Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenge 1 - Try not to shout the lines and do air drumming!
This album after one listen was not bad. However, for the rest of the day i had random lines from the songs in my head and had to have another fix, straight after work. I am currently sitting at my desk, screaming out the irresistably desperate vocals whilst putting the air drums through the beating of their life! Need i say more..... Anywhere iv played this album...
Published on 21 Aug 2007 by C. Ball

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Start with the second album first
This is a very typical post new-rave indie guitar album that sounds at times a bit too hyper, however good stuff lies here for sure.

"Colour It In" is a debut album that is more in line with off-kilter British art-rock bands like Blur, Magazine, Futureheads etc. Remember the records of the time by Bloc Party or The Rakes; this is an early-twenties crisis album...
Published on 9 Oct 2010 by Lucatron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenge 1 - Try not to shout the lines and do air drumming!, 21 Aug 2007
By 
C. Ball "Caner Tron" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colour It In (Audio CD)
This album after one listen was not bad. However, for the rest of the day i had random lines from the songs in my head and had to have another fix, straight after work. I am currently sitting at my desk, screaming out the irresistably desperate vocals whilst putting the air drums through the beating of their life! Need i say more..... Anywhere iv played this album people wanna know who it is. Get it and luve it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let The Maccabes colour in your world, 22 May 2007
This review is from: Colour It In (Audio CD)
This is a great slice of Indie rock, with a heavy dollop of pop thrown in for good measure "Colour It In" is one of the better albums of the month, and possibly the year.

There are many sparkling gems to be found on this record, this is worth buying alone for "About Your Dress" "All in Your Rows" and "First Love"

All of which were the singles, as the vast majority of you would be well aware of but the rest of the play list is just a good as those three singles.

This is a record that is great to listen to on the CD version, but this will take on another dimension live, one to check out at this years up and coming summer festivals.

The production on this one is second to none, all of the record are well put together, but are not so over produced that all the soul has been sucked out the songs, which has happened on so many records.

All the songs on this record are filled to the brim with youthful energy, extremely distinctive vocals and great lyrics.

I really think that this is a band to watch for the future, as think that as the years go on they will only become a greater force to be reckoned with.

Defiantly a band that is defiantly worth the entire buzz that they have been picking up prior to the release of this debut effort.

The songs gallop along like a pack of pedigree stallions running at ascot, this is a cracking debut effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year? (it's a big statement but the album matches it!), 22 May 2007
By 
N. Phillips (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colour It In (Audio CD)
So far this has to be my favourite album so far of 2007, energy in abundance with such a cool sound how can you go wrong! If you don't know, get to know, because you are missing out big time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put away the crayons and grab the headphones., 21 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Colour It In (Audio CD)
Very good debut that grows on you more and more.The sound quality however is something else entirely.Compared to my other cd`s this album sounds like it`s a super audio cd (SACD) when of course it isn`t. Just goes to show what can be achieved with humble old cd if the effort is made.Even if I didnt like the songs I would still listen to it, especially on headphones, for the sound alone.

The fact that I love the songs too makes this album all the more complete.

Best musical purchase I`ve made for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut from Brighton's finest., 20 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Colour It In (Audio CD)
Wearing a quintessentially English sound like a brand new pair of Dr. Martens, 'Colour it in' speaks of days gone by; a mid-20s crisis overcome by Indie coated staccato riffs and heartfelt lyrics adrift.

This band will one day lay alongside some of the classic British bands of our time (the Clash, the Kinks, the Cure) and firmly within the mindset of the 'myspace generation', to whom they are somewhat indebted.

This album will provide Sunday afternoon sing-alongs and Monday morning mime-alongs, it will bring a smile to your face, make you dance around your room and long to be sixteen again.

Yes this album has been much talked about and for the right reasons. It has the makings of a classic debut .

Bag your self a copy sharpish I say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars speechless, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour It In: Special Edition (Audio CD)
I didn't think it was possible to connect so much with an album, with songs that you didn't write yourself. This album got on such a personal in-depth level. What a performance, if you haven't had a listen already I highly suggest doing so, what are you waiting for? this album has got me through the last three months.
Beautiful, just beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An album, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Colour It In: Special Edition (Audio CD)
So, how do you try to convince a buyer on amazon to buy this album?
Well the truth is I can't. If you walk through HMV one day and hear one of their songs you'll be hooked.
If you're in the car one day and one of their songs comes on the radio you'll be hooked.
If your feet start to tap for no good reason the chances are it's the Maccabees,
and chances are it's this album.
The truth is I've got a beat for a spine and this album makes my feet and ears stand to attention.
I'm sure if Lennon were here he'd be in HMV, tapping his radio with his feet and scalp.
If you're still not sure, give each song a few plays because after all,
the songs we love the most are those we know the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars indie memories, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Colour It In: Special Edition (Audio CD)
I had listened to this album before purchasing it and never really listened to the lyrics. The lyrics are a bit random and don't always make sense but I like that light-hearted feel it brings. The songs remind me of an indie nightclub I used to go to and just makes me want to dance.
Since I had listened this album before, when it got to 'First Love' I noticed it was a different version, slightly slower and softer. There's also another song little at the end of the track. I was a bit disappointed at first as it wasn't the version I knew, but this one has grown on me now.
I'm going to see the Maccabees next week and I can't wait. They are definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpassing Expectations, 21 April 2007
By 
Mr. J. Milton "jambo234" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colour It In (Audio CD)
"First love, last love, it's only love, it's only love"

Maybe it is just love. But in this wonderful country full of its abnormal weather, knife carriers and drug dealers, we also have The Maccabees, who in my opinion, are the perfect indie rock band to have graced our country. They've appeared at the most ideal time, when bands like The Fratellis and The View are coming and going which most musical fans, only to stay with the most insignificant bunch of music fanatics hearts, the Radio 1 listeners, we were in need of help.

And this is why what I feel for the Maccabees is more than love, it's a hell of a lot of respect too. They're the band that we've all craved since the split of The Libertines, the band that any scientist would come up with if he were to be asked to come up with the "perfect indie band".

Indie is a term that I don't like to use, it's been a misused phrase, combined with other words to create other music genres, and I just don't think it makes much sense. Nevertheless, if "Colour It In" is indie, it's almost as good as it gets.

They're not different from many bands out there, however similar to Good Shoes, they've come out of the flock of wannabees superstar bands to stand out from the crowd, and they deserve to hold their heads high. You might think that an album that lasts 14 tracks may be a bit too long for a band like this, but most certainly not.

Orlando Weeks lyrically delivers in "About Your Dress", arguably the weakest song on the album, but still a thriller "You stood out like a sore thumb/The most beautiful sore thumb I've ever seen" and the sorrowful tale of "Lego", one of the most danceable songs on the record "So now we cant build castles or robots/ 'cause the pieces wont fit together". His voice literally stands out like a sore thumb, and is one of the principal reasons that this record works so well.

" Let's take our precious time about it"

Unlike what you would expect from a band like this, "Colour It In" grows on you until you are bowing down to the memorable riffs, the distinguishable drums, the spirit that is captured in the production. It's not instantly one that you can respect and rock out to at the same time, it takes time, but when you manage to adore it, you can truly sense that this is just one of the records that will define their future, their sure to be successful future.

"Precious Time" climbs above every other chant in the album though. And it won't take you long to realize that. Weeks' vocals sound gorgeous, " Toe to toe, there's nowhere to go" sounds like a lullaby with rhythm and catchiness, maybe not a rarity, but something pretty priceless, which sums up the song basically. Priceless. One of the best songs I've heard this year, full stop.

And the quieter moments, despite only two songs having quieter moments, they are some of the best. "Good Old Bill" the opener is extraordinary, captivating, love-able and the same can be said for swan song, "Toothpaste Kisses", sounding like Blaine Harrison of the Mystery Jets in his bedroom, and by the fifth time that the album has come to its finish, chances are, you'll have fallen in love with Brighton's greatest achievement since the Royal Pavilion. And chances are, it won't only be love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Debut!, 10 May 2007
By 
G. L. Williams "simplygregguk" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colour It In (Audio CD)
This is a band on the up and up and you will need to buy this album if you apreciate good rock music. They have been championed in NME and it is easy to see why, they have released one of the best albums of 2007 so far!

The album starts off very quickly with the song Good Old Bill and doesn't look back from there, it continues with their first release 'X-Ray' which is a storming song that will get you bopping along in no time! All In Your Rows is possibly the weakest song on here but that is saying something as it is a very good song, just not as good as the rest!

The album really takes off from here with 3 past releases. The first is 'Latchmere' and this is an instant classic. With the immortal line 'Latchmere's got a wave machine' being followed by a tide of immensly fast guitar sounds! The next song is 'About Your Dress' and is introduced by the lyric 'it's just what all young lovers do' and what a song it is, with a fantastic verse and chorus combination.

For me, the album's highlight now come, in the form of 'Precious Time.' The song hurtles along at a frightening pace but manages to be completly silent and still for the chorus of 'lets.just.take.our.precious.time.about.it' What a completley original way of making a song, brilliant.

The next three songs continue the tradition of brilliant speed and fantastic choruses. Utter brilliance! The album once again peaks, this time with 'First Love.' A live favourite really comes into its own on this album and the fact that it comes late in the album is a homage to the brilliance of the other tracks on this album.

The final two songs cap off a great album and 'Toothpaste Kisses' actually slows the album down!

Overall, you must buy this album, you will love it!

5 STARS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colour It In: Special Edition
Colour It In: Special Edition by The Maccabees (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews