Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last - the genuine article
I first read R D. Blackmore's Lorna Doone in literature class at school back in the 1940s and it left a lasting impression as a great adventure and love story. Years later I watched the early black and white film and recorded it off the TV. Since then, every time a new dramatisation has been released I have watched it with keen anticipation, only to be sadly disappointed...
Published on 4 May 2009 by Mr. John R. Dwyer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars weak
This production follows the book closely, but I found it boring and wooden and the acting somewhat lacking. I would not have bought it if I had seen it first.
Published on 14 Oct. 2010 by Lizzie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last - the genuine article, 4 May 2009
By 
Mr. John R. Dwyer "Johnny O'Dwyer" (Wexford, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone [DVD] (DVD)
I first read R D. Blackmore's Lorna Doone in literature class at school back in the 1940s and it left a lasting impression as a great adventure and love story. Years later I watched the early black and white film and recorded it off the TV. Since then, every time a new dramatisation has been released I have watched it with keen anticipation, only to be sadly disappointed. In every case unwarranted liberties are taken so as to render the original story almost unrecognisable. One thing they never seem to get right is the character of Carver Doone, one of the most black-hearted villains of English literature. There was a version with Sean Bean in the role. Sean is unquestionably a very fine actor, but his blond hair and clean-shaven countenance is about as far from Blackmore's description as it is possible to get. He is simply too good-looking and Lorna would have been only too glad to have married him! The whole production was so far off the mark that it should have been released under an entirely different title. Another version had an actor who gave a very lightweight portrayal of a Carver who displayed all the dark menace of a petulant schoolgirl. Therefore, when I saw this B.R. Woodstock interpretation advertised on Amazon I decided to give it a shot. Oh boy!! At last here is a dramatisation which is so authentic that R.D. Blackmore himself could have been responsible. All the characters are absolutely believable, the settings are spot on, and the dialogue is taken staight from the book complete with Somerset accent and no conversion into modern colloquial English, although a lot of the action has been cut for economy's sake. John Sommerville's John Ridd is a large commanding figure, long haired and bearded as a young farmer of the period would have been, Emily Richard in the title role plays the part with a sincere warmth which makes the passionate love between her and John Ridd all the more convincing. John Turner is absolutely right as Carver with the very dark looks which match his dark and menacing character. Now that I have the authentic version I have been seeking for so long I will look no further. Full marks to Producer Barry Letts and director Joan Craft and of course composer Carl Davis for the atmospheric music. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 29 May 2009
By 
Duncan F. Campbell (GLASGOW, SCOTLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was brilliant for me, as I remember watching it back in 1976 at the time when the BBC did a Sunday teatime children's serial. Since then I've always wanted this released on DVD and was overjoyed when I saw it finally was!
I have seen all the versions of the story and to me this is the best, with wonderful landscapes of Exmoor to the actors who bring it to life.
Beauty Emily Richard is a perfect warm amd loving Lorna using her experience from the Royal Shakespeare Company , while John Turner plays Carver Doone as the black menacing figure one imagines from reading the book.
I do have one minor criticism which prevents me giving it 5 out of 5- and that is John Somerville to me does not play a good John Ridd. First, he is too hairy. I know farmers at that time where bearded but he resembles a 'Chewbacca'!
Then at times, his acting is rather childish & silly, particularly in a scene when he believes Lorna loves him!
However, this does not deter me from recommending it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, 25 Oct. 2009
By 
missleonor (HOMESTEAD, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone [DVD] (DVD)
I greatly enjoyed this production of "Lorna Doone" and give credit to the director, writer, and cast. We see the contrast between the Doone household, ruled by murderous brigands, and the Ridd household, where John, his mother, and his 2 sisters live in a loving environment. Emily Richard and John Sommerville are excellent playing the lead roles - but since I live in the USA, I have not seen them before, and I don't know if they are from the UK or from Australia. Does anyone knows?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A delightful introduction to the full story, 5 Dec. 2011
By 
Vinyamar777 "Still round the corner there may... (Hanging Heaton, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone [DVD] (DVD)
I very much enjoyed watching this mini-series when it came out, and the book accompanying it. Recently I have read the uncondensed book, which shows much more the spirituality of Ridd, a godly & conscientious church warden who thought the Puritans too stressed out by the evil world around - written in 1869 as if written over 100 years earlier, Blackmore did but speak as victorious Anglicanism then believed.

There is a lot of sociological interest in this story, not least corruptive power in high places. The story has several main ironies, such as the infamous upper class Doones first causing an enmity (the murder of John Ridd snr.), then sparing through oversight his young son (John Ridd jnr.) who would one day bring them down, and taking in a sadly captured relative to marry her off, only to have her happily stolen away and married off to their most potent enemy.

The story covers the maturing into love & wisdom of John Ridd jnr., and how his boyhood vision of captured Lorna never leaves him even after many years of wonderful marriage going into his old age: their young commitment to each other, opposed on both sides, is of great beauty.

John's great strength & size is also harnessed by his good nature to being a good productive farmer, and a useful man of the community in dealing with the dreadful Doones. He also shows independent reflection, not to be rushed into decisions by others, but weighing up the rights & wrongs. Lorna is befriended by him in an almost friendless life, and bit by bit comes to love him. She commits her whole self to him - in her books he deserves it. Later, discovering her title to be the extremely rich Lady Dougal (not directly a Doone, to her relief), she is willing to throw up wealth & fame as long as she is John's wife, her saviour & lord.

Another irony: with John she adopts her evil & then deceased suitor's son & heir.

As a mini-series this story is well told. Sadly, John Sommerville doesn't fit the sheer size & strength of Blackmore's Ridd, though beauty Emily Richard was an appropriate size in comparison, unlike the 2000 version. A Chewbacca would have been too hairy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone [DVD] (DVD)
perfect ! Very close to the book which I love. And, a first this, the characters speak with authentic West Country accents !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone [DVD] (DVD)
very good and children like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lorna doone, 28 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone [DVD] (DVD)
not the best ever version of the story, but then again the books heavy going. if your like me and enjoy a romantic period drama then its worth a evenijg in. dvd arrived in perfect condition, well packed and arrive with in time sated. can honestly recommend seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars weak, 14 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone [DVD] (DVD)
This production follows the book closely, but I found it boring and wooden and the acting somewhat lacking. I would not have bought it if I had seen it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a nostalgic view, 24 Sept. 2010
By 
S. M. Martin (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this back in 76, and remembered it as my fav adaptation of the classic story, seems rather dated but still a great series to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone [DVD] (DVD)
A*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lorna Doone [DVD]
Lorna Doone [DVD] by Joan Craft (DVD - 2008)
£8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews