Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars82
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2014
Fantastic,Tom Hardy and Timothy Spall are magnificent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
Everytime I've watch a new film version of a Dickens' work, I think I've seen the best and that it couldn't be beaten - well this version of Oliver Twist is right up there. Fagin is superb as are the other characterisations. Shall be able to watch this repeatedly before it's bettered
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
Excellent very good version of the classic story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
The best version of of the story i think
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
Another version !! But good nontheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2007
This is a very confusing adaption of Oliver Twist with a werid storyline that takes you in different areas and away from the main story.
Oliver is played by William Miller who does everything he can to milk out the sympathy from the viewer.
Fagin, in this adaption, had turned into the panto, with a unusual voice and eye make-up I Found it a werid way to have Fagin made.
Sikes, seemed to be trying too hard to be nasty and you were able to tell he was acting all the time, this was the same with Fagin.
I thought the best acting was given by the women, Nancy, Rose and Mr Brownlows maid. I have to admitt the Mr Brownlow himself was very well played.
Overall I Would not recommend to buy this, espeually for that price.

STD
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
The BBC has done Shakespeare, Austen, Dickens, et al to death and are thus struggling here to relate the same old plot in a new way. Few writers today are as good as those three, so British tv is stuck with endless, and increasingly-desperate, retreads of overly-familiar material.

The worst aspect of this adaptation is exactly what scuppered so many in the past, there is no real story because there are no real themes - just visual verisimilitude.

The White belief in self-fulfilling concepts like Social Darwinism, White supremacism, social snobbery, etc are never explored in favor of acontextual potting; along with characters to whom things are done, without rhyme or reason, but who never really act as agents in their own lives. People here are never masters of their own destiny, such that Oliver Twist simply moves across the barren landscape of a culture lacking in empathy.

As a drama-documentary of the times in which it is set - and its present-day legacy - this dramaturgical lack is fine, but as a solid piece of dramaturgy it is as lacking in feeling as most of its characters.

As Blacks are so often represented in White dramas, the poor are presented as completely unable to better themselves without the intervention of both Pale and Middle-class saviors. Such false genetics used in place of true demographics tells us as much about today’s makers of television as it does about the White culture in which it is set.

One wonders why modern tv is so obsessed with evading any truths about the culture that spawned it. Like the culture itself, the BBC remains hopelessly mired in a past that is always misrepresented. Modernizing the dialog (& the Carry On humor) only make the whole thing seem more anachronistic than ever before: As with genealogy, there really is no future in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
really enjoyed it for the second time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Big fan of Tom Hardy so i enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 March 2008
Undoubtedly the poorest adaptation of Oliver Twist I have ever seen, and after last years superb adaptation of Bleak House, a really huge disappointment. The cast is utterly wasted and much of their acting is wooden. It really has the feel of a bad end of the pier pantomime. As for the music, it was totally out of keeping with the story. The BBC have made some great TV versions of Dickens novels, but this isn't one of them. Writer Sarah Phelps should never be let loose on a script again, and executive producer/Head of BBC Drama Serials should be sacked for wasting licence payers money. Lets hope the forthcoming adaptation of Little Dorrit is a darn sight better. The previous reviewer said they were gutted when Oliver Twist finished. I was gutted a long time before that!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)