Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let The Voice Play
With his first four albums selling more than 15 million copies, Jack Johnson is clearly doing something right for a lot of people out there. So, is this album more of the same?

I suppose it depends on how deeply you listen to the lyrics. From a sense of the overwhelming responsibilities of bringing kids into the modern world, to the anti war stance of the...
Published on 7 Feb. 2008 by Angel Delta

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JJ's off day
"In Between Dreams" set a high standard and brought Jack into the mainstream consciousness. As such, the stakes were high for its follow-up (discounting, of course, the Curious George album). Sadly - I was quite disappointed. The sound is pretty much the same - gentle, laid back and, at times, groovy - but the feel is so much different. While his previous 3 albums had...
Published on 3 Mar. 2008 by Simon Slator

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let The Voice Play, 7 Feb. 2008
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sleep Through The Static (Audio CD)
With his first four albums selling more than 15 million copies, Jack Johnson is clearly doing something right for a lot of people out there. So, is this album more of the same?

I suppose it depends on how deeply you listen to the lyrics. From a sense of the overwhelming responsibilities of bringing kids into the modern world, to the anti war stance of the title track, to questioning the purpose of his own life, there is certainly a more philosophical side to this release. In contrast, there is a gorgeous love song to his wife and a reflective ode to his young children.

Ultimately, it doesn't particularly matter what the lyrics are about. Jack delivers what he does best: a laid back, smooth and melodic voice singing with jazz, pop, reggae and even rap inflexions backed by a tight and restrained band that lets the voice take centre stage.

Producer, J P Plumier, knows what's important: let Jack write some good songs and let the voice play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars JJ's off day, 3 Mar. 2008
By 
Simon Slator "coldsun" (Tamworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleep Through The Static (Audio CD)
"In Between Dreams" set a high standard and brought Jack into the mainstream consciousness. As such, the stakes were high for its follow-up (discounting, of course, the Curious George album). Sadly - I was quite disappointed. The sound is pretty much the same - gentle, laid back and, at times, groovy - but the feel is so much different. While his previous 3 albums had an air of irreverance to them, "Sleep Through the Static" sounds more serious and lacks the playfulness that made his first 3 albums so enjoyable. It's not a bad album - there are times when Jack hangs loose and lets the music shine, but it's not consistent throughout. Every musician has an off day so I'm sure Jack's spirit will return on a future album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another instant hit, 28 Feb. 2008
By 
Mr. M. L. Hollin "Pageturner_83" (Yorkshire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleep Through The Static (Audio CD)
Perhaps it is owing to my urban, metropolic upbringing, but Jack Johnson's music has always been pure escapism for me. The subtle nuances such as the sounds of the waves and the themes in the songs transport the listener to their very own tropical island - the Hawaiian backdrop is a recurring flavour in Johnson's rich recipe of sound.

Which is ironic, because Johnson is an idealist, and the themes in his songs are ultimately about the fundamental experiences of modern life - relationships, people and a simple, laid back lifestyle influenced by the island he inhabits.

He is an idealist in the sense that his lyrics pledge environmental sustainability, in fact the new album boasts to be recorded with 100% solar energy.

All of his prior studio work has been first class, and this latest offering is no exception. Johnson has swapped his trademark acoustic for an electric guitar, but the essence of his sound remains unabridged.

The hit 'If I had Eyes' is a funky upbeat number that grabs hold of you like a tractor beam and compels you to sing along. 'Angel' is a beautiful ode to someone close to Johnson. 'Same Girl' is a catchy ballad and 'Monsoon' is a minor epic. In fact, there's not a bad track on the album. It's the kind of album you want to listen to from beginning to end every time, because to neglect the odd track would an empty void in the stomach like you don't have the complete picture.

Many people classify a Jack Johnson album as one for the lazy summer - in my opinion, all four studio offerings are all-year-round classics.

Make this one of your essential purchases for 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one for oldskool JJ fans, 7 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Sleep Through The Static (Audio CD)
I got hooked on Jack Johnson back when he was releasing poppy slices of summery happiness on Brushfire Fairytales and On & On. He's released quality tunes of a similar ilk ever since, so I didn't feel the need to listen to this album before buying it. I wish I had...

Whilst not bad in itself (his songwriting skills are undoubtedly awesome, although not to my taste this time), the album is filled with slow, depressingly melancholy stuff, which wouldn't be out of place on a Norah Jones or Katie Melua cd. If you're into stuff like that, and you're looking for a way into JJ's stuff, then this is perhaps the album for you. For everyone who's expecting a fun-filled album like his past stuff - avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice and Calming, 18 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Sleep Through The Static (Audio CD)
You know what you are going to get with Jack Johnson and I think that is a major part of the appeal. The songs are so lilting and relax the soul to take you under that palm tree by the lapping waves wherever in the world you might be. The first two thirds of 'Sleep Through The Static' is up there with Jack's best work although I'm currently finding the end of the album a little too slow (and sad) it may grow on me with time. All in all though I would recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give it time and it will grow on you!, 12 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Sleep Through The Static (Audio CD)
I bought this after the brilliant 'In Between Dreams' and was a little disappointed at first because it's rather different in how the songs now have much more mature messages now than the 'carefree' tunes of its predecessor.

The songs are all beautifully and intelligently written with particular favourites being 'If I Had Eyes', 'Sleep Through The Static', 'Go On' and 'Angel'.

It is a great purchase if you're looking for something, soothing and a little more mature and will make a great addition to any music collection. If you're a fan of Jack Johnson you probably own it already but if not, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, Dull, Dull, 24 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Sleep Through The Static (Audio CD)
Miss this one. A talented artist, short of material has churned out an album that offers the same old stuff revamped. I can see how this happens, blame the label for cashing in, not Jack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How much does Jack Johnson suck now?, 26 Mar. 2008
By 
Nc Reynolds (Bristol, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleep Through The Static (Audio CD)
The answer is a lot!
I loved the earlier stuff, Brushfire fairytales is one of my favourite albums of all time, but this is bland, passionless filler. I would use 'mulch' as an appropriate word to describe it, like standing on something unpleasant, it doesn't make you really angry but it is deeply irritating. I have always loved his laid back vibe, but this is so laid back it's comatose!
PPPLLLLEEEEAAASSSSSEEEE don't buy it! Buy Brushfore Farytales, or better still the Moldy Peaches album because it's really good :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic By Jack Johnson!, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleep Through The Static (Audio CD)
Awesome album, I love it. Jack dose not let down after In Between Dreams. There are so many different kinds of songs on this album, and that's what makes it great. I definitely recommend buying this album it's Jack's second best album by far after, obviously In Between Dreams. If you want to love it straight away, listen to If I Had Eyes, Go On, What You Thought You Need and Angel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Does It Again, 14 Feb. 2008
By 
C. Bowers "Chilled" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleep Through The Static (Audio CD)
Great album subtle changes form previous albums but again he hits that mellow chilled out feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleep Through The Static
Sleep Through The Static by Jack Johnson (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
In Between Dreams
In Between Dreams by Jack Johnson (Audio CD - 2005)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (190)   

Brushfire Fairytales
Brushfire Fairytales by Jack Johnson (Audio CD - 2002)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (55)   

To The Sea
To The Sea by Jack Johnson (Audio CD - 2010)
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (44)