Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ratatouille
This was the best family film I saw all year in 2007. What seems at first a simple story about a rat who wants to cook, turns out in fact to be something more, deeper and more subtle. It was funny, charming, and also very touching. The animation was truly stunning and both my husband and children aged 5 and 8 loved it. Wonderful.
Published on 27 Dec 2007 by Baker, Surrey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed with art cards
great film but not worth paying anything extra for art cards as they are poor quality
Published on 8 Oct 2009 by M. Saddique


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ratatouille, 27 Dec 2007
This was the best family film I saw all year in 2007. What seems at first a simple story about a rat who wants to cook, turns out in fact to be something more, deeper and more subtle. It was funny, charming, and also very touching. The animation was truly stunning and both my husband and children aged 5 and 8 loved it. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Anyone Can Cook!", 24 Mar 2014
This review is from: Ratatouille [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This review is for Sarah Sutton (Nyssa in `Doctor Who') who recommended this film as one of her favourites.

"In many ways, the work of a critic is easy." That's how Anton Ego began his review in the film, but I'm not going to write this the way he did it.

`Ratatouille' is a great film! I really enjoyed watching this over Christmas last year when I asked my parents for it upon recommendation. It's the eighth film produced by Disney/Pixar since 'Toy Story'. It's a really clever story and I would have to say is one of the most sophisticated films Pixar have made. A comedy that appeals to both children and adults. The film was written and directed by Brad Bird who previously directed 'The Incredibles' before this.

The film `Ratatouille' is set in Paris, France. It feels very French and makes you want to go there. The film has human characters and it also has rats. The story concerns one rat in particular called Remy (voiced by Patton Oswalt). Being a rat `means life is hard' for Remy. He has this highly acute sense of smell and prefers really good food instead of what rats normally - the garbage. Remy knows how to cook and wants to be a French chef in one of Paris' finest restaurants. He's a keen devotee of one of France's most famous chefs called Gusteau and follows his cookbook recipes. He speaks to Gusteau who appears as a figment of his imagination.

Remy has an older brother named Emile (voiced by Peter Sohn). Emile is a rat who loves eating and is easily impressed by his younger brother's sense of smell. He's surprised by what Remy can do. Remy can himself around Emile despite his brother not understanding him a lot of the time. I love the moments when Remy tries to teach Emile about how to eat good food and him not getting it. I also love it when the two get electrocuted from a chimney and they come out alive with a cheese-mushroom amalgamation with herbs that tastes `lightning-y' when they cook it.

Remy also had a dad Django (voiced by Brian Dennehy). Remy's dad's not so easily impressed and only sees Remy's smelling skills in being `poison checker'. Remy and his dad don't see eye to eye. Remy prefers having good food whereas Remy's dad sees the bad stuff as a necessity. Remy's dad tries to tell Remy to stay away from, but Remy seems keen to learn from humans on how they cook and finds them fascinating despite his father's warnings.

Pretty soon, Remy and his large family get forced out of the house they're investing by the old lady who lives there and guns them down. Remy gets separated from his family down a sewage tunnel and is lost and alone. But he soon finds himself up to the top and ends up in Paris - the city of romance! Remy is overjoyed seeing the city at night and discovers the Gusteau's restaurant nearby. Remy's keen to see what's it like and is off to Gusteau's in an instant.

Inside the restaurant, Remy sees everything. He knows what goes on in the kitchen and knows every member of staff from the sous chef to the saucier and poissonnier to the garde manger. When he discovers a `garbage boy' messing up with the soup, Remy's is horrified and ends up accidentally falling in the kitchen. Remy can't resist making the soup himself, so he gets to work and a wonderful sequence ensues as he's adding herbs, vegetables and all sorts mixing it up to form a fully-flavoured concoction of the soup for the dinner guests. He has a good time before he gets caught by the garbage boy, who happens to be Linguini (voiced by Lou Romano). A critic who is provided the soup loves it, and the kitchen staff are convinced Linguini made the soup rather than rat.

Linguini is ordered to throw Remy the rat out, but he simply can't when Remy looks at him with sad eyes through the glass jar he's kept in. Linguini knows that Remy the rat cooked the soup, despite what everyone else thinks. He then realises that Remy can understand him when he's nodding his head. Linguini can't believe it he's actually talk to this rat. He think he's going crazy. He knows that he can't cook but that the rat can. Despite the rat being modest - `Look, don't be so modest! You're a rat, for Pete's sake!', he asks Remy who he calls his `little chef' to help him make the soup again. Remy agrees.

The two figure out how they can work together. Linguini then discovers that Remy can control his arms and legs when pulling his hair, controlling him like a puppet. I found it really funny when Remy controls Linguini pulling his hair and they practice cooking. Linguini's having to be blindfolded and I found myself laughing when he got it wrong with pouring wine over his head and on Remy the rat, smashing an omelette through a window and squirting a tomato into Remy's face. Eventually the two work as a team and cook the soup exactly as before. They're soon challenged to come up with new recipes.

The rest of the kitchen staff include Skinner (voiced by Sir Ian Holm) who takes over Gusteau's restaurant. Skinner's a little guy with a manic ego and is pretty hot-tempered. He's not so impressed by Linguini and suspects instantly that his cooking skills are connected with some rat he keeps under his toque (chef's hat). He tries to catch him out, but somehow Linguini manages to give the impression he doesn't keep a rat.

There's also Colette (voiced by Janeane Garofalo) who works in the kitchen. She's the rotisseur (in charge of the roasts) and the only female chef in Gusteau's kitchen. He's a tough young lady who's not to be intimidated. Colette teaches Linguini how to cook and advises him very sharply how to do it. But the two grow to like each other in the film and Colette is glad Linguini listens to her advice. The two soon end up falling in love with each other that I found very sweet and lovely to watch.

Gusteau's restaurant becomes threatened when a restaurant critic named Anton Ego (voiced by Peter O'Toole) returns. He discovers Gusteau's has become popular again and is determined to give a damning review on it. He doesn't care for Gusteau's and is pretty menacing when it comes to being a critic. If he `doesn't love' the food he's given, he `won't swallow'. Learning of Linguini's successes, he's determined to come to Gusteau's to have some `perspective' and find out what their food is like now. Can Linguini and his `little chef' be able to win Ego's approval and not get a damning critical review by him?

The reason why I think this film works so well is that it focuses on how we as people perceive food and tells us how we shouldn't take it for granted. It encourages us to see food in a new light in terms of taste and texture. Tasting one flavour of food like cheese, then trying out a strawberry and putting the cheese and strawberry together adds a whole new spin and flavour that's really invigorating. Knowing how good a loaf of bread is isn't by its crust or touch by its sound. Listen to the sound of bread when you put it to your ears. The film also emphasises how `anyone can cook' that's a recurring theme throughout this film. I've cooked my own Spaghetti Bolognese and watching this film has inspired me to appreciate how good food cooking is. I have in mind to create my own lasagne someday or even making an omelette.

The special features on this DVD include the following. There are two Pixar shorts. The first is `Lifted' - a hilarious story about aliens in a spaceship transporting his man out of his house which was shown before `Ratatouille' in cinemas. And the second is `Your Friend The Rat' starring Remy and Emile that's pretty funny where they try to convince audiences to be friends with rats. There's a documentary called `Fine Food & Film' that focuses on how Pixar worked with chefs to make a film about cooking and food with director Brad Bird and chef Thomas Keller. There's also some `deleted scenes' from this movie. Also there a 'sneak peaks' for other Disney films including a trailer for the next Pixar film 'Wall-E'.

I'm really pleased I've watched this Pixar animated film. It's a really good-feel film that makes me think of `Ratatouille' whenever I go to restaurants like Frank & Benny's and have my Spaghetti Bolognese. I heard at film and comic cons they have characters dressed up from `Ratatouille' which is interesting. It's a really popular film from Pixar and even though I don't go for animation films nowadays, I have to say `Ratatouille' is one of their finest and greatest. Really enjoyed it! I'm sure you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maximise your HDTV!, 15 Oct 2011
By 
T. Butcher (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ratatouille [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Whilst I shalln't go into a great deal of depth regarding the actual film (all other reviews have focused on this in great depth so please refer to those!) I'll simply tell you it's more of that Pixar brilliance you come to expect from the guys with the little lamp!

I wanted to focus on one tiny aspect of this Blu-Ray which very few have mentioned (perhaps they don't know it's there!) and that is the calibration tool provided on this disk! Now, for the technophobes out there when you receive your HDTV it's all shiny and nice and the picture quality is most probably good. But in order to get the very most out of your Blu-Ray films and HD Games you need to play around with some of the more in-depth settings in your TV's menu. This can be confusing if you've never done it before however included in the special features of this disk is an easy to follow guide on how to do this! Spend 5 minutes tweaking the settings as you're told to by the disk and your viewing experience (Visual & Audio) will be GREATLY improved!

I think that this alone is a great reason to buy this blu-ray as some calibration disks can cost crazy amounts! So at the very least rent this blu-ray!

Once again, great film but a brilliant little tool that will change the way you view all of your films!

If you have any questions add a comment to this review and I'll get back to you ASAP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANIMATION AT THE LEVEL OF A WORK OF ART, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Robert Blenheim (Daytona Beach, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ratatouille [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Possibly the 2007 film that is closest to perfection is Pixar's "Ratatouille", an animated comedy that seems to focus on the story of a rat named Remy who has a sense of smell and a great talent for the culinary arts, and who becomes a secret chef at a French restaurant, managing to be a hit to the gourmets who don't know their chef is a rodent.

But something magical happens about half way through: The focus switches more to the story of the scullery kitchen lad and his fellow kitchen superiors (including the dominating Colette, voiced by Janeane Garofalo) and we realize that the human animal was really the film's main subject all along. Its visual look is like great French paintings and its animation state-of-the-art, thanks to directors Brad Bird and Jan Pinkava, all set off by a wonderful music score that breathes life, love and Paris in every bar. Amazingly, the film's poetic setting contrasting the Parisian slums (the world of the rats) with the high-class restaurant for connoisseurs reminds one of the best of Ernst Lubitsch (like the romantic setting of the garbage scow in his 1932 "Trouble in Paradise"), but it is Lubitsch as if some Preston Sturges slapstick had wandered into it.

This is a marvelous, life-affirming masterpiece, and one of the two films of 2007 that uses food to express a deep and profound love of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and touching, 15 Feb 2008
I was less than enthusiastic when my husband brought this one home, but what a magical few hours it turned out to be. I adored this tale of Remy, his wonderful clan, acerbic father, genial, dotty brother and all. The human characters were equally as warmly portrayed, genuinely likeable. The villains had a touch of style, too. And there were many moments that had myself and my husband laughing out loud, some of them very subtle. (I loved the fact that the rats, when threatened, ran TO the boats, for example. A fun twist on rats leaving sinking ships!) I even cried at the happy ending. One we'll watch again. Treat yourselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY BUY BUY !!!, 11 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Buy this DVD. It is one you will watch again and again. For the cynics the story is predictable, but for the rest of us its how it gets there that matters. The detail is amazing, like one of the villains uses a somewhat rare French Facel Vega motor car. Perfect as a villains car. The romantic interest uses a powerful Motorbike. Perfect. The rest of the DVD and its detail almost brings the very smells of France, Paris and the food to life. I love the story, it plays well in these modern times,with modern villains. It might even get you to be inspired in the kitchen! Pixar and Disney have truly done it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!, 9 April 2008
This review is from: Ratatouille [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
My husband & I saw this at the Cinema (without our children) and loved it! The story of Remy, the rat with a genius for cooking is fantastic. It moves along at a cracking pace using all the creative, high energy, visual effects that you would expect from PIXAR but without losing emotional connection. SPOILER Alert: The morality story of how this lowliest, most vilified of creatures has the talent and finds the spirit to climactically topple the opinion of society's most revered judge, the aptly named food critic Anton Ego (superbly voiced by the one and only Peter O'Toole - who undergoes his own journey of transformation) is wonderfully uplifting. As others have mentioned the sight of a kitchen crawling with rats is so uncomfortable, that it also makes you question your own prejudices, and whether you really believe that `Anyone can cook'. There is a wonderful extra on the DVD where Remy and his brother explain the bad press rats have had and how The Plague was not their fault...!

Then of course there is the sensory experience in the film. A lovely depiction of the sights, sounds and smells of Paris, the wonderful way Remy tries to explain flavour and fusion of flavours to his brother depicted by colour and music and not least, the food preparation itself. You can almost taste the soup and of course the fantastic ratatouille that Remy prepares at the end.

By the way a tip if like us, you have children under 10. They loved the DVD with the English-descriptive setting turned on (initially by accident, but hey!). This narrative fills in many of the visual cues that they would otherwise miss.

Lifted - the failed alien abduction was hilarious and is also included on the DVD along with loads of other fascinating extras.

Entertaining, taste-bud and thought-provoking stuff, top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RATATOUILLE [2007] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray], 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
RATATOUILLE [2007] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] ACADEMY AWARD® WINNER – 2007 BEST ANIMATED FEATURE!

From the creators of 'Cars' and 'The Incredibles' brings to you an animated adventurous breakthrough hilarious comedy with something for everyone. With delightful characters, experience Paris from a new perspective, and savour a gourmet Blu-ray 3D experience for the first time ever!

In one of Paris’ finest restaurants, Remy [Patton Oswalt], a determined young rat, dreams of becoming a renowned French chef. Torn between his family’s wishes and his true calling, Remy and his pal Linguini [Lou Romano] set in motion a hilarious chain of events that turns the City of Lights upside down.

Experience Ratatouille with the revolutionary clarity and spectacular audio enhancement. It’s a rare treat you’ll enjoy again and again. But a word of warning to you Blu-ray Collectors in North America, that this Blu-ray 3D is UK Exclusive, and is only available in the Region B/2 version.

FILM FACT: ‘Ratatouille’ was nominated for 5 Oscars including Best Animated Feature Film, which it won. At the time, the film held the record for the greatest number of Oscar nominations for a computer animated feature film. The film was nominated for 5 Academy Awards® including Best Sound Editing, Best Sound Mixing, Best Original Screenplay and Best Animated Film. The music for ‘Ratatouille’ gave Michael Giacchino his first Academy Award® nomination for Best Original Score as well as his first Grammy Award for Best Score Soundtrack Album.

Voice Cast: Patton Oswalt, Lou Romano, Ian Holm, Brian Dennehy, Peter Sohn, Peter O'Toole, Brad Garrett, Janeane Garofalo, Will Arnett, Julius Callahan, James Remar, John Ratzenberger, Teddy Newton, Tony Fucile, Jake Steinfeld, Brad Bird, Stéphane Roux, Jack Bird, Andrea Boerries, Marco Boerries, Lindsey Collins, Thomas Keller, Brad Lewis and Lori Richardson

Director: Brad Bird and Jan Pinkava (co-director)

Producers: Andrew Stanton, Brad Lewis, Galyn Susman and John Lasseter

Screenwriters: Brad Bird (original story), Jan Pinkava (original story) and Jim Capobianco (original story)

Composer: Michael Giacchino

Cinematography: Robert Anderson and Sharon Calahan

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.39:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, English: 5.1 Dolby Digital EX, English: 2.0 Dolby Digital, English: 2.0 Descriptive Video Service, English: 5.1 PCM EX, French: 5.1 DTS Digital Surround and German: 5.1 DTS Digital Surround

Subtitles: English SDH, French and German

Running Time: 111 minutes

Region: Region B/2

Number of discs: 2

Studio: PIXAR Animation Studios / Walt Disney Pictures

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – When PIXAR first announced 'Ratatouille' as its next project, a lot of people were sceptical, especially an animated film about rats cooking in a French restaurant? It sounded completely unappetising and, to be blunt, like commercial suicide. How do you sell such a potentially sophisticated and just plain foreign concept to the American masses? As big a fan as I'd been of the company's stellar past work, I just couldn't see this one as being a hit.

But, oh ye of little faith! 'Ratatouille' proved to be the little rodent that could, not only surmounting its marketing challenges with ease (it's grossed nearly $600 million at the worldwide box office, and still counting), but proving to be 2007's most delightful surprise. It's an absolutely enchanting concoction and a movie so imaginative and delightful that yes, I would rank it right up there with the absolute best that PIXAR has yet produced.

'Ratatouille' 3D is deceptively sublime, a stunning film that appears as light as a soufflé but is really quite a sophisticated dish. Although the concept of a talking rat film is hardly anything new. PIXAR has never been interested in churning out the same old kind of frantic, cluttered, pop-culture-referencing stew that usually passes for an animated movie these days. Instead, under the mindful direction of Brad Bird who brought you 'The Incredibles' and 'The Iron Giant' we get a story that's downright literary, and a dynamic cinematic style that borrows from such a disparate bag of classical traditions, that frankly it's unlike anything I've ever seen in a mainstream animated feature. Who else but PIXAR could combine the slapstick farce of Charlie Chaplin, elegant visuals right out of a Seurat painting, and a Cyrano de Bergerac inspired tale about a bunch of chefs and rats cooking together, and somehow make it universally resonant?

In 'Ratatouille' 3D Brad Bird returns to two key themes he also explored in 'The Incredibles' and the importance of pursuing excellence over mediocrity, and the always-unbreakable bonds of family. 'Ratatouille' frames its story in the most unlikely of places, however, and with the most unlikely of heroes. Remy (voiced astonishingly well by comedian Patton Oswalt) is a blue rat blessed with one very cultured palate. He's smart, fastidious, talented and filled with grand dreams of being the world's greatest chef, much to the consternation of his slacker but still good-natured brother Emile [Peter Sohn] and his grizzled father Django [Brian Dennehy], who both find his determination to create culinary masterpieces a sure sign of madness.

Following an unexpected series of events that see Remy and his family evicted from their rural haven, the plot kicks into high gear, with Remy forced to escape through the sewers (in the first of one of many beautifully staged action sequences), and winding up in Paris. Following his nose as much as his ambition, he discovers a small restaurant once owned by the legendary chef Aususte Gusteau, whose famous motto ("Anyone can cook!") had an immediate influence on Remy. Sneaking in late one night to add a little spice to a soup, the next day the dish is suddenly a sensation.

This leads to the film's odd-couple pairing, as the restaurant's completely untalented garbage boy, Linguini [Lou Romano], is pegged as the chef of the soup. Desperate to keep his new star job, Linguini employs Remy's services as a "ghost chef," which leads to a classic series of complications. Can Remy and Linguini find a way to work together and avoid discovery? Things get even more complicated after Linguini falls for the kitchen's beautiful Colette [Janeane Garofalo], and a particularly nasty restaurant critic [a brilliant and terrific Peter O'Toole] begins asking one too many questions about the nature of the dish.

3D works on every level. It's funny and intelligent, wonderfully written and performed, and has an incredible visual zest and buoyancy. An exceptional attention to detail has always been a hallmark of the best Pixar films, and 'Ratatouille' is superlative even by their high standards. Bird, and his team of writers, animators and actors have fully conceived and executed a unique universe that feels alive and real. It's also a structural feat of engineering, with Bird effortlessly alternating between rodent and human perspectives. This is masterful storytelling, not just great animation or cute characters, and by the time 'Ratatouille's 111 minutes have flown by, we feel like we've only scratched the surface of this magical, fantastic new world.

Ultimately, what impressed me the most about 'Ratatouille' 3D is that it dares to be totally original. Once again, PIXAR has proven that it is not only by far the best producer of animated movies on the planet, especially now in the stunning 3D version, but it's a company that has no intention of resting on its creative laurels. I can only hope PIXAR continues to nurture these instincts, because for me, they've never stepped wrong. 'Ratatouille' 3D stands tall among ever-growing canon of PIXAR classics, and I can't wait to see what's next on their menu.

Blu-ray Video Quality – PIXAR and Disney presents 'Ratatouille' in a totally awesome 1080p 3D video image at its original theatrical aspect ratio of 2.39:1, and every single pixel is, well totally perfect. This is simply the best 3D high-definition presentation I've ever seen of an animated feature, apart from the 3D ‘UP.’ A direct digital-to-digital conversion, the transfer is as delicious as the greatest French feast you've ever had. The film's colour palette is just absolutely gorgeous, with delicate shades of pinks, blues and greens contrasting wonderfully with deeper crimsons and purples. The finely-tuned shadings and gradients are so smoothly rendered that the image leaps off the screen. This is gloriously three-dimensional animation, and the sense of depth and texture to the image is exactly what high-definition is all about. All other elements of this presentation are superb as well as the blacks, contrast and sharpness are spot-on. Simply put the picture quality of this Blu-ray edition of 'Ratatouille' 3D is absolutely flawless.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio track on this Blu-ray disc is absolutely stunning. 'Ratatouille' 3D is more warm and subtle, but no less engrossing. This is a perfect example of how fantastic great sound design can be and should be even when it's not ramming you over the head with bombast. This soundtrack is not unlike a great fine wine. From every word of dialogue to the wonderful score by Michael Giacchino, it all just seems to slide out of the speakers. Completely constructed in the studio, it's just so clean and smooth. The use of surrounds is just as elegant. Atmosphere is king here, with transparent pans between channels and excellent spatiality, which delivers a constant sense of envelopment yet is never overpowering. And lest one thinks dynamics might be wimpy, low bass is certainly deep enough when needed, especially waiting for the lightning bolt to hit the 2 rats on the roof, well really feel it, and the robust highs are equally wonderful. Dialogue is perfectly rendered, and I never even thought of touching the volume button on my remote.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Fine Food and Film [Feature Documentary] “Fine Food and Film” takes a look inside the kitchen of world-renowned chef Thomas Keller and the studio of Academy Award® winning director Brad Bird. Find out how these two artists get their ideas, inspire their crews and instil passion and creativity into their work.

Animated Shorts:

1. Your Friend The Rat: Rats are Disgusting? Or just misunderstood? Join Remy and Emile, as they attempt to persuade humanity that rats aren’t all that bad.

2. Lifted: A young alien student tests the patience of an increasingly weary instructor, as he attempts to abduct an innocently slumbering farmer in LIFTED, the comical latest short film from PIXAR Animated Studios.

Cine-Explore Features:

Animated Briefing: Behind-the-scenes individual videotaped segments featuring Brad Bird leading his story team through various meetings about a particular scene. Each runs between 3 and 5 minutes, and combine to make this is a very tight but comprehensive hour-long documentary. 13 Chapters.

Documentary Shorts: A behind-the-scenes look at the making of Ratatouille. 10 Chapters.
Deleted Scenes: Early story explanations in scenes that were deleted from the final film. They are Chez Gusteau, First Day and Meet Gusteau.

Deleted Shots R.I.P.: A tribute to shots cut from the final film sequences left on the cutting room floor. Actually, this extra is a bit of a trick 'n treat, but I won't spoil the surprise, just watch it on your own and have a chuckle. 5 Chapters.

Gusteau’s Gourment Game: Anyone can cook, but are you talented enough to run Gusteau’s kitchen? I personally gave up on this, as it was far too complicated and they should of made it so much clearer on how to set up a meal?

Extras:

The Will: Here is short 3 minute vignette with composer Michael Giacchino, who offers the opportunity to see a scene with two different scores, the one that appears in the final version, and an alternate that was shelved.

Remembering Dan Lee: A very sweet 3 minute tribute to a young PIXAR animator who passed away during the making of 'Ratatouille.' Whose untimely death from cancer, cut short a really wonderful career.

Finally, 'Ratatouille' 3D stands tall among the tallest of PIXAR animation accomplishments. It's adventurous, witty, visually captivating and utterly charming. This Blu-ray release has now been brought to us in a stunning 3D presentation that is now even more fantastic, boasting absolutely stunning perfect 3D image and stunning audio, plus a great package of beautiful extras. As you will of seen I have reviewed loads of next-gen 2D and 3D Blu-ray discs over the last year and a half, and most of them have received a perfect five star rating overall, but I'm happy to report that 'Ratatouille' 3D has been added to my list of other stunning 3D Blu-ray presentations for me and of course PIXAR goes to the top of the list. This is a definite must-own disc that no Blu-ray Collection should be without. And as you will have read I had the stunning 'Ratatouille' 2D Limited Edition SteelBook, which has now disappeared and I now have upgraded to the ultimate 'Ratatouille' 3D version, that has exceeded my expectations in having the ultimate version and as usual PIXAR have done a very professional presentation and is up there on par with my PIXAR animation ‘UP’ Limited Edition SteelBook 3D Blu-ray and I can assure you that 'Ratatouille' 3D is totally stunning, and I cannot praise it enough, as it has awesome 3D images that will blow you away and it is such an honour to have another stunning PIXAR animation added to my ever increasing PIXAR Animation Studios Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ratatouille, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Ratatouille [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Ratatouille is one of the best films of 2007, as it's a charming tale of a rat named Remy who's true desire isn't to rob garbage like his friends and family but to cook marvellous dishes in Paris. When he is separated from the other rats he discovers that he has been in Paris his whole life. Guided by the imaginary ghost of his idol chef Gusteau, he quickly befriends a clumsy garbage man named Linguini, who Remy helps become one of the finest chefs in France. The film also includes an evil scheme to shut down the Gusteau's restaurant, a romance between Linguini and a female chef, and a terrifying critic with a reputation of disliking Gusteau's food. The all-star cast are also excellent: Patton Oswalt as Remy, Janeane Garofalo as the woman chef, Ian Holm as the money grubbing villain chef and the wonderful Peter O'Toole as the critic. With no flaws I could see, Ratatouille is a funny, clever and chearful film which will entertain viewers of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The rats have gone all potty., 20 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. Roy Williams "mid point" (Croydon,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratatouille [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Yeah well,don't think about rats in the kitchen,what you gonna do,but just enjoy the sheer madness of it.
With animation,the only limit is your imagination.Good concept of yanking hair to control arms.
Great opening sequence of old bat blasting away at her own ceiling.Cool lightening strike too.
Using an imaginary ghost character to move the plot along works surprisingly well,and doesn't
seem out of place.Well,if you can get immersed in a wacky restaurant comedy,then everything else
just flows from that.Some pretty good scenes when romance is in the air.
I liked the extras on the disc too,It's a very revealing interview with the creators.
I first saw it a number of years ago and it's lost nothing during that time,
with frequent laugh out loud moments and the film ending with a suitably unlikely twist.
Amazingly good patronising voice for the food critic.Check out the extras for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ratatouille [DVD] [2007]
Ratatouille [DVD] [2007] by Jan Pinkava (DVD - 2008)
£11.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews