Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellemt product
Tested in Windows 2008 R2 and Linux (2.6.32) works very well in both, driver download from startech's website required for Windows. Linux kernel recognised card and required no third party drivers. Note, this card doesn't fit in a 1x pci express slot and requires a 4x which isn't so common, however happily works in a 16x pci express slot.
Published on 9 Aug 2010 by J. Meads

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Only 4 working eSATA ports - NOT 6! Read on for details.
Good buy but you do NOT get 6 eSATA ports - you have 6 ports but you 'choose' which fore can be used.

So far it works well for me - and I did not need the external ports anyway - but this named as if you can have 6 ports active at once - which you cannot. Hence the 3 stars.

Cheaper options out there for 4 port eSATA PCI express cards.
Published 4 months ago by Mr. D. Flynn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellemt product, 9 Aug 2010
By 
J. Meads (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: StarTech.com 2 Port eSATA and 4 Port SATA II PCI Express x4 SATA Controller Adapter Card (Personal Computers)
Tested in Windows 2008 R2 and Linux (2.6.32) works very well in both, driver download from startech's website required for Windows. Linux kernel recognised card and required no third party drivers. Note, this card doesn't fit in a 1x pci express slot and requires a 4x which isn't so common, however happily works in a 16x pci express slot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best SATA disk controllers, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 2 Port eSATA and 4 Port SATA II PCI Express x4 SATA Controller Adapter Card (Personal Computers)
This controller (Marvell 88SX7042 based) has an excellent combination of good driver support in most operating systems, good PCIe bandwidth and full support for NCQ, and FIS switching for use with port multipliers. I use these with a port multiplier on each port, and there is no performance degradation as more disks are added, unlike with controllers that don't support FIS.

The only other controller comparable controllers in terms of driver, NCQ and FIS support are the ones based on Silicon Image 3132 chipset, but those bottleneck very badly on the PCIe side at less than half the bandwdith that the Marvell 88SX7042 manages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only 4 working eSATA ports - NOT 6! Read on for details., 12 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 2 Port eSATA and 4 Port SATA II PCI Express x4 SATA Controller Adapter Card (Personal Computers)
Good buy but you do NOT get 6 eSATA ports - you have 6 ports but you 'choose' which fore can be used.

So far it works well for me - and I did not need the external ports anyway - but this named as if you can have 6 ports active at once - which you cannot. Hence the 3 stars.

Cheaper options out there for 4 port eSATA PCI express cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good tech for a reasonable price, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech.com 2 Port eSATA and 4 Port SATA II PCI Express x4 SATA Controller Adapter Card (Personal Computers)
Arrived promptly, and installed into PCIEx4 slot with no problems.

Only minor issue, when i plugged a new unformatted 4tb drive into this card directly, it only saw it as a 2tb drive. So i swapped a couple of cables, formatted the drive to 4tb on another connection, then swapped it back to this one - and lo and behold - it now sees the full capacity (or as much as Windows lets us have, 3.725tb). Just a minor issue, but one to watch if you're using the larger drives.

Early days, but its all in and working, so can't complain.

Note, it comes with a low profile backplate if you need it, but only one Sata cable included. Drivers are on the included cd and also available on the Startech website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pci express esata card, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: StarTech.com 2 Port eSATA and 4 Port SATA II PCI Express x4 SATA Controller Adapter Card (Personal Computers)
searched for a while to find this as it important to have a card that allow hot swapping and I have had not problems with this running our backup system on our windows 2003 server.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

StarTech.com 2 Port eSATA and 4 Port SATA II PCI Express x4 SATA Controller Adapter Card
£72.98
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews