Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coal House
The DVD is the same as the BBC program that was originally shown on BBC Wales and follows the life of a small community of miners and their family - people from modern life cast back into the 1920's, living and working as their fathers would have done generations before.
The program follows an easy line to begin with then throws in some interesting twists such as a...
Published on 12 May 2009 by Mr. T. Jones

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A dumbed down "aren't we lucky nowadays" reality program
I do not understand why there are so many 5 star reviews for this. It had a few good things in it. The ordinary families participating were fantastic. The views of the coal mine and the financial difficulties and the hardship of no running water were shown well.
The problems with this were that the program was made in an MTV dumbed down style with annoying voiceovers...
Published on 7 July 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coal House, 12 May 2009
By 
Mr. T. Jones "tomsov" (White Kirkley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal House [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The DVD is the same as the BBC program that was originally shown on BBC Wales and follows the life of a small community of miners and their family - people from modern life cast back into the 1920's, living and working as their fathers would have done generations before.
The program follows an easy line to begin with then throws in some interesting twists such as a lack of work for the miners as genuine illness that effects some of the children during the making of the series.
The program has the effect of drawing you in and making you want to watch more and more of the families lives - almost making me want to live the life myself! I found myself sat for hours and hours every night until I had completed the entire set of DVD's (and I dont watch much TV usually). I know it is a repeat of the broadcast series but I would definately recommend this DVD for not only a mining enthusiast but also anyone that is generally interested in the life and history of the Welsh 1920's.

Looking forward to the next series of the Coal House. Happy customer indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coal House DVD, 8 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal House [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Excellent DVD- I felt this was one of the more realistic documentaries showing families living as near to possible as 1920's standards. The three families featured are all interesting, and make a massive effort to cope with their situation. They have humour and intelligence.
Looks forward to seeing a DVD produced for the Coal House War years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coal house, 7 Sept. 2008
By 
K. T. Lewis "dazz and kim" (nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coal House [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The tv serise was excelent, but missed some parts. Cant wait to see it all on dvd, well worth it an education for some people who would,nt realise how they worked and lived in the 1920s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual aspect of reality TV, 4 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal House [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Watching the series after so much reality TV, of so many kinds, I found this interpretation of the 1900 House genre quite fascinating. The families involved all embraced the physical hardships of life in a mining community during the Depression with a mixture of guts and laughter - and the difficulties of earning a living wage or keeping a young family fed and healthy were recreated with biting realism. The reactions of those involved, of all ages, possibly said as much about the quality of life in 2008(when the series was first aired)as it did about the 1920's. Interesting, gritty and, at times, moving.Some interviews with the participants after the experiment was over would have been a good addition. Excellent for schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Coal House [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is DEFINITELY in my top 5 tv shows of all time, along with Coal House at War (the follow-on series that aired a year later in 2008.) Even though I may not be target audience, as a 14 year old from England with no mining heritage, I still found it fascinating and insightful. The show used to have a fabulous webpage on the BBC Wales site that was an excellent accompaniment to the show, so it is a great shame that it has been taken down.

I highly recommend both this series and many others in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coal House, 23 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal House [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
My family and I enjoyed this very much. It was entertaining history, very accessible and sometimes really funny! My son who is 14 was eager to watch it, which is saying something for a factually based DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful History, 16 Nov. 2010
By 
Eddie Nguyen (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal House [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Coal House [DVD]
What a wonderful dvd set. I enjoyed this bit of history immensely. Three modern families were selected to live 3 weeks as 1927 families in a small pit community, the men went to work down in the pits, everyone lived in very small cramped cottages (2 rooms up & 2 down). There was no running water, no central heat, no electricity. I really enjoyed the interaction between everyone & the coming together of families & neighbors. These families, & we viewers as witnesses, could really feel the desparate times in Welsh mining villages during the 1920s. I will be watching this series many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal House [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Loved this - I found it would really make you appreciate what we have these days! It just brings home how spoiled we are in these days of Social Welfare etc. The late 1920s aren't really that long ago, and yet then, if you couldn't work, you and your family went hungry, and possibly ended up homeless. The grim reality of the show (although unintended!) was quite telling too - a lot of the children especially, ended up becoming ill with tummy bugs. And the reality for the mothers of coping with that, with no washing machines, tumble driers, etc. I found it did give a real idea of what lives must have been like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 26 Jun. 2009
By 
S. Guy-Hawthorne (PO UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coal House [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
along with the coal house diary's this is an amusing and serious look into how people lived in the 1920's and how coal mining was done and its affect on the families involved. four families taking on the past lives of the miners and the house hold roles. Its a genious idea and you get to see the strains and joys of the families. you see how they had to live what they had to work with and what they had to do day after day to keep the families afloat. a really wonderful peice of documentary and a worth while watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 14 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Coal House [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
They had great families participating in this and the information given about life and work at those times was incredibly interesting. What a great idea to turn a museum into a living museum like that.
I certainly hadn't realised quite how unfair life was at that time - for example, taking in a lodger for some extra rent meant paying more rent to the landlord or walking two hours to work to find the mine was shut for the day, etc. Very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coal House [DVD] [2008]
Coal House [DVD] [2008] by Nerys Howell (DVD - 2008)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews