Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Clever and Funny Series
... BUT - not as good as series 1.

Let's be plain, whilst this is still head and shoulders above almost every other piece of situation comedy out there, it is just not as good as Series 1. The first series was utterly compelling and exceptional.

By moving from a twin track to a single track storyline, a lot of the depth and subtlety are lost. The...
Published on 25 Aug. 2008 by Mr. M. Poole

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sad disappointment after the first series
I loved the first series - it was both very funny and original. The second series did not come up to standard - the original idea of two soulmates who had never met was abandoned in favour of a fairly conventional "will she ever find love" scenario, and while it had an occasional funny moment these rested mainly on Alice's two assistants. The main plot relied far too much...
Published on 8 Jun. 2008 by Skeadugenga


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Clever and Funny Series, 25 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
... BUT - not as good as series 1.

Let's be plain, whilst this is still head and shoulders above almost every other piece of situation comedy out there, it is just not as good as Series 1. The first series was utterly compelling and exceptional.

By moving from a twin track to a single track storyline, a lot of the depth and subtlety are lost. The new half hour format also does not give the stories as much room to breathe. There are still some very touching moments, but we felt the resolution of the relationship with Gill was most disheartening after the wonderful set up of season 1.

Still - very funny and well worth watxhing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than series 1, 24 Mar. 2012
By 
A. E. Hardman "Keir MH" (Crewe UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Most reviewers view this second series as good, but inferior to the first: I disagree.

For me the main weakness of Series 1 was the dual lead characters, with the quite separate scenes which could almost have been separate series. Of course the creative tension concerned the possibility of the 2 lead characters being obviously meant for each other if only they could meet one day. Well for me that wore thin pretty quickly, and I found myself waiting for the action to return to the girls at the perfume counter.

Well the American male lead was unavailable for Series II, which means that we can concentrate on Alice and the girls.... and this is a big improvement. The action now takes the form of a more traditional sitcom, focussing on the hilarious and usually very rude love lives of the 3 girls, whose characters have grown to fill the space left by the male lead. Consistently inventive and sometimes a trifle shocking but always laugh out loud funny.

Put on this DVD, open a bottle of wine and forget about your worries for half an hour or so: terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than suggested, 3 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The two previous reviewers who gave this second series a paltry one and two stars either didn't see it or hadn't the subtlety to see how well it maintained the standards of series one. I agree that it was odd to drop the original plot-line, but I can see why the writer chose to do so. Pursuing a teasing storyline like that (will they meet? when will they meet? If they meet, what then? -- not unlike the Niles and Daphne story in Frasier) can not be allowed to continue beyond a certain point, and it certainly would have worn viewers' patiences thin if it had run through series two. Tamsin Grieg and her two cronies at the cosmetics counter are in themselves more than enough to support any number of sitcom series. The writing is still excellent, and the wit and humour always above average. It's simply shameful to award so few stars, bearing in mind how much really bad TV comedy there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sad disappointment after the first series, 8 Jun. 2008
By 
Skeadugenga (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first series - it was both very funny and original. The second series did not come up to standard - the original idea of two soulmates who had never met was abandoned in favour of a fairly conventional "will she ever find love" scenario, and while it had an occasional funny moment these rested mainly on Alice's two assistants. The main plot relied far too much on drama and too little on comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a cut above the rest, 23 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 1 of Love Soup was a real treat. Subtle, witty and poignant. I am pleased to see that the writers haven't continued in the same vein in Series 2, as to do so would, for me, have ruined the ending of Series 1.

This is still a cut above the rest. Yes, Series 1 was better, but this series is still fantastic and very watchable. As always, Tamsin Greig is wonderful. If you liked the first series I would be surprised if you don't like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Just what I was looking for at a great price - very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 May 2015
By 
S. Howarth (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Not as good as the first series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great series, 13 Sept. 2010
By 
D. J. Colledge (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I already have series one on DVD so thought I'd get the second as I missed it when it was on in 2008. Have to say it's just as great as the first series, I had my doubts when I noticed Michael landes wasn't in it but it still shines even without one of the main characters. If you liked one foot in the grave then this is definitely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Soup, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
M. Wyburn "Martyn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I too was disappointed in the change of tac in the second series of Love Soup but felt that David Renwick pulled the change off. The series made me laugh, cry and rewind to go over certain bits to make sure I really understood what happened. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soup's Off, 28 May 2008
By 
Andrew K. Johnson (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I was excited to see the release of the second series of love Soup as I thought the first season was fantastic. Unfortunately this series is awful. The writing is strained, the stories are not funny or even interesting. The first series had a compelling tension between Michael Landes and Tasmin Greig, the two main characters. Michael Landes's character is not in this series at all (apart from a small part in one episode).

It's hard to believe the same writer delievered these scripts, they are dull!!

Buy the first season, rent this one if you have to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD]
Love Soup - Series 2 [DVD] by Tamsin Greig (DVD - 2008)
£2.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews