Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful characters
First Sentence: The trees in the forest were nearly denuded of leaves.

Templar Knight Bascot de Marins is spending time at Lincoln Castle with his young, mute servant, Gianni. He is still recovering from the torture he suffered at the hands of the Saracans during his years of captivity in the Holy Lands.

King John and King William of Scotland are on...
Published on 8 Jan. 2009 by L. J. Roberts

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK
Far too many people involved. Rather long drawnout, but mostly a good story. As good as the first Templar one
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by mrs e.connell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful characters, 8 Jan. 2009
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
First Sentence: The trees in the forest were nearly denuded of leaves.

Templar Knight Bascot de Marins is spending time at Lincoln Castle with his young, mute servant, Gianni. He is still recovering from the torture he suffered at the hands of the Saracans during his years of captivity in the Holy Lands.

King John and King William of Scotland are on their way to Lincoln Castle and everything must be perfect to receive them. The body of young Squire Hubert de Tournay is found hands bound and hung from a tree in the forest. The murder doesn't appear to have been done by poachers as the squire has not been stripped of his fine clothing or accessories. As castellan of Lincoln Castle, Lady Nicolaa de la Haye is responsible for the fife and ensuring peace within it., thus asking Bascot to uncover the killer.

I found this a much better book than the first, "The Alehouse Murders." While there were a lot of characters, each was distinct and easily identified. Lady Nicolaa is a wonderful, strong woman and it's nice to see that woman did play an important role during the time.

But it is Bascot who really draws me to the story. He is a Templar Knight who, while questioning his future, still honors the commitments he made. His care for Gianni, whom he admits feeling about more as a father than a master, adds a humanity and caring to his obvious intellect and strength.

The story is so well researched and plotted with excellent suspense and twists along the way. It was a wonderful read and I hope a series that will continue on for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Mystery to Solve for Bascot de Marins, 10 Jan. 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Maureen Ash was a new author to me until I read the Alehouse Murders and I believe that was in fact her first book. As I always like to try new writers when I can find them I was happy to read the book and I found it good, light and interesting reading. The type of book where you do not have to try too hard to understand the plot. A tried and tested storyline used by many of the top writers of historical mystery fiction.

A knight from the Templar Order, back in England after eight years of captivity in the Holy Land. Weary in both body and soul, Bascot de Marins injuries have affected his body quite badly but not his fertile mind and as he seeks to regain his strength and well-being while on a stay at the castle in Lincoln, he is on the look-out for something to exercise a mind that has lain fallow, during his long years of captivity.

Well, after cutting his teeth in the novel The Alehouse Murders, Bascot de Marins is more than ready to try to solve another mystery and in this second book Death of a Squire he gets his chance. Templar Bascot de Marins is given the task of unearthing the truth when a young squire's body is found hanging from a tree. Could the young man have taken his own life? De Marins is certain that he did not. Is the squire's death related in any way to a meeting that is to take place within the confines of Lincoln castle, a meeting of King's no less . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Death of a squire, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maureen Ash creates a medieval world full of rich historical detail and peopled with fascinating characters. Her complex hero, Sir Bascot de Marins, immediately engages the reader in a mystery that will keep the reader guessing until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Squire (Templar Knight Mysteries, No. 2): A Templar Knight Mystery (Kindle Edition)
Cracking good read very much in the vein of Brother Athelstone and Hugh Corbett series. Characters well drawn and intriguing story lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Death of a Squire, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Squire (Templar Knight Mysteries, No. 2): A Templar Knight Mystery (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. It was a "good read". Maureen Ash sustained suspense throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death of a Squire, 18 April 2011
By 
Annik Lamotte (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a well-written medieval mystery with sympathetic main characters about whom the reader cares. The period details are well-described and the plot has lots of twists and turns, with a satisfactory climax. I have read the book which preceded this one and look forward to reading any further ones that Maureen Ash writes in the series. She disguises well the fact that she is based in Canada, as nothing sounds out of place to an English reader. The bibliography is very short and it is hard to believe that Ms Ash relied solely on these books for her background information; I suspect she is a lot more grounded in the subject than she lets on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of a Squire (Templar Knight Mysteries, No. 2): A Templar Knight Mystery (Kindle Edition)
Far too many people involved. Rather long drawnout, but mostly a good story. As good as the first Templar one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews