Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing - Not to be missed.
This is a film that uses the western genre to explore the nature of the father/daughter relationship. Both Tommy Lee Jones and Cate Blanchett give superb performances as the estranged pair. The writing and the acting in this film complement each other beautifully, and this film could well make it into the category of "The Great Western".
This film can be watched...
Published on 10 July 2004 by J. Glen

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little less magic would go a long way
I was attracted to this film for three reasons; Tommy Lee Jones, Cate Blanchett and it being Western based. I did know about the hocus pocus element beforehand and while not generally a fan of adventure/thrillers going a bit magical, I didn't let this put me off. After all, I enjoyed the first Pirates Of The Caribbean and am always happy to watch Indiana Jones. What harm...
Published on 2 Sep 2011 by stuckinazoo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing - Not to be missed., 10 July 2004
By 
J. Glen "Jeanette Glen" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Missing [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a film that uses the western genre to explore the nature of the father/daughter relationship. Both Tommy Lee Jones and Cate Blanchett give superb performances as the estranged pair. The writing and the acting in this film complement each other beautifully, and this film could well make it into the category of "The Great Western".
This film can be watched purely as a cowboys and indians western but there is more to it than that. It has an almost elegaic quality that makes it both attractive and compelling to watch, it is full not only of action, but also has an emotional depth that strikes chords with the viewer.
Is this film worth watching? Yes it is, watch it and you will not only be entertained, you will fnd it stays with you for some time afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Piece of Western Fiction, 18 Jan 2007
By 
Michael Jones "Western Fan" (Honiton, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Missing [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
THis film is based on a novel by author Thomas Eidson called The Last Ride.

Ron Howard took this story and in many ways improved it. Eidson's novel is based around superstitions and folk stories of the American West and what Howard did was adapted this story for the screen refining the plot and adding an almost cruel edge to the story and modern stance on the plot to attract the modern audience.

Cate Blanchett's character not being married to the man she's with and having two illegitemate children being two examples. What Howard also did was turned the villian, Apache witch doctor Chidin into a true monster.

As for the acting Tommy Lee Jones is excellent as Sam Jones, white man turned indian, but the real show stealer is Blanchett she shows a hardened exterior as women of America truly had.

I won't go into the plot of the film as this has been covered by many reviews before, what i will say is that this is a good work of fiction, excellently and atmospherically filmed that deals with a broken family that pulls together when one member goes missing. Though this film is a long one i cannot mark it down for this as a well worn plot line done told in an original way and the length of film simply conveys the length of time the main characters desperate search goes on for without the ned to tell the viewer.

All in all extremely entertaining and involving film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerfull Film with Amazing Acting --- The Missing, 31 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Missing [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Well what can I say. Tommy Lee Jones and Kate Blanchet providing fantastic roles once again.
The missing is about a father (Jones) who left his daughter (Blanchet) when she was young. He then returns but is rejected by his daughter and her new family until one of Blanchet's daughters is kidnapped by a group of Indians. An Indian himself, Jones offers his help to find the girl along with his daughter and her other daughter.
The missing has a very powerful story and is a great adventure for the whole family. Tommy Lee Jones is at his best and provides a very strong character to the storyline. Even if you don't like western set films (like me) watch this film anyway, its truly amazing and touching. The Missing has every thing that you could want in a film, a good story, good acting, good directing and some action.
With a well thought out plot, a good cast and some brilliant acting this film provides a powerful story and a film that you can really get involved in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Western thriller, too long, but good nonetheless, 8 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a lovingly made, well acted movie, worth watching. However, it suffers from a) not quite deciding which genre to fall into, and b) being too long at over 130 minutes.

There are echoes of `The Searchers' in the plot.. well, I say echoes, but this is virtually what they like to call these days `a reimagining' of the same story. However the depth of meaning, characters and symbolism from that movie are nowhere near replicated here.

What we do have is a bunch of fine performances by terrific actors, and a degree of authenticity that reminds you what a great director Howard can be.

Blanchett is the mother, whose daughter is abducted to be sold into white slavery, her lover brutally tortured and killed. The army (with a surprise cameo from Val Kilmer) can not / will not help, so she enlists the help of her estranged father - a man who abandoned her when young, and went native with the Indians.

The chase to find them uncovers that the ringleader is actually a `brujo', an Indian witch, and part of the battle is against the brujo's witchcraft.

Therein lies part of the problem of the movie - as good and as well crafted as it is, it has parts traditional Western, part character study, part horror and part plain old thriller - and they are individually interesting, but put all together drag on a little bit too long to be a successful.

Don't be put off, it IS a good movie - just plan a few toilet breaks in the middle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Babes in Peril, 23 Sep 2014
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Missing [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a rocking tale of the old West with a considerable element of the real unpleasantness of raiding and reiving. A Brujo leads his crew in kidnapping young women to sell into prostitution in Mexico. Brilliantly played by Eric Schweig he is a mixture of black villain and necromancer escaped from a Carlos Castaneda novel. Hunting him and his coffle is the mother of one girl, her daughter (the annoying kid role) and estranged grandfather. The hard land and hard conduct combine with some typical Babes in Peril features (they always scream when being rescued, and give away the ambush site with their shiny binoculars) to weaken what is otherwise an exciting riff on The Searchers. But after the daftness passes it is the hardness of the land and its people that remain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid performances from Cate and Tommy Lee., 17 Mar 2013
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting film with outstanding turns by Cate Blanchett and Tommy Lee Jones.
Unusual story for a western and for me it does work very well no doubt due to the ability of Ron Howard to craft this presentation so well.Slightly off beat for the genre but well worth the watch.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Extended Cut, 6 April 2012
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Hi Guys,
I,m writing this review for the dvd,rather than the film itself,although I will say that The Missing has long been a big favourite western of mine,personal opinion.
I urge everybody who likes The Missing to buy this Extended Cut,there are diffirent scenes from the original dvd release,but that,s not why I,m urging you to buy this version,the reason why I,m urging you,
the picture quality of The Missing Extended Cut is SPECTACULAR!!!!!!far superior to the Superbit version,which I have.
On the back cover it says that The Missing Extended Cut has been restored/remastered in HD,high definition,well it truly shows that,this dvd is blu-ray picture quality of a high standard,and has to be seen to be believed,a friend came to see me while I was watching TMEC,he said,"I didn,t know The Missing had been released on blu-ray"!!!!!!!
Once again,I urge all fans of this western to buy the Extended Cut for the remarkable picture quality.
Cheers,
Davy Cairns,Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's always the next something, Maggie. And that will take a man away., 28 Nov 2010
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Missing [DVD] (DVD)
The Missing is directed by Ron Howard and adapted by Ken Kaufman from the novel The Last Ride written by Thomas Eidson. It stars Tommy Lee Jones, Cate Blanchet, Eric Schweig, Evan Rachel Wood, Jenna Boyd, Ray McKinnon, Val Kilmer & Aaron Eckhart. James Horner scores the music and Salvatore Totino is the cinematographer.

New Mexico 1885 and frontier doctor Maggie Gilkeson (Blanchet) has to seek help from her estranged father Samuel Jones/Chaa-duu-ba-its-iidan (Lee Jones), when her eldest daughter is kidnapped by Pesh-Chidin/El Brujo (Schweig) an Apache Warlock who sells girls into prostitution.

An obvious variation on John Ford's The Searchers, The Missing slipped under the radar some what of Western fans who were greatly served by Kevin Costner's Open Range released the same year. It was a box office flop; which in a genre that has rarely hit great heights in modern times is hardly surprising, but to dismiss Howard's film as a fop is just wrong. True enough it's hardly original on the page, but it manages to not sacrifice character depth as it crams in the Western staples. While there is plenty enough here for none Western fans to enjoy; from the many colourful characters on show (including a great horror movie like villain in Schweig), to the panoramic scenery, and the number of action sequences that flit in and out of the narrative. There's a little something for most movie loving fans.

The cast, too, are value for money. Blanchet gives it guts and layers as Maggie, emotionally cold, is forced to put family dissension to one side and take up arms as a Western heroine, and Wood equally holds court with her transference from irksome waif to bold babe. Tommy Jones enjoys himself as he finds a cowboy role to suit his craggy features, features that impressively dovetail with Salvatore's stark photography of the landscapes. Along with the plucky and endearing young Jenna Boyd's performance it obviously only really mounts up to a broken family coming together under duress. But as a quartet, and with Schweig's vile turn as the "monster" of the piece in amongst them, they function so well, thus all character arcs are acted skilfully and please the senses. Also to be applauded is the use of genuine Apache language from some of the actors, a nice touch that shows a director taking his material seriously.

There's a few endings available to view via DVD etc, but the one that Howard chose for its general release is the right one. It perhaps doesn't hold any great surprise, given the directors reputation and output thus far, but it works well in the context of the story and the period tone set throughout. A safe film, then, one that is very well made and tells its story efficiently in structure and verse. If only the script had dared to take a few more risks then this surely wouldn't have been the monetary flop it was. Still, give it a go and you may find as much to like as I did. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loosely based on the book of the same name, 6 July 2004
By 
J. Turner (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Missing [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
...'the missing' was, on first viewing, a bit disappointing. What kept me watching was the fact that the movie starred Tommy Lee Jones and Cate Blanchett - as usual, both turned in finely nuanced, understated performances. The supporting cast were also superb, with Eric Schweig turning in a solid performance as the 'bad injun'! He wouldn't have been out of place in a John Wayne movie! The scenery was breathtaking and beautifully filmed, the apache language well rendered... in fact it left me wondering why it wasn't a better movie than it was. The reason, I think,is that it was badly written and had large chunks of crucial information left out of it. The character of the youngest daughter, Dot, is completely different, with none of the feistiness and mystism detailed in the book. Similarly the character of Samuel Jones is barely sketched, so that he is no more than a footloose bum - again, in the book, his character has secret reasons for his 'betrayal' of his white family that are not detailed in the film. Also, the Apache family connection is totally excluded. In fact,the apaches are just there to serve as the standard bad guys...TLJ does the best he can with a patchy script, but would have done a lot better if his role had been more 'informed'. No doubt it will get better with viewing but my first reaction is, why did I fork over good money for this? Tonight I'll be breaking out the book so I can remind myself what good writing is all about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best action films ever made, 5 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Missing [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
When I rented this film out I didn't think that it'd be the sort of thing I'd normally like, but when I watched I was grinning from ear to ear the whole time.
It is about a teenage girl (Lily) who is kidnapped by Indians and her family's journey to retrieve her. There are a few moving elements in this film, the teenage daughter's relationship with her Mother, and the Mother's relationship with her own longlost Father who had happened to arrive at the point of her granddaughter's kidnapping. Soon the three members of Lily's family (including a little girl) venture off to free her and the other girls held hostage by the Indians.
Highly recommended to those who love action adventure films with a bit of suspense, I am a horror fanatic myself so enjoying an adventure film that much is a real breakthrough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Missing [DVD]
The Missing [DVD] by Ron Howard (DVD - 2008)
£6.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews