Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holding the moment
Stunningly beautiful soundtrack original music by Carl Davis using period (pre-Victorian) instruments, with melodies to stand up in their own right.
Mostly the acting is first rate and subtle. Ben Kingsley brings just the right degree of emotion. Star turn cameos from the likes of Jim Broadbent and Freddie Jones.
A script that in 90 minutes keeps the plot...
Published on 22 Nov. 2007 by Lloyd Ezra Fortune

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kingsley excels.
An excellent dramatisation which created atmosphere without allowing the tale to loiter. Ben Kingsley's performance alone is worth whatever you pay.
Published on 9 Feb. 2012 by preciouspress


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holding the moment, 22 Nov. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stunningly beautiful soundtrack original music by Carl Davis using period (pre-Victorian) instruments, with melodies to stand up in their own right.
Mostly the acting is first rate and subtle. Ben Kingsley brings just the right degree of emotion. Star turn cameos from the likes of Jim Broadbent and Freddie Jones.
A script that in 90 minutes keeps the plot flowing, and at times is truly poetic.
Not a cinema release but made for TV - which perhaps is an advantage avoiding the temptation for flashiness for its own sake.
My no.1 film by a clear head. Why should film be fast paced? Its strength is in its holding the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sue Olden, 12 April 2009
By 
S. J. Olden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I have waited so long for this to come out. I love the book and it is rare that any adaptaion comes close to the original - but this is as good. The story and acting are fantastic, I recall having a real sense of time and place. I, like Mr Cooke, also have been waiting for 'Precious Bane' too - when is that coming? I do not watch TV anymore because it is mostly rubbish - even documentaries are dumbed down - I think the BBC has an obligation to put some of its classics on DVD for us that can't bear being patronized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why??, 20 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. G. Cooke (Peak District, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I remember watching this on TV, Christmas 1985, and was completly taken by it. Far and away the best thing Kingsley has done. I was fortunate enough to have taped it and over the years watched it more times than I can remember. Everything about it is superb, the cast, the settings, the dialogue the costumes, the period feel, everything. A year or two later we were treated to "Precious Bane" staring the superb Janet McTeer.Whenever I come onto Amazon I always look for these two films. WHY have they not been available. WHY when S.Marner is finally available do we have we to wait another year before we can get a copy. WHY is tosh like "Heroes" and "Torchwood" available on DVD when the series is still showing on TV???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, 15 Nov. 2010
By 
Ruth O'D (Limerick, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Ben Kingsley is outstanding in the title role of this George Eliot adaptation. He captures perfectly the disillusioned, vulnerable, mistrusting, solitary nature of the weaver whose life is changed by a little orphan girl. In particular, his scenes with the kindly farmer's wife, Dolly Winthrop (Rosemary Martin) are marvelous; as she tries to reach out with small acts of kindness, and he begins to respond, but only with nods and shakes of his head. I find such scenes much more moving than all the tears and tantrums of modern drama (our American cousins in particular seem to have no flair for this type of subtlety).

At the heart of the film is a little scene just after Eppie gets locked in the coal-hole where we see Silas and the toddler together, talking and fool-acting just like a real father and daughter. It is so sweet and natural that it was obviously unscripted, with Ben Kingsley ad-libbing in reaction to the little girl. Nothing much happens, there is no killer punchline like 'I wuv oo Daddy', but again it was wonderful and really moving in its simplicity.

Apart from the Silas/Eppie story, the sub-plot with the Cass family was also very well done, and the whole thing stayed close to the original novel. I wasn't very keen on Patsy Kensit as the teenage Eppie, she seemed to overdo the 'simple country girl' act, but that was only a minor grumble in an otherwise magnificent production. It is a thoroughly enjoyable evening's entertainment that warms your heart and makes you want to be a better, kinder person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful adaptation., 28 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

"Silas Marner" is another classic by Victorian novelist George Eliot. This 1985 film stars Ben Kingsley in a wonderful performance. He is a disenfranchised member of a church who is falsely accused of stealing. After protesting his innocence, he works quietly and patiently for 15 years to build up a sizable savings but with no specific plans or outlook on life. The events that unfold after that change his life and the lives of others around him.

This story is one of persecution, patience and perseverance. It's also about redemption found in love for Marner and for others, including his squire. The rest of the cast give good performances in their roles, but the core of this story is the evolution of a man who is bitter from false accusations. We see him change from an obsessive worker and loner, to a caring father, to a warm and unselfish human being.

It's another wonderful classic by Eliot (Mary Anne Evans), produced by the BBC. I highly recommend this for any serious movie library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracker, 22 Feb. 2008
By 
L. A. Pyne-edwards (Derby. England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
A beautifully acted cracking yarn. The first film that I saw Ben Kingsley in and was rivited by his work. Unsung film.
A film both moving and well told. Mr Kingsley is remembered for Ghandi but I will always think of him as Silas Marner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The weaver of Raveloe, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
A wonderful adaptation of a well-loved classic.
Ben Kingsley, always a delight, plays the weaver, hardworking, honest.
He loses everything but finds something more precious...
The child actress steals the show, she is luminous and natural, Patsy Kensit 'not so much'
as the child grown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kingsley excels., 9 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
An excellent dramatisation which created atmosphere without allowing the tale to loiter. Ben Kingsley's performance alone is worth whatever you pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Days of Yore, 22 May 2013
By 
Mr. M. Jackson "Emjay" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I only gave this a three star rating because, although superbly acted, it was a much too short. It did not bring out the pleasure of the book, missing parts and concentrating only on basically one aspect.

Don't get me wrong, it's still worth a watch and I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NB, 4 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Wonderful production with excellent acting by Ben Kingsley, and great supporting cast; strong morality tale of redemption from George Elliot and enjoyed by group of viewers from 20 to 75! Highly recommended as best available production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe [DVD] [1985]
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews