ oh God I'm dead again" on this album's title track, and with a quick thought spared for that prank in 2005, today that lyric bears a cruel, almost comic relevance that I imagine wouldn't be lost on the man, given he and his compatriots' blacker-than-black sense of humour. As it is, Dead Again now stands as a swansong for this bloody great band, and for the loss of Type O Negative and Peter Steele, the metal world has become a much less fun place. I'll miss this band more than I would, I think, any other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Album, 4 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Again: Red Version (Vinyl)
This Three Vinyl set comes in a large sturdy box, with a black shirt (Size Large Only) that has 'Type O Negative' printed in green with a red outline on the front and the Hammer & Sickle behind it, i was not sure it would fit as i am size XL but it fits nicely! It also comes with a 12" size booklet that has the lyrics in (Like the CD version). Dead Again is like a turning point in Type O's career, the songs are more experimental and slowed down then on previous albums, with catchy riffs and the classic Type O drumming, Peters voice fits the music perfectly and has done a great job on writing these songs, I cannot think of any 'bad' tracks. The third vinyl is coloured black and has some decent live tracks on both sides. It would have been interesting to see what Peter would have created next but unfortunatley he died in April, R.I.P Peter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less Goth But Excellent, 19 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: Dead Again (Audio CD)
If you are expecting more of the funeral melodies and lyrics of some of their previous albums you may initially be disappointed. After having listened to the album a couple of times however I expect you to change your mind. This to me isone of teir best albums. My other favourites are Killingme and October Rust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Years in Hungary ?, 14 April 2015
This review is from: Dead Again (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
the BEST Type O Negative album by far, everything was put into this album, the artwork, lyrics and music are perfect for Peter Steele's farewell album. A true work of art, a masterpiece. Pete was now proud to speak of himself as a catholic and this intelligent album full of dark humor is just perfect doom rock n roll. Some believe Pete is alive and hiding in Hungary, some say at some point since his 'death' he has been helping out at Kalighat Home for the Dying. He faked his death once before so who knows, maybe he will return Friday 13th April 2029, there are a lot of clues in the album to suggest he may still be alive. Either way this album is a classic and if it remains the last we hear from the band then they really did go out on a high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of My Favourite CDs, 11 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Again (CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
It's metal but I don't think it's goth! But I'm not a goth. This is one of my favourite CDs of all time and very few can claim that title. Obviously, this isn't very helpful unless you know where I'm coming from but that probably wouldn't be very helpful either.
Suffice to say Traffic leads to Sex Pistols leads to Type O Negative leads to Frightened Rabbit leads to Ghostface Killah.
I've almost given up buying CDs - thanks to the Government Crackdown on VAT-avoidance in Jersey CD sales have plunged.
Who wants to pay £10 for 35 minutes of Noah & The Whale?
I'm happy to wait until it's £3.99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another piece for collectors, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
Martin Pecina (Brno, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Again: Red Version (Vinyl)
Red version of Dead again comes in a big box and takes a lot of place in my bookshelf. While Dead again takes two discs, the third one features the live performance from 1990’s. And if you have ever seen some of the concerts, you probably know that they are not spectacular, just good. However (!), it features really nice version of Love you to death. Bonus DVD can make somebody happy, ugly t-shirt definitely not. :) Good album in not so beatiful package. If you are a fan of TON, take it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Again (CD+DVD)
Dead Again (CD+DVD) by Type O Negative (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews