Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the new batch
I very much prefer the older Doctor Who stories, and there are elements in this story which confirm why. This is a good plot, although the end aim of the villain seems typically over the top as is the wont of the current writing. There are some very good characters and performances which also helps.

While there is some of the usual farce and things taken to the...
Published on 22 July 2012 by Anon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Bought it as a present.
Published 2 months ago by Stuart Gill


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the new batch, 22 July 2012
By 
Anon (Cyberspace) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
I very much prefer the older Doctor Who stories, and there are elements in this story which confirm why. This is a good plot, although the end aim of the villain seems typically over the top as is the wont of the current writing. There are some very good characters and performances which also helps.

While there is some of the usual farce and things taken to the very extreme, I still found this story very enjoyable. I must have missed the very opening scene before as that in itself may have put me off, too much special effect and not a terribly typical old skool way of the Doctor appearing on scene. I sometimes wonder if the writer isn't at Primary school with some of the scripts.

Thoroughly enjoyable overall, although I suspect with the repetition cycle of these that few haven't already seen it. If you are a bit like me and tend to avoid the newer series then give it a try. Ironic really the other Doctor Who DVDs I bought recently were actually somewhat dull and uninspiring, they gained from being multiple parters.

I will say the DVD could have benefitted from not having the next episode trailer at the end, but maybe as an extra. That may have been the BBC's fault and just the way TV sells its products these days. About time someone in charge realised they can show a trailer for the next programme and minimise the credits AFTER the cast has gone through, noone really cares about the gaffer, tea lady etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Voyage of the Damned, 5 May 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
When disaster hits the Titanic, the Doctor uncovers a threat to the whole human race.

25 Dec 2007

Includes:
Mini Episode Time Crash
Doctor Who Confidential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Poseidon Robots of Death", 11 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
This is the story that confirmed David Tennant as the most successful Doctor since Sir Tom Baker with over 12 million tuning in.
To begin with I didn't like the slightly re-worked theme. But that's a minor quibble.
This is more akin to the 1st Christmas special "The Christmas Invasion" (still my favourite xmas adventure)than 2006's high paced romp "The Runaway Bride". The story itself is no great shakes, it ticks all the boxes; new monsters, Earth under threat, new companion, Christmas references but doesn't hang together brilliantly.
But this being the Police Box Show, even when the plotting's a little wonky, you can just sit back and enjoy the ride, and it is a good ride.

Tennant is on good form as ever, totally the Doctor, not pining for Martha, but then he didn't love her. Once the crash of the Titanic space ship into the Tardis is sorted, no time is wasted getting him in the thick of things.

There is a good new companion in Kylie (whose acting I was never a fan of, but she's V. good here) although her fate's a little obvious. the host are a little like the Robot's of Death from Uncle Tom's time, but they work well.
There is a mixture of supporting characters, mostly working very well and some nice humour about Earth xmas customs and everyone stying in for fear of more "alien intervention".

There is a touch of disaster movie about the thing and it is clear writer Russell T. is a Poseidon fan.To be honest on the downside, it is a little long and needed better pacing to sustain it's 70 minutes but still enjoyable stuff.

2 important extra pieces are supporting this story. The 1st is a Dr Who Confidential on the Mkaing fo it which is the usual imformative mix of footage and interview and also the Children in Need mini-adventure "Time Crash". Written by Steven Moffat, this witty sketch sess the 5th Doctor appear in the 10th Doctor's tardis and the 2 argue and then try to sort the problem out. Witty dialogue covers topics such as why the 5th Doctor looks older, whether the 10th Doctor is a "fan" and how the Doctor was old when he was younger. A very enjoyable skit!

If you're a big Police Box Show fan, then you'll have fun with this package although it's a less obvious purchase for the more casual viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer fun, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
A great story. The Doctor is very well played by Tennant. His co-star (Kylie) is beautiful, bright and tragic. All you could want! The fat couple are really far tooo stereotypes, but I found I wanted to excuse this as they played it so well. As a spoof on disaster movies, it works well. As a Doctor Who, pretty well, as science-fiction maybe not so convincing (Doctor Who becoming more and more a spoof of itself).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the box., 22 Jun. 2008
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
This is a Christmas episode. It is written specifically to keep the kids happy Christmas evening while the parents tidy up the wrapping paper.
It does just that.

No, it's not the best episode of Doctor Who.
No, the story won't change your life or your view of the world.
No, Kylie isn't the best Companion ever to be on the show.
But yes, it WILL keep you entertained for the duration.

If you have kids they'll love it.
If you are an old-school fan the buy it for the 'Time Crash' special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iceberg. . . ? No, Meteorites Captain!!, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Great excitement, adventure and emotion. Bought it and watched with 7year old daughter for a project on the original Titanic. We both enjoyed the science fiction 'spin' on the Titanic story and revelled in David Tennant's Doctor Who. We are both fans of The Doctor and this was a wonderful stand alone adventure. Perfect for a Saturday evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing. Loved it., 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Smashing. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas fun but is it Who?, 11 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
Stuffed with Christmas grub I was more than happy to slump before the telly and watch Dr Who. I have watched it all my life and have enjoyed most of it. The recent shows have gone from OK to absolutely brilliant. The Christmas shows however I find tend to try and cater for anyone, and not just the fans, they don't seem to have much in common with the on going series and are really just mindless one offs - yet entertaining crowd pleaser all the same (We wont get a Christmas equivalent of 'Girl in the fire place' or 'Blink'. Nothing much to tax your brain over the turkey) You can see why they do it like this - it grabs the ratings. Christmas is a time when the makers have fun, its a pantomime really and nothing more. This seems to wind up many fans who seem to have forgotten the true spirit of Christmas.. bah hum bug! It's meant to be a bit of fun. It also keeps Who fresh in the viewers mind until the next proper show.
Having exhausted Evil Santa's, nasty trees and exterminating angels, one wonders what Crimbo themed enemy the Doc will face next year? A Cyberman in a pear tree? Rudolf the red nosed Rutan? Perhaps we will see A great escape themed show - will the Tardis leap the barbed wire into Switzerland?
Well I wont be buying this DVD release. I will be waiting until the next season DVD arrives next Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Episode, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of cheesiness but that is to be expected from a Christmas Special episode but the ending (spoiler alert) were kylie minogue's character comes back as stardust is just plain silly. that and the waving queen,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent fun, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
Marija Kopljar "lime242" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special [DVD] (DVD)
If you like the new Doctor Who series this is just a great christmas special for you. It has everything that I love with Dr Who. Love, brilliance, action, smarts and wonderful jokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Voyage of the Damned, 2007 Christmas Special  [DVD]
£3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews