Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resplendent
"Caroline is clever, Emily is a mother to me, Louisa is an angel and Cecilia is a child. I am a disappointment."

That line (uttered by Sarah Lennox) sums up the tumultuous "Aristocrats," a sumptuous, glittering miniseries about the famous and/or infamous Lennox sisters, who were the great-granddaughters of Charles II and his mistress Louise de...
Published on 6 July 2009 by E. A Solinas

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing
Not a lot to this series, other than the interiors and the costumes. Terrible tendency to reduce major events, and interesting individuals to hum drum domestic squabbling. Ludicrous change of caste for the last episode (hadn't the director heard of make-up?), which made it hard to follow who was who. Disappointing and not worth paying much for.
Published 2 months ago by Exiled warrior


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aristocrats [DVD] (DVD)
Would definitely recommend to people interested in 18th century history. The dvd explains the life of the four Lennox sisters, although it mainly focuses on Emily and Sarah. I would advise people to buy the book as they talk about the four sisters in great detail. What is even better is Emily's house, Carton House, is now a hotel so you can stay there, and Louisa's house, Castletown House, is now a tourist attraction. Both are located in Co Kildare, Ireland. After reading the book or watching the dvd it is a nice idea to visit where these great ladies lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rather disappointing, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aristocrats [DVD] (DVD)
Not a lot to this series, other than the interiors and the costumes. Terrible tendency to reduce major events, and interesting individuals to hum drum domestic squabbling. Ludicrous change of caste for the last episode (hadn't the director heard of make-up?), which made it hard to follow who was who. Disappointing and not worth paying much for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Aristocrats, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aristocrats [DVD] (DVD)
I love anything historical and remembered this from a long time ago. It was great to view the DVDs and watch the story unfold all over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aristocrats [DVD], 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aristocrats [DVD] (DVD)
Very interesting TV drama, costumes very well made according to the time span. Even if it's not a recent realisation, it's still really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anglo-irish Historical Story based on real characters, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aristocrats [DVD] (DVD)
Elegant costumes. beautiful locations and dialogue true to its period
Interesting record of the origins of Leinster House, home of the Irish Parliament (Dail)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No review yet, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aristocrats [DVD] (DVD)
I have not finished watching it so that I can't give a definite opinion but I did enjoy the first episode and I am sure the others will come up to expectations. The BBC usually excels in historical films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aristocrats [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this dvD the costunes were lovely the acting good all in all easy to watch and pass a long winter night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aristocrats, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aristocrats [DVD] (DVD)
Great, really enjoyed this period drama. Can highly recommend it as a good watch on a cold winter's day. Thanks for a smooth transaction too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS, 5 Mar 2012
By 
J. Lacey "jojo" (Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aristocrats [DVD] (DVD)
This is a brilliant series and I would 100% recommend to anyone who is into period dramas, one of the best shows I have seen for some time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 7 Oct 2011
By 
Pedro Silva (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aristocrats [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good series. Both entertaining and historically accurate.

The actors are excellent, specially the actresses.

I spent a fine time watching it. It is worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aristocrats [DVD]
Aristocrats [DVD] by David Caffrey (DVD - 2009)
12.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews