Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2014
Besides being a Helen Mirren fan, I also searched for "The Country Wife." This collection showcases a talent that is unmatched. Her range is tremendous and her performances are flawless. The interviews are very entertaining and thoughtful. It is like a time capsule of the twilight of the twentieth century. Her subtle nuances in these productions could be used as an acting class for actors. Produced by the BBC, the productions are wonderfully staged and the costumes, sets, and lighting are all deftly executed. Some of the most talented actors of the time support Ms. Mirren. Trully a MUST for Mirren fans.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
A MUST BUY for Dame Helen Mirren fans. I tried many times to get this dvd over the years.I wasn't disappointed when I finally got it.
For those who weren't luckily enough to see her in RSC glory (me!) I recommend you get this to watch a great actress at work.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
'Helen Mirren at the BBC' sees her in some very different plays, played in 18th Century costume and modern dress, that show why she made an impact so young playing Shakespeare—here 'Cymbeline' and 'Midsummer Night's Dream'—and something like 'The Philanthropist' by Christopher Hampton. The collection includes 'Blue Remembered Hills' set in the British countryside in wartime 1943 in which Dennis Potter gets adult actors like Mirren, Elphick, Bird, Duvitski, Ellis, Jeavons and Welland to play children. But it also includes other things I had no idea Helen Mirren was in, TV plays i missed first time around. There are plays by JM Barrie, Edna O'Brien and George Bernard Shaw among others. It shows Mirren to great effect and reminds the viewer how broad has been the drama output of the BBC. One off-note is the inclusion of Michael Parkinson's creepy interview with her when she was 30, a reminder what women were still putting up with in 1975. Other than that small inclusion, this box set amounts to a good deal.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Helen Mirren is one of the most versatile and talented British actresses. This collection features a selection of performances from different stages of her career in a variety of different plays which illustrate these qualities superbly. One can only wish for more of the same!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
What one earth were the few negative reviews here expecting?, are they not real Mirren fans?, one said "not what I expected"?, what did they expect?
Helen Mirren is a wonderful actor, the selection here are all superb and she is brillient in them {others do outshine her in Blue Rememmberd Hills but only because that piece of Potter brilliance is so full of greatness one cant choose}

IF you love great acting and writting all of that is here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
An interesting glimpse into the acting talents of Helen Mirren. It becomes clear, both from the works presented, as well as the accompanying interview, that Ms. Mirren is an 'instinctual' actor, ignoring typical acting techniques, preferring rather to trust her own animal instincts. This works better in some roles than other and in recent years she has been very clever in accepting roles that accommodate her style of acting. Worthwhile but not indispensilbe.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
We much enjoyed Bernard Shaw's play The Apple Cart. Also the Shakespeare plays Midsummer Night's Dream and Cymbeline.

Mirren also sparkled in as the beautiful Gypsy in JM Barrie's intriguing The Little Minister.

The tense thriller The Hawk (loosely based on the Yorkshire Ripper) was also convincing. So also (to a lesser extent) Mrs Reinhardt.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
An excellent collection of Helen Mirren's career
and a chance to see her as the fine actress she has
always been since the 1970s.
Another revelation is that all the talk of dumbing
down at the BBC is true. In the 1970s it broadcast
two 17th century plays with fine casts and high
production standards. Obviously, viewers were assumed
to be intelligent and capable of responding to high
culture. Today the BBC would never dream of broadcasting
these two plays.
66 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
I only was looking for Blue Remembered Hills, but stumbled on this at half the price of the single dvd. It was a no-brainer! Especially if, like me, you love Helen Mirren. A great collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
A really good and varied selection of dramas. I hadn't seen most of them, and this boxset was recommended to me. I enjoy most things that Helen Mirren acts in, so thought it was a safe buy. Have not been disappointed. There are quite a few things that I would not have recognised her in, so it was very interesting to see them.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)