Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love costume drama, 18 Jan 2010
By 
C. Turner "digitizeme" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection: Cranford / North & South / Wives & Daughters [DVD] (DVD)
....you can hardly do better than this. A litany of British acting talent, strong storylines, really tremendous production values, this is very hard to beat. Cranford is more gentle and sunny than North and South which is darker and grittier but does give the lie to the idea that this type of drama cannot deal with tough issues. Universal themes which cross the centuries, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wives and daughters, 26 April 2009
By 
A. Mead "Roman Expat" (Roma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection: Cranford / North & South / Wives & Daughters [DVD] (DVD)
This is without doubt one of the very best period dramas ever done by the BBC - its full of humanity, our strenghts and failings, beutifully acted and presented - it must have cost a fotune in costumes and equipment - a thoroughly satisfying experience to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really "feel-good" production, 3 May 2009
By 
is "is" (Europe, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection: Cranford / North & South / Wives & Daughters [DVD] (DVD)
There is such a good athmosphere about these TV-series, and I love them. If you are a Jane Austen-fan or if you like costume films in general, don't hesitate to purchase this product. You will get your money's worth!!! / is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English Classics, 28 Nov 2013
By 
M. R. Bennett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection: Cranford / North & South / Wives & Daughters [DVD] (DVD)
Three of my favourite Gaskell novels brought to life on the screen by the good old BBC. I would still recommend reading the books though because there is so much more to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection, 9 May 2013
By 
Karil "Karil" (Provence, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection: Cranford / North & South / Wives & Daughters [DVD] (DVD)
Delightful! I marathoned through the three DVDs with the greatest transport into another century. Excellent acting, wonderful characterization, costuming, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was a wonderful addition, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection: Cranford / North & South / Wives & Daughters [DVD] (DVD)
I only wished to buy north and south but saw this collection. I had heard of wives and daughters and did want to see it so I brought it as it was a good price. I was delighted with all the dvds. It turned me into an Elizabeth Gaskell fan. I was a bit reluctant with Cranford as I am quite young but found it incredibly funny and entertaining. North and South is a wonderful love story whilst Wives and daughters is also a love story but played out differently with more depth into the relationship of step mother and step daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy nostalgia, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection: Cranford / North & South / Wives & Daughters [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say. The collection of dvds is great, BBC at it's best. All of the dvds are brilliant and it is fantastic to wile away the hours in nostalgia (it was never really this romantic!). A great gift for romantics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection., 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection: Cranford / North & South / Wives & Daughters [DVD] (DVD)
Cranford: Is a wonderful warm and inviting story about a small town called Cranford. A group of social single women who all believe that they have the answer to all the problems that a small town has. The town has a small secret that has them all worried about how it will affect them all. It all turns out well and there is a lovely ending to the story.

North & South: Is a very moving story about a daughter of a middle-class parson, Margaret Hale, as we see the many changes she must go through before she changes her attitude towards the mill owner. I love Elizabeth Gaskell's stories, they are so warm, intelligent, moving and always surprising the viewer.

Wives & Daughters: Is a moving story about a very loving daughter whose life changes when her father who is a widower is remarried. The stepmother and her daughter cause a huge amount of grief for the Molly and her father.
Molly's life takes on a new meaning when things are sorted out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 29 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection: Cranford / North & South / Wives & Daughters [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely love this collection. Historical drama at it's best. I can watch them over and over again. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Three series done expertly by the BBC., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth Gaskell BBC Collection: Cranford / North & South / Wives & Daughters [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen all of these on television and liked them very much. This video was a present for Christmas for my daughter-in-law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews