Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Wait
After what seems an eternity waiting for someone to release this series on DVD I was delighted to receive my copy of Murder Most English and even more pleased to find that it lived up completely to my memory of this excellent BBC series. Thank you Acorn. Anton Rodgers as Inspector Purbright and a young Christopher Timothy as the curiously named DS Love delve into a series...
Published on 19 May 2009 by Martin Tyler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but you get lost.
Bit of an odd one this, about 6 different stories all follow each other & you wonder when one finnishes & another biggins,the acting is ok but a bit slow, if you like odd stories then ok , but if you want high drama then forget it.
Published 14 months ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Wait, 19 May 2009
This review is from: Murder Most English [DVD] (DVD)
After what seems an eternity waiting for someone to release this series on DVD I was delighted to receive my copy of Murder Most English and even more pleased to find that it lived up completely to my memory of this excellent BBC series. Thank you Acorn. Anton Rodgers as Inspector Purbright and a young Christopher Timothy as the curiously named DS Love delve into a series of investigations including murder, betrayal, consiracy and intriguing disappearances. Originally broadcast in 1977 this series harks back to a time before forensics when crime was solved by good old fashioned detective work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A minor classic, 4 Jun 2009
By 
N. Rose "Dr Treacle" (Rural mid-Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder Most English [DVD] (DVD)
I'm just old enough to remember this series from the seventies from the much underatted pen of Colin Watson, adapted by Richard (Outside Edge)Harris . This really is a joy. Complex mysteries, very well acted.

The stories are setin the fictional Lincolnshire town of Flaxborough - there are several scenes filmed at Spalding railway station and bowls club in Lonely Heart 4122.

It's a shame that they didn't film the rest of Watson's excellent novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most English is Most Pleasing, 23 Jun 2009
This review is from: Murder Most English [DVD] (DVD)
always a sucker for a good murder mystery, I found Murder Most English a true delight. Anton Rodgers and Christopher Timothy are wonderful! set in the days before mobiles and laptops and high tech gadgets of any sort, it's all stripped down to just bare bones detective work. an added bonus is being able to titter over the horrendous 70s fashion and home decor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In olden days a glimpse of stocking..., 15 Jun 2009
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Most English [DVD] (DVD)
Ahh nostalgia. Not 100% what it used to be, but the adaptation of 4 of Colin Watson's early novels from the 50s and early 60s: Hopjoy Was Here, Lonelyheart 4122, The Flaxborough Crab and Coffin Scarcely Used still weave a little of their magic. Unlike most fictional policemen, the heroic detectives Inspector Purbright and DS Sid Love are just normal people with healthy relationships- no flawed loners like Morse, Frost or Rebus. The situations they investigate are broad farce: missing spooks, murderers preying on introduction agencies, naughty old men and mysterious ads for antique furniture in the newspaper.

The transfer to DVD is reasonable- the colours fairly accurate, with only occasional moments of sparkling from scratches on the original tapes. What is problematic with the series in hindsight is that the production took a little while to crank up to full speed- Hopjoy was Here sounds incredibly like a stage play, with far too much earnest verbal exposition. By the time we get to the Flaxborough Crab the actors have built up a tremendous rapport- especially Anton Rodgers (with hair!) and Christopher Timothy as the worthy lawmen. And for some reason the cast are playing a sight gag with a Swiss Cheese Plant. It's just that the lovely Miss Teatime just isn't quite as risque as she was in 1977. I think it's time for a readaptation....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time too!, 25 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Murder Most English [DVD] (DVD)
Hooray! It's about time that this series from the 1970's was released on DVD. I cannot comment on the quality of this DVD as it has not yet been released, but I can comment on the TV programmes as I was lucky enough to see this series in the late 1970's when it was first televised.

The programmes are based on 'the Flaxborough Chronicles' written by Colin Watson, and are located in the fictional small English town of Flaxborough. The stories are full of black humour.

As I recall Anton Rodgers was Inspector Purbright, Christopher Timothy was Sgt Love, Brenda Bruce was Miss Lucilla Teatime, and the delightful Caroline Blakiston was Mrs Carobleat.

A real treat for lovers of gentle vintage English crime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, eccentric, old-fashioned and enormous fun, 19 Dec 2009
By 
A. J. Sturgess "Alan Sturgess" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Most English [DVD] (DVD)
I'd never heard of this series but came across it via one of those useful sideways-links that Amazon often suggests as part of the search process. I didn't know what to expect but the reviews made it sound interesting - and it certainly is. The whole style is refreshingly simple and old-fashioned but with wonderfully accomplished subtle performances by every member of the cast. It's as if every incidental character in the series is in some way strange, eccentric or slightly deranged - but always in a lighthearted and enjoyable way. Murders and other crimes don't follow the current trend towards being gruesome but are almost appealing in their naivety. (The idea of old men being 'revived' by a herbal remedy which leads them to chase young women and for one to launch an assault in a shop 'behind the Shredded Wheat' is a case in point.) The endings of many stories are fairly easy to predict, but others suddenly twist - or events and characters recur in later episodes.

Perhaps the best word to describe this strange little series is 'whimsical' - so don't expect chases, blood, gore or even great tension, but do expect a truly enjoyable and fun experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem Restored, 10 July 2009
By 
C. JONES "CJ" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder Most English [DVD] (DVD)
This series had a very short run in 1977, and would have stood another outing. "Most English" it definitely was, with the central, understated performance of Anton Rodgers as Inspector Purbright, and a pre-"All Creatures" Christopher Timothy looking as fresh-faced as if he had just left college.

The stories can be quite involved and require concentration - so turn off the laptop and stop texting! Like many TV dramas of its era, background music is sparely used, rather to the benefit of the action in this case.

It has been compared to a stage-play, and that's not a bad approximation. The sets tend to be a bit gloomy and the small-town world of Flaxborough rather claustrophobic, but this all adds to the atmospheric period charm.
(The series aired in 77 but the Flaxborough novels date from the late 50's onwards.)

The title sequence is oddly charming too - a tea caddy decorated with a map of the town, the lid being opened to reveal a huddle of darkened figures peering out.

"Murder Most English" certainly deserves preservation as a curio of analogue-age TV, and remains very watchable in DVD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old-style humour, 5 Dec 2009
By 
Gerard Slater (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder Most English [DVD] (DVD)
I saw 'Murder Most English' when it was broadcast in the 1970s. It made such a big impression that a couple of the scenes remained engraved in my memory and could still bring forth a chuckle 30 years later. It's an odd series - serious in parts but with an under current of gentle humour (yes, more chuckle than belly laugh). It is very English. The scenery is basic (was it really so bad in the 1970s?) but the acting is brilliant. I think the array of characters matches anything that 'Midsomer Murders' can come up with. Highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder Most English, 15 July 2009
By 
P. J. Morant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder Most English [DVD] (DVD)
There is no doubt that the TV version of Murder Most English is brilliant, but so were the books the series was adapted from.
If you can get hold of the books, they are well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anton Rodgers - delightful to watch, as always!, 26 April 2010
This review is from: Murder Most English [DVD] (DVD)
I have always liked Anton Rodgers' work and bought the dvd mostly for this reason. However, I have been buying a few murder mysteries recently and was intrigued to see Anton Rodgers had done something similar to an Agatha Christie murder mystery. I have not been disappointed... though I have to say the show isn't as sophisticated as more recent Agatha Christie productions. There is an innocence about this series though and quite a refreshing one for those who remember an older era of BBC television. They went gently and quietly along, without doing things like dissecting body parts or people being splattered over the screen. I am enjoying this dvd very much!I'm giving five stars but there again I am biased? The dialog is well done and makes up for the lack of so called modern film technique. You might want to consider 4.5 stars as being more accurate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder Most English [DVD]
Murder Most English [DVD] by Ronald Wilson (DVD - 2009)
13.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews