Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNMISSBLE. IT'LL MAKE YOU CRY AND LAUGH AND SMILE!
The idea of a gay 'Steel Magnolias' like film was somewhat off putting, because like nearly every film covering the topic of sexuality, the characters are typically betrayed as vain, bed-hoping camp queens, but this film is not only an awakening for those people out there, but it sends out a message about love and true friendship. The characters in the film, who all...
Published on 18 Mar 2003 by JW Coldwell

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Romantic Comedy
This is an entertaining and moving romantic comedy. The cast are excellent, especially Timothy Olyphant, Dean Cain and John Mahoney (aka Frasier's Dad). Initially, my impression was that the film was going to be about a bunch of cliched, stereo-typical scene queens but as it progresses the central characters develop into complex and fully rounded human beings. The film...
Published on 21 Mar 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and moving, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broken Hearts Club [DVD] (DVD)
The club consists of mainly young men with different interests and characteristics. It seems as if the only thing they have in common is that they play in the same team. But that in fortunately not quite true. Sometimes a friend can help you heal a broken heart or give you some valuable advice. A good script and mainly good actors. Entertaining and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Boys in the Band" - updated!, 21 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broken Hearts Club [DVD] (DVD)
This is to some extent an updated version of the gay classic "Boys in the Band" but with a much happier outlook. ("Boys in the Band" is now so old that I guess it would now look really dated.) It is interesting to see a group of reasonably wellknown, and presumably straight, actors willing to take on the role of a group of gay men, which they do very well. I think the only hint that this film was a big studio production, made a decade ago, is the fact that the narrator, waking up in bed with the "newbie", though bare-chested, gets out of bed still wearing underpants - or perhaps they do sex in the US differently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Broken Hearts Club, 29 Oct 2009
By 
G. Crowle "GC-lovebook" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not a new film and not usually what I would choose. However after reading the write up on it, I thought I'd give it a go. I found it to be very witty, funny and sad. True to life on all levels in relationships; be they straight or gay. I found it heart warming with depth. I hope you do too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How funny is this??? VERY!, 30 Sep 2002
This DVD is worth buying purly to see Dean Cain (Superman series) playing a Gay man! He does it so well!
Its all about a group of gay friends who can't decide if they are the best or worst thing that ever happened to them. There are tears, tantrums, laughter, sadness, love, heartbreak, lesbian mothers, gay fathers, and a "newbie" coming out with a bang!
One for any self-respecting gay persons collection and any straight one for that matter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Broken Hearts Club, 28 Aug 2002
I enjoyed watching this film. It tells the story of some gay friends and the ups and downs of being gay. There are a few romantic scenes, which I felt at times were a bit full on. If you get past that then the story line is very good and it gives you a new prosective to the lives of gay men. There were some comical scenes and some touching scenes. Overall an enjoyable film to watch. If however you have any problems with homosexuality then it isn't the film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awful, 6 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Broken Hearts Club [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Timothy Olyphant but this film was pretty lousy and I can't help wondering why he did it. Straight actors (I think) playing gay characters, but the only concession to being gay they seemed to make was that they hugged and kissed each other more than straight guys (probably) would. And they looked awkward doing it. The guy from scrubs was really painful to watch in this movie. I notice none of the actors seem to mention or want to draw attention to this movie they made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another tradgic gay film, 5 Jan 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is tacky, corney and cheesy. But it will make you cry. It is about a group of 20 something gay men who frequent a restaruant and have their own phrases to discuss nice looking men. It is riddled with hackneyed old cliches. It has drug taking, old age, acceptance, gay parenting and coming out, all tastefully represented. There is one death, but the writers have sensitively chosen to allow a gay character to die of a heart attack, a scene remeniscent of Rocky 3. In any case, this is a feel good movie gone wrong. Buy it for the gay solidarity, but not for the script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broken Hearts Club, 13 May 2009
By 
J. C. Russell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Broken Hearts Club [DVD] (DVD)
Dean Cain made 3 movies in wghich he played gay characters, this being one of them. But was it worth it?
Not really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Expectations, 9 Aug 2003
I purchased and watched this fim on the strength of the reviews I'd read. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. I found it to be full of stereo-types and its writing and production fomulaic. For me it had nothing to say and I didn't find it funny, or engaging.It was extremely lightweight and about as interesting as the adverts in a commercial break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Broken Hearts Club [DVD]
The Broken Hearts Club [DVD] by Greg Berlanti (DVD - 2008)
£7.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews