Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 x 30 minutes of perfection.
Do you ever think that television has lost its way - taken its eye off the ball? In many ways it has dipped down to the lowest common denominator. Reality TV has become a misnomer of gigantic proportions. Dramas have become laden with cliché. Comedies rely more on Anglo-Saxon expletives than humour.
And the trailers!
Am I the only person to grow tired of...
Published on 24 May 2008 by Black Crow

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD]
Oh dear I didn't like this at all. I found it lacked coherent story lines and was slow and boring. It wasn't at all funny.
Published 12 months ago by Mrs M Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 x 30 minutes of perfection., 24 May 2008
By 
Black Crow (NAILSWORTH, GLOS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Do you ever think that television has lost its way - taken its eye off the ball? In many ways it has dipped down to the lowest common denominator. Reality TV has become a misnomer of gigantic proportions. Dramas have become laden with cliché. Comedies rely more on Anglo-Saxon expletives than humour.
And the trailers!
Am I the only person to grow tired of the latest big thing before it's even been aired?
One episode of "Sensitive Skin" will restore your faith.
Released with little hype (as far as I can remember) this gem of a series is crammed with style from start to finish.
In series 2, Joanna Lumley is perfectly cast as the recently widowed Davina, cast adrift into a sea of unexpected meetings and happenstance.
Superbly written, deftly directed and understated throughout, the comedic moments seem to occur naturally, rather than being heavily sign-posted.The rest of the production all give fantastic support, especially Maureen Lipman, who rarely appears cast aginst type.Underscored with pathos and intelligence, laced with a perfectly pitched sound track, the series reaches the most satisfactory conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautfully acted, 9 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I discovered the Sensitive Skin first series by accident long after it first broadcast. I loved it because it is so different from other TV series; it is very understated and quite slow in a way, yet tackling profound issues that affect all of us as we age. Buying the second series was a must. It's just as good as series 1. Joanna Lumley acts her part beautifully and the camera work is very evocative and well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serendipity, 28 Jun 2008
By 
John Haslett (Portishead, North Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
At 58, having just taken up singing again for the first time in 44 years the serendipity is that the opening music on this DVD "Come again sweet love" is the first madrigal I've ever learnt - almost as surprising as the serendipity when Davina rediscovers her lost 'son'!

This is an amazing series, keeps up the high standards set by the first. Beautifully written, directed by Hugo Blick and wonderfully acted by all. It has the same 'bittersweet tinge' as Butterflies and ranks as highly with me as 'The Wonder Years'. Start playing and write off the evening - three hours of joyous magic. I can't recommend this too highly!

Let's hope that Blick and the BNC can manage a series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect gem!, 26 April 2010
This review is from: Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I had completely forgotten about this brilliant drama until a friend mentioned it to me a few weeks ago. I watched the first series when it was on TV but missed most of the second series. Everything about this series is pure magic. It is funny, sad, heartwarming and stylish. But nothing is overdone. Every line, smile, look and shot is understated. Joanna Lumley is perfect in this role as are the rest of the cast in theirs. Al was priceless. I missed his nervy, earnest character in the second series but it was still delighful and hearbreaking to watch. London looked great and the music was beautiful. Series 2 had a perfect ending but I still found myself longing to know more about how everyone's lives turned out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a winner, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After series one I couldn't not get this. Lumley et al do a great job with what is a superb window on the world of what is, to many, a perfectly ordinary world..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Joanna Lumley combining brains and beauty…as usual, 25 May 2014
By 
Mm Holmes Vanessa (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I have always rated Joanna Lumley, and once more she doesn't disappoint in this possibly underrated series - a pleasure and a pain to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joanna Does It Again, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Really thought both series were great observation pieces of the aging process and how to deal with it at the level of personal relationships. How could it fail with JL and Steve Coogan's fantastic production company behind it ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LUMLEY - excellent, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Carolyn MOULET (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought Series 2 was funnier than Series 1 - I'd never heard of this series before but being a Joanna Lumley fan I thought I would see what it was like. Enjoyed Series 2 more but glad I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quaint & quirky, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Quaint, quirky, funny, and sad. Individual stories successfully joined together to give a most satisfying conclusion. Joanna Lumley is perfect as Davina. I thoroughly enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brand New Copies... All Great, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is unique. I have bought Series 1 and 2 as a Christmas gift. I whole heartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD]
Sensitive Skin Series 2 [DVD] by Joanna Lumley (DVD - 2008)
£5.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews